Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Fretting : Japanese Fret Saw

Japanese Fret Saw


Read 57 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Our most efficient saw for fret slots! Handmade, each saw cuts on the pull-stroke. This traditional design reduces blade flex and jamming as you saw the slot.

See details below

Email a friend
Japanese Fret Saw
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5756 Saw and depth stop Yes
$49.16

5755 Saw only Yes
$41.39


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Fret Slotting Miter Box



Dual Fret Scale Templates



Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade



Fret Scale Rule



Fret Work Step-By-Step



Fret Slotting Miter Box
Dual Fret Scale Templates
Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade
Fret Scale Rule
Fret Work Step-By-Step



Details
 Pictures
A StewMac exclusive.
The craftsmanship and efficiency of traditional handmade Japanese woodworking saws are legendary. We are pleased to offer a unique example made specifically for cutting fret slots, complete with easy depth-of-cut adjustment. This is our smoothest, most efficient handsaw for fret work—it cuts FAST!

The thumbscrew-adjustable clear acrylic Depth Stop slides up and down for precise control of fret slot depth. It's removable for cutting off the ends of a blank fingerboard, or for use with our Fret Slotting Miter Box.

SAVE when you order our unique Fret Slotting Miter Box with your saw, and enjoy the most versatile fret slotting solution for the small shop.

TIP: The blade features extremely sharp teeth, with precise .023" kerf to match our fretwire. Because it cuts faster than a standard fret saw, it must be held perpendicular to the fretboard. If not, you can quickly cut a wider slot than you expect. We recommend our Fret Slotting Miter Box for keeping the saw in proper alignment.

Overall length 19-3/4" (501.65mm)
Cutting length 9-3/4" (247.65mm)
Blade depth 1-3/4" (44.45mm)
Rigid nickel-plated brass spine
Comfortable traditional bamboo handle

Cut accurate 90-degree slots when you use the saw with our Fret Slotting Miter Box. Add a Fret Scale Template and you'll never miscalculate your fret positions.


Need help calculating your fret locations?
Our online fret scale calculator can calculate any scale length you want to use. It will also give you accurate measurements for locating the bridge on your instrument.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Japanese Fret Saw
Japanese Fret Saw
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 57 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6 >
5 4-01-2011
Easy to adjust and very accurate

I ordered this Miter box with the Japanese Saw, together with a Fret Scale template for Classical Guitar. Ordered on Tuesday and everything arrived perfectly in order on Thursday with DHL.
Keep in mind that I live in Europe !!
Miter box and saw work very accurate and making a fretboard was never so easy.
Thanks, good job Stewmac.

Grizzly  Oosthuizen, Netherlands Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-24-2011
Japanese Fret saw

After struggling with the old standard saw I finally bought this and what a difference. Smooth and fast. It cut my sawing time by 50%

BAClark  Hamilton, Ohio Read my reviews (8)
5 2-17-2011
simply the best

the quickest and most accurate saw i have ever used

Ken of Gearside guitars  Brisbane Australia Read my reviews (3)
4 1-30-2011
Great saw but...

A great saw blade that cut smooth and easy but the handle is awkward.

Metamatic  Malmoe, Sweden Read my reviews (5)
5 1-29-2011
Great Saw for Refrets

Cuts fast and clean.

Nate Clark  Ithaca, NY Read my reviews (12)
5 11-08-2010
Very nice saw

I just cut my first fretboard using this saw and it went much smoother than I was expecting. 5-7 easy strokes to get to the slot depth. I'm quite impressed.

John Cross  Devon, Alberta Read my reviews (3)
3 10-28-2010
Saw and Miter box

I really like the Japanese fret saw. It is precise, lightweight and easy to use. However, I did not like the miter box and will be returning it. First off it has up to 19 screws that might need to be adjust and secondly no height guage ruler to determine if both sides are evenly matched.

dpowergutars  Round Rock, TX
Customer supplied image for review
4 9-29-2010
Its sharp, accurate and pull stroke, I'm just grinning

PRO'S:- precise width 0.023 - Very sharp - pull stroke can't flex when cutting eg ebony .
CON'S:- very tall and long for me personally , I will carefully cut it down and get two saws out of it; one with a reduced plastic guide.
Girls and boys , you have to have one of these especially if stew mac offer us a smaller version,if not,very carefully cut it down to size. If it dulls quickly, I'll sharpen it, yes, i sharpen my tools.

papabird  England Read my reviews (4)
5 9-19-2010
japanese precision in my violas caipiras

Hi! This saw cuts precisely to make the fretboard of my violas, thanks to the Japanese, thanks to the STEWMAC.COM.

Borges  Araguari (Brazil) Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
3 9-05-2010
5756 Japanese Fret Saw and depth stop

So far I have only used this saw and Depth stop to try and increase the depth on each side of a pre-slotted Fret Board after radiusing the board. I found the saw a little too harsh as it is too easy for this saw to cause wood chip/break away at the end of the slot, particularly on the pull side of the slot. This occurred on an ebony Fret Board, not sure if the same can occur on a rosewood FB. I also found that it tended to widen the slots on those slots that I worked on with this Saw. I am now very concerned that the Frets will be too loose on these particular slots. I was afraid to use it anymore and went back to an old Fret saw belonging to a professional Luthier friend. I guess it might work a little better with the miter box, but I would still be afraid to use it on an ebony board at this stage?

John Keys  Sydney, NSW, Australia
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 11 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce