Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Fretting : Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw

Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw


Read 62 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Our Fret Slotting Saw has a rigid brass spine, and a comfortable traditionally-turned hardwood handle with ferrule. It looks right at home on a luthier's workbench.

See details below

Email a friend
Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5745 Saw and depth stop Yes
$36.13

5744 Saw only Yes
$28.36


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Fret Slot Depth Gauge



Dual Fret Scale Templates



Fret Work Step-By-Step



StewMac Wide Fretwire



Dan Erlewines Fretting Series



Fret Slot Depth Gauge
Dual Fret Scale Templates
Fret Work Step-By-Step
StewMac Wide Fretwire
Dan Erlewine's Fretting Series



Details
 Pictures
Sheffield steel blade.
Make no mistake: this is NOT a standard hardware megamart backsaw! We started with a blade of legendary corrosion-resistant Sheffield steel, and specified .023" width to match our fretwire. We insisted on precision pull-cut teeth, to greatly reduce blade flex and jamming in harder fingerboard woods. Lastly, we designed an easy to use, removable clear acrylic depth stop. It slides up or down, with thumbscrews to precisely set any fret slot depth.

And one more thing: this saw works seamlessly with our Fret Slotting Miter Box.

The acrylic depth guide can be adjusted to expose as much as 1/4" of the blade, and is removable for cutting off the ends of a blank fingerboard. It's also sold separately.

Overall length 15-1/4" (387.35mm)
Cutting length 10" (254mm)
Blade depth 1-3/4" (44.45mm)

Cut accurate 90-degree slots when you use the saw with our Fret Slotting Miter Box. Add a Fret Scale Template and you'll never miscalculate your fret positions.


Need help calculating your fret locations?
Our online fret scale calculator can calculate any scale length you want to use. It will also give you accurate measurements for locating the bridge on your instrument.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw
Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 62 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6  7 >
5 7-01-2011
Fret slotting saw.

This saw is top quality, does a great job. I bought it to cut out a super glued in saddle on a d-18 golden era. It worked great...........

fred  vansant, va Read my reviews (2)
5 5-31-2011
nice tool

needs a bit of tweeking before you get started, but once you are set. There's no easier way to get perfect fret slots.

Triskel Workshop  Antwerp, Belgium Read my reviews (17)
Customer supplied image for review
5 5-23-2011
Very useful tool!

A great tool!! After setting up, it gives you precision and speed in making your own fretboards!

Paolo Roth  Saronno, Italia
5 5-04-2011
Fret Slotting Saw

Great saw. Could not have done the job correctly without it.

Kool Karl  Murphysboro, IL
3 4-01-2011
Great Saw, One Problem

This is a great saw and is very well made with classy polished brass and an over sized blade length. One problem; the depth stop's lowest point is higher than a whole fret itself! I'm not into leaving pockets of air under my frets, so I had to modify the depth stop to go lower. Probably just mine. Annoying.

DanielG  Ventura, CA
4 2-23-2011
Fret Saw and Slotting System

I found the Saw and mitre box system to be very strong and durable. I do however think the guide design could be a little better in that the set screws when tightened, push on the brass guides which then in turn move them out of flush or true. This can be remedied by using a metal spacer on the screw side (eliminating the movement when screwing in the set screws and protecting the housing from "set screw wear") . Overall a good system I would recommend if you do a lot of fret board work.

Schwagdog  Pennsylvania Read my reviews (9)
5 2-17-2011
Fret Slot Saw

The fret saw I purchased was an excellent purchase. The blade is of the proper thickness to prevent the blade from flexing and works well with the fret wire I purchased from Stewart-MacDonald. The all-wood handle is just the right size for a nice firm grip to prevent that untimely slip. Also, the “spine” of the blade is rigged to keep the blade from bending and providing a large enough surface as stop for even a home made cutting jig.

I purchased the depth stop, which is made of clear plastic and an excellent investment. The set on the teeth is a bit much and makes it a little difficult to start the initial cut, but does a great job even with some of the hard woods I use. Overall I think it’s a great tool and well made.

Don Doerr  Lawton, MI Read my reviews (2)
4 1-26-2011
Fret Slotting Fixture

The tool is decent quality and performs almost to expectations. Since there are no dimensional descriptions and the photos are not able to convey scale, a slight deficiency is not noted until you have the tool in your hands. The height of the guide blocks and guides will not allow a 1 inch thick neck blank (think Fender) under the guides and still function. This took a lot of time to fix. Perhaps a longer set of guides that extend higher, allowing the saw to clear a 1 inch neck blank should be made available as an option. For 1/4 thick fretboards the tool works exactly as advertised.
Timely delivery as usual. Thanks StewMac.

Wayne Redditt  Wyebridge, Ontario Canada Read my reviews (3)
5 1-19-2011
Fret saw

a good tool with hard ridge, made it easy to work with and was adaptable to other cuts too :)

lilbiker  tarpon springs, floriDUH
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-12-2011
Serra

Na minha opinião foi a melhor ferramenta que foi projetada com regulagem de altura aplicada no trabalho da escala para facilitar o trabalho do luthier. No momento falta o Miter Box.

Carlos Leal - Uberlandia MG Brasil

Carlos José Machado Leal  Uberlandia MG Brasil
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6  7 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 11 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce