Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tuners : Guitar, solid peghead tuners : Steinberger Gearless Tuners

Steinberger Gearless Tuners


Read 57 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Improved string locking and 40:1 tuning ratio! Steinberger's unique "straight-through" tuner has no gears, and an astounding 40:1 tuning ratio for unparalleled accuracy.

See details below

Email a friend
Steinberger Gearless Tuners
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5460 Chrome Yes
$99.98
3 or more $89.98  

5460-B Black Yes
$99.98
3 or more $89.98  

5460-G Gold Yes
$149.98
3 or more $134.98  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...







Details
 Pictures
Specs
Instructions
Straight string pull eliminates winding. The locking knob on top secures the string to prevent slippage. String installation is fast and easy, and the tuning action is impressively smooth. Set of 6, instructions included.

Single pin mount keeps tuner from rotating, no mounting screws needed.
Requires 10mm (13/32")-diameter pegholes.

Minimum headstock thickness: 9/16" (14.30mm)
Maximum headstock thickness: 43/64" (16.89mm)
Maximum string gauge: 0.060" (1.52mm).

To be sure these tuners fit your instrument, compare your existing machines and peghole dimensions to our listed specs to help determine the best replacement.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Steinberger Gearless Tuners
Steinberger Gearless Tuners
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 57 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6 >
5 1-06-2011
Awesome Tuners

A little pricy, but, totally worth it in looks and functionality. These are all I use now, and have been for 3 years, and several guitars. Highly recommended.

Jonathan Durey  USA
4 12-22-2010
Looks great so far!

Great build quality, but my biggest concern is that the strings don't leave the nut straight. I popped these in as replacement for my strat's locking tuners, and the way they enter the tuner causes some binding in the nut. Just something to think about. I'm going to plug the old holes, then redrill them to be centered.

Tyler  Minnesota
5 12-07-2010
Steinbergers Rock!!

I replaced the crappy banjo tuners on my '02 Gibson Firebird V. These are without a doubt, the best tuners I've ever used. I've been playing for about 22 yrs and have used just about every tuner available. The Steinbergers win hands down. I can string up my guitar, stretch the strings good and that's it. The next day, they're still in tune, unlike most tuners which take a little longer for new strings to settle in. I woulds also suggest Dan's Guitar Player Repair Guide. It's unbelievable.

Donnie Smith II  Fenwick, WV Read my reviews (4)
5 12-07-2010
Great and Precise!!!

I purchased these tuners about 30 days ago, and installed them on a Nechville Banjo with a tunneled fifth string. The tuners are all placed on the Headstock, and I am extremely pleased with the outcome! The look compliments the Modern design of the instrument and make tuning a breeze. I have none of the tuning issues that are common with traditional Banjo tuners. The smooth operation and comfortable feel are greatly appreciated.

Anyone looking for an attractive and precise tuner should try these. The cost is very reasonable in comparison to conventional banjo tuners, and once you try them, you will not go back!

Corn  Clemmons, NC
Customer supplied image for review
5 11-22-2010
ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT DESIGN

I installed these tuners months ago and I am still blown away by them. I have waited to find a downfall, but remain impressed. I will have these on every stringed instrument I own.

bossy meat creature  charleston, wv Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
2 11-14-2010
Great Tuners... almost

I like to try innovative new products that are hopefully an improvement over old standards. I ordered the Steinberger tuners for a '85 Jap Strat rebuild looking for tuning stability. Once installed, they strung up easily and tuned nice and smooth with good fine adjustment. Over time it was realized that the Steinbergers would drift requiring frequent retuning.

I feel that the design is really an improvement over conventional 90 degree geared tuners, however, the development process for this product is incomplete. There needs to be some tension device or resistance built into the Steinbergers to keep the threaded tuning system in position. The 40:1 mechanical advantage is almost too much (yet provides super accurate tuning) and the weight of the tuning knob overcomes the string tension. If this problem could be corrected these would be an evolutionary jump in tuner design.

I had to rate these only two stars because as a tuner they do not work as well as a conventional tuner, if this could be corrected the design would rate six stars.

After talking with StewMac customer service they allowed me to return the tuners for a refund. As usual, StewMac puts us, the customers, before sales. Thanks StewMac.

Ken  Boise, Idaho Read my reviews (7)
5 10-30-2010
Tuners

These are amazing tuners, they are a bit ugly but they took an old guitar that had never had any real stability (would regularly stray rather badly within songs) and have transformed into a rock solid monster, even with the addition of a Bigsby afterward.

Trent Ward  Seminole, TX
4 10-03-2010
Sweet tuners!!!

I plan on ordering a set for my project after playing a guitar that a friend had installed these on. they look sweet and keep in tune like none other. My only complaint is I'm building a 7 string so I gotta get two sets argh!!! It really chaps my rear to know that I'm putting $200 into it and have 12 tuners when all i need is 7, why cant they sell them individually!!!

Mr. Dude  Pensacola FL, US. Read my reviews (12)
5 9-21-2010
Great tuners for unique guitars

I used an earlier incarnation of these on a guitar I built for a client a year or so ago. They stay in tune great, tune easily and accurately, and they look killer (and come on, isn't that what Rock music is all about?) My only complaint with the ones I have is the knob on top (for locking the string down) didn't allow for enough of a grip. This new design fixes that issue (though perhaps it doesn't look as cool. Great product. Just be sure when designing a new headstock you take into account that the string leaves the center of the post as opposed to wrapping around it.

Chellee Guitars  Orange City, FL Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
5 9-09-2010
Addictive

I will be replacing all my tuners with these as my paychecks permit. My only complaint is that gold is $50 more. It's not real gold?

bossy meat creature  charleston, wv Read my reviews (6)
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 56 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce