Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Bodies, necks, wood : Electric guitar necks : Replacement Neck for Strat Guitar

Replacement Neck for Strat Guitar


Read 49 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Shaped, inlaid, fretted and finished - feels and plays great! Hard rock maple finished in clear satin polyurethane, with a walnut "skunk stripe" down the back.

See details below

Email a friend
Replacement Neck for Strat Guitar
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5715 Rosewood fingerboard Yes
$118.00
2 or more $106.20  
5 or more $95.57  

5716 Maple fingerboard Yes
$118.00
2 or more $106.20  
5 or more $95.57  

5713 Compound radius, rosewood fingerboard 3-4 weeks
$124.00
2 or more $111.60  
5 or more $100.44  

5714 Compound radius, maple fingerboard Yes
$140.00
2 or more $126.00  
5 or more $113.40  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Guitar String Retainers



Grover Midsize Rotomatics



Gotoh Schaller-style Knob Tuners



Golden Age 63 Body for Strat



Replacement Neck for Tele Guitar



Guitar String Retainers
Grover Midsize Rotomatics 6-In-Line
Gotoh Schaller-style Knob Tuners 6-In-Line
Golden Age '63 Body for Strat
Replacement Neck for Tele Guitar



Details
 Pictures
The 22 frets are nicely finished, and the nut is shaped and slotted. Maple or rosewood fretboard with dot inlays and side markers.

Screwholes for attaching to the body are not drilled. Each neck has a truss rod with a 4mm adjusting nut at the peghead. We recommend Allen Truss Rod Wrench for adjusting neck relief.

Peghead is drilled for 6-in-line tuning machines. 11mm-diameter holes fit sealed gear tuners with threaded peghead bushing. See all tuners.

Specifications
Scale length 25-1/2" (647.70mm)
Width at nut 1-11/16" (42.86mm)
Width at 22nd fret 2-3/16" (55.56mm)
Fretwire .045" high x .095" wide (1.14mm x 2.41mm)
Approximate heel length 3-5/8" (92.07mm)
Fretboard radius 9-1/2" (241.30mm)

Compound radius necks
The fingerboard surface radius gradually changes from 9.5" at the nut, to 12" at the 22nd fret (241mm to 305mm), for lower action and cleaner string bending. 14.75" (375mm) bridge saddle radius is recommended.

Neck thickness (approximate; not including fret)


Ideally, the neck should just drop into the neck-pocket, or be a little snug. Don't force the neck into the pocket. If the body is unfinished, remember that the finish will make the neck pocket smaller with lacquer build up on the edge of the rout. Be sure to compensate for the finish buildup or the neck will be too tight after finishing.



Fine tuning a bolt-on replacement neck
Tweaking a replacement neck so it's ready to play
Fine tuning a bolt-on replacement neck Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman pulls his old Strat out of mothballs and gives it a new neck. He shows what's needed to get a replacement neck ready to play.
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Replacement Neck for Strat Guitar
Replacement Neck for Strat Guitar
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 49 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 41 – 49 < 1  ...  3  4  5
5 2-04-2011
Great Neck!!

I purchased a maple compound radius for a project I did and when I took the finished guitar to my tech for final setup he could not believe how nice the neck was! I ended up liking the neck more than the one on my American deluxe. Funny how a guitar I built from spare parts with a good set of pickups has quickly replaced my other high end instruments. Thanks for a great product!!!

gtarman12  naples, fl Read my reviews (3)
5 1-26-2011
strat guitar project

I acquired a new strat w/rosewood board 4 yrs ago. I prefer maple boards so i ordered your replacement neck the same day. Fretwork was excellent, soft "v" profile feels great. I've rolled the edges and this neck has now been through several bodies. It reminds me of the neck on a Fender Clapton Signature Strat i owned. It has held up really well, finish aging nicely. It is without a doubt the best playing neck I've used.

bluesman53  myrtle beach,sc Read my reviews (2)
5 1-06-2011
Another Strat Completed

This is the 4th replacement StewMac neck I have purchased and used for my guitar building projects. This latest neck is for an active pre-amp outfitted strat. Fits perfectly with good clean action. I do augment the neck finish with antique maple finish for a more golden color.

Uel  Scotland
5 1-03-2011
Great quality necks!

Hey guys, I've used your stat necks and uncut headstock necks on a variety of customer guitars and have always had great results. Strong and straight and perfectly fretted. In response to the review by Wilbury out of Russia, frets "sticking out" is common with all guitars, not a flaw. The weather in your part of Russia is probably less humid than where these were made. Things like electric heat sources will also help to dry out the wood in the neck, shrinking it slightly, and making the frets stick out so to speak. It's a common occurrence and a common repair for any workshop. I don't even think about it anymore, when a guitar comes in for a setup during the winter especially, I take a few minutes to do the fret ends.. (Using my trusty Stew-mac files) Again, great products guys!

Axe  Toronto Read my reviews (2)
1 12-12-2010
Maple Strat Replacement Neck

I was first very satisfied with this neck as it arrived. It looked and felt quite good, especially taking into account the price. But, unfortunately, after six months I noticed that all the frets began to stick out along the edges of the fretboard (quite painfully scratching fingers). I have to say that the neck was not exposed to any extreme conditions such as temperature changes or low humidity. The reason, I guess, might be that the neck and the frets 'set in' this way. Also I surmise that the frets might have been installed without glue. Alas, in my particular case Mighty Mite is really poor quality. I wish I'd paid more but had a better quality product.

Wilbury  Russia
StewMac responds

Wilbury,
We're sorry to hear you're having problems with the fret ends on this neck. Humidity conditions can wreak havoc on many guitar necks. Here's a great Trade Secret article, Fixing fret ends that stick out in dry weather covering this very topic. We appreciate your feedback and your business.

5 12-10-2010
Replacement neck

I purchased one of your rosewood strat necks because the neck on my strat was one of those crappy Fender Bi-flex necks that Fender used. After about 10 years of using the strat, the neck was in bad shape and could not be re-fretted or fixed. So I bought your neck (which is really a mighty mite neck). The lady that took my order was great the neck was unbelievable and I will be buying another neck for my other strat which has the crappy Fender bi-flex neck. The neck has made my strat play so much better and even sound so much better.... thank you again

Slickbusiness400  Springfield, IL
5 8-08-2010
Love the feel

After cleaning up some sharp fret edges, and a slight head modification, this neck is perfect. I got the maple compound. Make shure you get the right bridge radius. I love it.

Tom Matthey  Tucson Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
5 8-05-2010
made for each other

Over the years I've have built customers guitars, sometimes using using Stew-Mac necks and bodies built years apart .Yet they still fit like a glove , it's only fair to share glory with you guys as you did all the hard work

Ben  Brisbane Australia Read my reviews (6)
4 7-26-2010
Pretty good for the price

I was looking at buying used MIM Fender necks online but decided to buy one of these because they were a bit cheaper. The rosewood fingerboard feels nice, the frets are level and there doesn't seem to be any more buzzing than usual. A good neck for the money.

Schuyler  San Francisco, CA Read my reviews (15)
Displaying 41 – 49 < 1  ...  3  4  5 /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 73 of our latest catalog.


Stratocaster® and Strat® are registered trademarks of Fender Musical Instruments Corporation.

These necks are made for us by Mighty Mite, and have peghead shapes licensed by Fender.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce