Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Bindings, trim : Plastic binding : Black Plastic Binding

Black Plastic Binding


Read 33 Reviews   |   Write a Review

ABS plastic bindings are used by Gibson, Martin, Taylor, Fender and many other manufacturers. The material adheres well to wood and to itself.

See details below

Email a friend
Black Plastic Binding
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5784 .010" x .075" (.25mm x 1.90mm) Yes
$3.99
4 or more $3.40  

5785 .020" x .075" (.51mm x 1.90mm) Yes
$4.06
4 or more $3.46  

5786 .020" x .250" (.51mm x 6.35mm) Yes
$4.70
4 or more $3.99  

5791 .040" x .250" (1.02mm x 6.35mm) Yes
$4.70
4 or more $3.99  

5787 .060" x .250" (1.52mm x 6.35mm) Yes
$4.99
4 or more $4.25  

5788 .060" x .375" (1.52mm x 9.52mm) Yes
$5.50
4 or more $4.68  

5789 .090" x .250" (2.29mm x 6.35mm) Yes
$5.84
4 or more $4.98  

5792 .090" x .565" (2.29mm x 14.35mm) Yes
$9.05
4 or more $7.70  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Guitar Trim Blanks



White Plastic Binding



Binding Router Bit Set



Binding Router Guide



Router Bit for Binding



Guitar Trim Blanks
White Plastic Binding
Binding Router Bit Set
Binding Router Guide
Router Bit for Binding



Details
 Pictures
Articles
Our ABS plastic bindings are 65" long — a single piece will reach completely around a guitar body. These bindings are manufactured with smooth edges, not rough-sawn from sheets, for closer size tolerances.

#5792 extra-tall .565" binding is the right size for Les Paul® and similar guitar tops.

To laminate bindings, you can sandwich them using our Binding Laminator and acetone. Measure carefully before you rout the channels, and almost any combination can be installed.

In the example illustration,
A  is a white/black/white/black laminate of .010" strips,
B  combines .020" black and .040" white, and
C  uses .020" white and .020" black, installed sideways as edge trim.

For easy installation, we recommend Weld-On Cement.

Binding tape or rubber binding bands will hold the bindings in place while the glue dries.

Use a scraper blade to trim the glued bindings flush to the surrounding wood.

Learn from our free online article
How to Install Bindings:
•  Rout channels
•  Binding joints
•  Shape binding for fingerboards
•  Bind the body and peghead
•  Finishing over binding


/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Black Plastic Binding
Black Plastic Binding
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 33 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4 >
5 11-06-2011
Great stuff

This was my first attempt at binding. I did two guitars. I used a clamped down hair dryer to do the bending. It was fine. I tried super glue for the first, but my lack of experience worked against me. Fixing mistakes afterward was trcky I found. For the second, I used acetone mixed with ABS shavings. It worked very well and was quite easy to touch up any areas that I didn't quite get right by either adding a little extra goop in an open crack or dabbing straight acetone on an area that needed better adhesion and retaping it. It was a great product that I'll definitely use again.

Tim McNelly  Ontario, Canada Read my reviews (3)
5 11-01-2011
The Best!

Black binding are great! Bindings looks clean and high quality. Excellent fit for my project!

Armen Movsesian  Moscow, Russia Read my reviews (17)
5 10-26-2011
Good deal

If you need plastic binding material this is a good value.

ap  Mississippi Read my reviews (6)
5 9-02-2011
Deceptively Easy!

I had never bound a headstock before and I chose to go with a Black/White/Black triple layer for my first attempt.

I only used acetone for the 'glue', and it was interesting to see how well it worked - perfectly!

I notched the headstock all around the edges with my Dremel tool and then pre-formed the binding in hot water, and as it cooled I used lots of rubber bands to hold it snug to the head.

Working out any areas where the binding would stand away from the head, I took my time and when it was right I just used a cheap kid's paintbrush to wick the acetone between the binding and the wood of the head area.

I let it stand for about 20 minutes and then went to the next color and did the same thing again with the rubber bands and the acetone on the same small paintbrush.

That sat for a total of about 10 minutes and I put the final layer on for a complete B/W/B triple binding.

Using the back side of a new utility knife - not the cutting edge, but the back area had a lip on it from the manufacturing process and it worked perfectly to shave the excess off the binding.

The headstock is shown here and I even have a custom logo made for me - but if you've never tried to bind a headstock, I can tell you that the material SM sells is nice to work with and using just acetone for the cement is fine as long as you get good wicking of it into the wood - but binding-to-binding it's very easy.

When you are shaving it, it smells like PVC, and perhaps even a clear PVC glue would work.

I would like to suggest that you take some 80# sandpaper and scuff up the surfaces that will be bound together first to make sure that you get deep penetration of the acetone so it can actually 'weld' the plastic together. I never had any problems - but I can see it happening if you don't get good saturation.

Don't_B_Flat  SoCal, USA
Customer supplied image for review
5 8-24-2011
Excellent product!

Really nice to work with and looks great!

Midnight Lord  Ottawa Read my reviews (18)
5 6-14-2011
Great stuff.

I bought some binding for my fretless bass. It was my very first working with binding and no problems at all.

AZfryguy  AZ Read my reviews (6)
5 5-11-2011
great product

great material,easy to use and finish,thinner binding arrived with white marks from being over bent during shipping maybe but scraped out easily....will buy again

goldguitarguy  Cold Lake,AB,CA Read my reviews (4)
5 4-14-2011
Good product

Easy to work with. Just as I hoped

DagS  Norway Read my reviews (10)
5 2-03-2011
BLACK PLASTIC BINDING

Great product

banjograham  UK Read my reviews (3)
5 10-06-2010
Good stuff... no complaints.

I bought a strip of the 0.090" width to go on a Les Paul and it has worked as expected so far, no problems. It adhered superbly using the recommended "Weld On #16" cement, is easy to scrape smooth and was plenty long enough to do the face side of the Les Paul body in one strip with about 7 inches spare.

Mr. Dude  Pensacola FL, US. Read my reviews (12)
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 32 of our latest catalog.


Les Paul® is a registered trademark of Gibson Guitar Corporation.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce