Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Bodies, necks, wood : Electric guitar necks : Replacement Neck for Tele Guitar

Replacement Neck for Tele Guitar


Read 28 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Shaped, inlaid, fretted and finished - feels and plays great! Hard rock maple finished in clear satin polyurethane, with a walnut "skunk stripe" down the back.

See details below

Email a friend
Replacement Neck for Tele Guitar
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5718 Rosewood fingerboard Yes
$118.00
2 or more $106.20  
5 or more $95.57  

5719 Maple fingerboard Yes
$118.00
2 or more $106.20  
5 or more $95.57  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Golden Age 52 Body for Tele



The Fender Telecaster



Golden Age Pickups for Tele



Grover Mini Rotomatics



Grover Mini Locking Rotomatics



Golden Age '52 Body for Tele
The Fender Telecaster
Golden Age Pickups for Tele
Grover Mini Rotomatics 6-In-Line
Grover Mini Locking Rotomatics



Details
 Pictures
The frets are nicely finished, and the nut is shaped and slotted. Maple or rosewood fretboard with dot inlays and side markers.

Screwholes for attaching to the body are not drilled. Each neck has a truss rod with a 4mm adjusting nut at the peghead. We recommend Allen Truss Rod Wrench for adjusting neck relief.

Peghead is drilled for 6-in-line tuning machines. 11mm-diameter holes fit sealed gear tuners with threaded peghead bushing. See all tuners.

More specifications:
Scale length 25-1/2" (647.70mm)
Width at nut 1-11/16" (42.86mm)
Width at 21st fret 2-3/16" (55.56mm)
Fretboard radius 9-1/2" (241.30mm)
Fretwire .045" high x .095" wide (1.14mm x 2.41mm)
Fret count 21
Approximate heel length 3-5/8" (92.07mm)

Neck thickness (approximate; not including fret)


Ideally, the neck should just drop into the neck-pocket, or be a little snug. Don't force the neck into the pocket. If the body is unfinished, remember that the finish will make the neck pocket smaller with lacquer build up on the edge of the rout. Be sure to compensate for the finish buildup or the neck will be too tight after finishing.



Fine tuning a bolt-on replacement neck
Tweaking a replacement neck so it's ready to play
Fine tuning a bolt-on replacement neck Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman pulls his old Strat out of mothballs and gives it a new neck. He shows what's needed to get a replacement neck ready to play.
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Replacement Neck for Tele Guitar
Replacement Neck for Tele Guitar
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 28 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 >
5 3-03-2013
Telecaster Maple Replacement Neck

For the money this is one of the best replacement necks on the market. Fit and finish need nothing although I did add the satin finish to this neck to help keep any oils from soaking into the wood. This was my first attempt to build a Telecaster from scratch and Stewmac made it simple. I will definitely purchase more from Stewmac for future projects. Keep up the great work! Thank you!

Steve Napodano  Goodlettsville, Tennessee
Customer supplied image for review
5 10-31-2012
Not for Kluson tuners?

I bought one of these necks and I dropped in vintage Kluson tuners in with absolutely no problem. This neck rules.

Josh Pelican  Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
4 10-23-2012
Not for Kluson peg pitch

Peg hole dia is about 10mm, that is fine, but the pitches of hole center to center are a bit wider than Kluson type peg's reccomendation, about 0.6mm. These 5 slits are not beautiful. Of-course, you need conversion bush in this case. Neck itself is so good for Telegib build, wow!

carlosgon3  Tokyo, Japan Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
3 9-19-2012
Average

The maple was plain and straight like I asked. The rosewood was slightly wavy but ok with nicely sanded finish. The fret ends were sticking out slightly. The nut was poor quality and there was a lot of cement holding it in place. There was a noticeable hump in the neck. Once the leveling / fret dressing was done and bone nut installed it turned out quite decent. Overall, the quality is average but expect to make some finishing touches before installation.

Moriarty Guitars  Dublin Ireland Read my reviews (12)
5 8-11-2012
Tele replacement neck

I recently built a tele style guitar and purchased the Stew Mac tele neck. As soon as it arrived I installed it, strung it up and did a quick set up. The neck is awesome, smooth as silk and excellent fret work. If you want a high quality neck without emptying your wallet this is the neck for you.

Doug Raineault  Middletown, CT Read my reviews (9)
5 5-08-2012
Couldn't be Happier!!

I recently ordered the maple Telecaster neck from Stew Mac to replace the original on my ’91 American Tele. The truss rod in the original neck had been maxed out for quite some time, so the playability had been in steady decline. I looked into getting it repaired and got several estimates, which ranged from $150 on up. After weighing the pros and cons of having the original repaired vs. installing a new neck, I opted for the latter. I figured I will still have the original neck, and I can still get it fixed without having to rush into a decision as far as what shop, what procedure, etc.

After getting this neck from Stew Mac and installing it, I’ve been so thrilled with the way it plays and sounds that I’ve all but forgotten about getting the original fixed. I couldn’t be happier with it- especially for the price. It feels and plays every bit as good as the original ever did, and I think it might even sound better than my original did.

For the amateur/hobbyist like myself, I should mention that installing the neck required some drilling (the four holes to mount it to the body, the two little holes for each tuner, and two holes for the string retainer). Also, in my case- the fret ends required sanding as the wood likely contracted and they stuck out a bit on either side to where I could feel the sharpness when I ran my fingers up and down the sides of the fret board. But the frets were nicely crowned and the nut was to factory spec.

There are a few minor differences between this neck and my American original. This neck has 21 frets as opposed to 22 on my original. (It doesn’t have the tongue at the base of the neck). The original neck has a walnut plug at the base of the headstock where you access the truss nut, while the one on this neck is black and appears to be graphite. Also, the truss nut is closer to the opening and can be reached with the smaller end of a standard allen wrench, and it’s larger (requiring a larger size allen wrench), which I personally like better. But the most noticeable difference for me was the lack of a Fender logo on the headstock. Obviously, this is only a superficial difference- but it’s something to consider. I ended up making a decal to exactly match my original logo and serial number and it actually turned out pretty good. (It’s OK- I’ll never sell this guitar.)

Overall- knowing what I know now- I would buy this neck again in a second! I just wish I would have bought it a lot sooner.

Monkedelic  Minneapolis
Customer supplied image for review
5 5-06-2012
Amazing quality

Might Mite replacement neck makes my home-made Telecaster nice and smooth to play

Gilberto  Vinhedo/SP/Brasil
Customer supplied image for review
4 2-03-2012
Perfect fit

Ok - as has been stated in other reviews this is a Might Mite neck. Not sure why SMac fails to mention this in their product description, but they are clearly marked as such. Could it be that we could get these necks much cheaper elsewhere? I don't know.

That said - the neck fit perfectly in a Fender Esquire body. Drilled the holes, bolted it on, put on the tuners and strung it up. Needed no tweaks, no problem with the nut - easy. As I have found with Mighty Mite necks the fret ends needed a little more sanding, nothing bad though. Finish on the headstock shows some overspray but only in good light.

This is the thrid neck I've tried on this guitar and it is the one that is going to stay. As always SMac's service was great, just wish they'd be upfront about where they actually get these necks from - guess that's our job though.

TVCaster  West Coast USA
5 9-03-2011
Stew Mac is the best!!!

I've used two of the #5719 necks from Stew Mac and both jobs turned out A+. I highly recommend Stew Mac for all your guitar repair or custom needs!!!

Jerry Moore  Newnan GA Read my reviews (2)
3 8-04-2011
Tele Neck

Have had two of these necks now, first one was great but a little disappointed with the last one. Slight damage to the heel, looked like it had been dropped on the inside corner, and the Maple had a pronounced grain pattern, a bit too gaudy for my liking. The nut was high on both, and needed some slot work to take 10's strings.

SteveB UK  UK
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 73 of our latest catalog.

These necks are made for us by Mighty Mite, and have peghead shapes licensed by Fender.


Telecaster®, Tele®, and Esquire® are registered trademarks of Fender Musical Instruments Corporation.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce