Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Fretting : Japanese Fret Saw

Japanese Fret Saw


Read 57 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Our most efficient saw for fret slots! Handmade, each saw cuts on the pull-stroke. This traditional design reduces blade flex and jamming as you saw the slot.

See details below

Email a friend
Japanese Fret Saw
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5756 Saw and depth stop Yes
$49.16

5755 Saw only Yes
$41.39


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Fret Slotting Miter Box



Dual Fret Scale Templates



Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade



Fret Scale Rule



Fret Work Step-By-Step



Fret Slotting Miter Box
Dual Fret Scale Templates
Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade
Fret Scale Rule
Fret Work Step-By-Step



Details
 Pictures
A StewMac exclusive.
The craftsmanship and efficiency of traditional handmade Japanese woodworking saws are legendary. We are pleased to offer a unique example made specifically for cutting fret slots, complete with easy depth-of-cut adjustment. This is our smoothest, most efficient handsaw for fret work—it cuts FAST!

The thumbscrew-adjustable clear acrylic Depth Stop slides up and down for precise control of fret slot depth. It's removable for cutting off the ends of a blank fingerboard, or for use with our Fret Slotting Miter Box.

SAVE when you order our unique Fret Slotting Miter Box with your saw, and enjoy the most versatile fret slotting solution for the small shop.

TIP: The blade features extremely sharp teeth, with precise .023" kerf to match our fretwire. Because it cuts faster than a standard fret saw, it must be held perpendicular to the fretboard. If not, you can quickly cut a wider slot than you expect. We recommend our Fret Slotting Miter Box for keeping the saw in proper alignment.

Overall length 19-3/4" (501.65mm)
Cutting length 9-3/4" (247.65mm)
Blade depth 1-3/4" (44.45mm)
Rigid nickel-plated brass spine
Comfortable traditional bamboo handle

Cut accurate 90-degree slots when you use the saw with our Fret Slotting Miter Box. Add a Fret Scale Template and you'll never miscalculate your fret positions.


Need help calculating your fret locations?
Our online fret scale calculator can calculate any scale length you want to use. It will also give you accurate measurements for locating the bridge on your instrument.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Japanese Fret Saw
Japanese Fret Saw
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 57 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  6 >
5 1-11-2012
The best!

For cutting frets, this is the best fret saw. I highly recommend to all who want to do it right the first time.

Jack's Workshop  Farmers Branch,Texas Read my reviews (2)
5 1-06-2012
The new Japanese fret saw

This saw is the fastest,smoothest cutting hand fret saw I have ever used. Hands down the best.

Anthony Curro  Westminster,co
5 12-21-2011
love this saw and miter box

after the initial setup, this miter box and saw makes fret slotting a lot less menacing of a task. when used in conjunction with the fret scale templates, making slotted fretboards becomes a no brainer.

Owensby's Custom Woodworks  Northwest Indiana, USA Read my reviews (2)
5 11-30-2011
Fast it is!

I cut slots in alot of fretboards mostly rosewood and was using the other fret saw until I saw this new one. The difference is huge! much much faster cutting and fret wire seems to knock in much easier.
I'd say if you're going between wanting to get the other one or this.. get this one!

Tate Chmielewski  Louisville, KY
4 11-18-2011
Good

Good

p gaudreau  canada Read my reviews (43)
5 10-20-2011
Fret saw of my dreams.

I've used a miter box and back-saw for 35 years. Now I can crack out that "high dollar" fret board wood and have confidence that I won't futz it up on the very last fret.
Sure, it takes some time on the first set-up to get it just right, but when it is right, I can cut quicker and more accurately than ever before. The saw is so sharp it cuts the hardest wood without sweat.

David Newton  Beaumont, Tx Read my reviews (10)
Customer supplied image for review
4 10-12-2011
Good saw, but...

I bought the complete saw and miter box system. What I can say is that it's a very good saw, but that miter box could be improved cause it took me about one hour to set it just right.It's a nightmare to have all that brass pieces aligned vertically and horizontally.

Filip  Romania Read my reviews (3)
5 10-11-2011
Japanese Fret Saw

When I made my last guitar it became a bit wood left after my neck. So I decided to make a small gutar with a small neck.I used your fret calculator and purched your fret saw.I must say it worked very good and i´m very satisfied with this tool.I`ve monted a fishman preamp for ukelele and an undersaddle pickup.Maby it`s something for you to pick up in your cataloge?

christer jonsson  brunflo,jämtland,sweden Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 9-22-2011
Saw and depth stop

Totally delighted with the Japanese saw system. It only takes a minute or so to get used to "pulling" the saw and then you are away with a neat clean cut.

Brido  Cooranbong. Australia
5 9-17-2011
japanese saw with depth stop

Used it on a few fingerboards with
fanned frets .Nice clean slots .

Alain  Zwijndrecht , Belgium Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  6 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 11 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce