Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Bodies, necks, wood : Electric guitar necks : Replacement Neck for Strat Guitar

Replacement Neck for Strat Guitar


Read 49 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Shaped, inlaid, fretted and finished - feels and plays great! Hard rock maple finished in clear satin polyurethane, with a walnut "skunk stripe" down the back.

See details below

Email a friend
Replacement Neck for Strat Guitar
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5715 Rosewood fingerboard Yes
$118.00
2 or more $106.20  
5 or more $95.57  

5716 Maple fingerboard Yes
$118.00
2 or more $106.20  
5 or more $95.57  

5713 Compound radius, rosewood fingerboard 3-4 weeks
$124.00
2 or more $111.60  
5 or more $100.44  

5714 Compound radius, maple fingerboard Yes
$140.00
2 or more $126.00  
5 or more $113.40  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Guitar String Retainers



Grover Midsize Rotomatics



Gotoh Schaller-style Knob Tuners



Golden Age 63 Body for Strat



Replacement Neck for Tele Guitar



Guitar String Retainers
Grover Midsize Rotomatics 6-In-Line
Gotoh Schaller-style Knob Tuners 6-In-Line
Golden Age '63 Body for Strat
Replacement Neck for Tele Guitar



Details
 Pictures
The 22 frets are nicely finished, and the nut is shaped and slotted. Maple or rosewood fretboard with dot inlays and side markers.

Screwholes for attaching to the body are not drilled. Each neck has a truss rod with a 4mm adjusting nut at the peghead. We recommend Allen Truss Rod Wrench for adjusting neck relief.

Peghead is drilled for 6-in-line tuning machines. 11mm-diameter holes fit sealed gear tuners with threaded peghead bushing. See all tuners.

Specifications
Scale length 25-1/2" (647.70mm)
Width at nut 1-11/16" (42.86mm)
Width at 22nd fret 2-3/16" (55.56mm)
Fretwire .045" high x .095" wide (1.14mm x 2.41mm)
Approximate heel length 3-5/8" (92.07mm)
Fretboard radius 9-1/2" (241.30mm)

Compound radius necks
The fingerboard surface radius gradually changes from 9.5" at the nut, to 12" at the 22nd fret (241mm to 305mm), for lower action and cleaner string bending. 14.75" (375mm) bridge saddle radius is recommended.

Neck thickness (approximate; not including fret)


Ideally, the neck should just drop into the neck-pocket, or be a little snug. Don't force the neck into the pocket. If the body is unfinished, remember that the finish will make the neck pocket smaller with lacquer build up on the edge of the rout. Be sure to compensate for the finish buildup or the neck will be too tight after finishing.



Fine tuning a bolt-on replacement neck
Tweaking a replacement neck so it's ready to play
Fine tuning a bolt-on replacement neck Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman pulls his old Strat out of mothballs and gives it a new neck. He shows what's needed to get a replacement neck ready to play.
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Replacement Neck for Strat Guitar
Replacement Neck for Strat Guitar
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 49 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  5 >
5 10-13-2012
One fine neck

The neck arrived on time, properly packed. The finish, frets, nut & string cuts were all excellent. Really, the most important thing about my experience with it is the way it plays... I hope I never have another Strat-style guitar that DOESN'T have the compound radius; it really lets lead work 10th fret on up just flow off the fingers. Sweeeet.
My biggest problem now, is what put on the headstock: a Fender Decal, or something else more related to it being a parts-caster...

Les Irish  Wrightsville, PA
Customer supplied image for review
5 10-13-2012
A great neck for a Line 6 James Tyler Variax JTV 69

After using during some month my JTV69, the neck doesn't fit more me. After reading line 6 forums, I tried this replacement neck: Compound radius maple fingerboard. Installation was made by a professional, thanks to Musikia. I use it for a few days, and really it is not at all the same instrument, emulated sounds have not changed, and the variable radius of the neck is extremely comfortable. excellent, fast shipped, received quickly and great quality for the price, if you want a super Variax, go for it. To see now its time behavior.

eljyw  france
Customer supplied image for review
5 10-03-2012
strat gets new life

I turned a frankenstein strat with humbucker, floyd and kramer hockeystick neck into a vintage Dave Gilmour style strat. New Black pickguard, compound radius maple neck, and vintage style gotoh bridge. Ordered on sunday night arrived on wednesday.
Put together looks & plays like a dream. Thanks Stewmac great price great quality great service

Dave Newman  Brisbane, Australia
Customer supplied image for review
5 8-22-2012
Can't Go Wrong

This neck is great, excellent profile a tiny bit thin for me still, but not by a lot. Straight, good fret job, not perfect, but so affordable. My neck has a few blemishes, and the heel might be a little small but it sounds, feels so good and resonates well so I didn't return it. I got the compound rosewood neck and it is a winner.

PastorKev777  MI Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 7-28-2012
Replacement maple neck for strat.

Great product and excellent service, very happy very fast delivery just over 1 week. Will be using Stewmac again when I am purchasing anything else.

PJRobertson  Melbourne Australia
5 6-18-2012
Quality neck at a value price.

Actually the first one I got was simple to put on and quite frankly I really liked it but, it was cut in on one side between the 5th and 7th fret, very small problem but, I called StuMac and they replaced it, no problems with another very nice neck. It just does not get any better than that. I will add this, both necks had wonderful rolled frets right out of the box.

John R  West Chester, PA Read my reviews (8)
5 5-30-2012
Beautiful.

Aside from cleaning some sharp edges from the frets, this compound radius neck is everything a Strat lover could want. I like the action super low, and this neck allows that.

Tom Matthey  Tucson Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
5 5-27-2012
Great neck at a great price

Built a Strat copy for use with the Roland GR-55. Neck was laser straight and beautiful. Bolted it on, strung it up and it plays like a dream and at that price you can't beat it anywhere. Would highly recommend for new builds or as a great one piece neck replacement on existing guitars.

Parker  Mobile, AL USA Read my reviews (2)
5 4-13-2012
Strat maple neck

Replaced a MIA rosewood with the compound all maple. Mounted well, sanded the fret ends slightly and that guitar is making some great sounds. Might replace the nut--but I know this is the neck that will stay on this guitar for a real long time. Love it. Now some new necks for the Squier 51! Great customer service too. Thanks.

Agent McNeely  Island County WA
5 4-06-2012
Perfect

Everything comes to me fast, great prices. the new neck brought my old strat back to life . thankyou

Tom Mauro  vermont, usa
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  5 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 73 of our latest catalog.


Stratocaster® and Strat® are registered trademarks of Fender Musical Instruments Corporation.

These necks are made for us by Mighty Mite, and have peghead shapes licensed by Fender.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce