Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tuners : Guitar, solid peghead tuners : Steinberger Gearless Tuners

Steinberger Gearless Tuners


Read 57 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Improved string locking and 40:1 tuning ratio! Steinberger's unique "straight-through" tuner has no gears, and an astounding 40:1 tuning ratio for unparalleled accuracy.

See details below

Email a friend
Steinberger Gearless Tuners
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5460 Chrome Yes
$99.98
3 or more $89.98  

5460-B Black Yes
$99.98
3 or more $89.98  

5460-G Gold Yes
$149.98
3 or more $134.98  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...







Details
 Pictures
Specs
Instructions
Straight string pull eliminates winding. The locking knob on top secures the string to prevent slippage. String installation is fast and easy, and the tuning action is impressively smooth. Set of 6, instructions included.

Single pin mount keeps tuner from rotating, no mounting screws needed.
Requires 10mm (13/32")-diameter pegholes.

Minimum headstock thickness: 9/16" (14.30mm)
Maximum headstock thickness: 43/64" (16.89mm)
Maximum string gauge: 0.060" (1.52mm).

To be sure these tuners fit your instrument, compare your existing machines and peghole dimensions to our listed specs to help determine the best replacement.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Steinberger Gearless Tuners
Steinberger Gearless Tuners
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 57 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  6 >
5 3-22-2012
I love these tuning machines!

I love these tuners, I just wish that they could come up with a 7 string and heavier string guages option...

hufschmid  Montreux Read my reviews (18)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-20-2012
Steinberger Gearless Tuners

First off let me start by making clear that I bought these tuners for the sole reason of replacing the traditional/standard tuning keys on the 6 string guitar portion of a 4 string/6 string double neck guitar. In that order from top to bottom. Conventional tuning keys left the thing virtually unplayable because they got in the way so much. So I didn't even know these things existed until I started looking into it but I knew there had to be something and here they are! I didn't even bother to find out if some other company made something similar. I'd still be curious to find out if there is but be that as it may, I bought these on a whim seeing that they were perfect for the application which I desired; getting the tuning pegs out of the way. With a name like Steinberger made it even more intriguing after owning a Steinberger Bass and being quite pleased with it.

That being said; these are great tuners and easy to install. If I can do it. You will however have to drill a small shallow hole in your guitar to accommodate each tuner. I don't think that this is anything that your standard tuner won't cover up should you decide to go back.

So in a nutshell: If you are looking to take tuning pegs and put them on the back of the neck as opposed to the top and bottom of it these will do it and spectacularly. Again easy to install and they work. A little pricey at $100 but if that's what you're looking for…that's what they do.

Let me stress that the only reason that I took the time to write this is to praise the service of this distributor; One of my tuners happened to be faulty and they had a replacement to me within 2 days of me e-mailing them. They paid for return postage of the faulty bit as well. Spot on, Mates. Kudos!

dmatzo  il.
1 3-05-2012
Not Ready For Prime Time

I had high hopes that these would solve the tuning problems I was experiencing with my Firebird. This proved not to be the case - These aren't tuners so much as fine tuners. The initial tuning is largely done by the installer by pulling the string close to pitch via brute force, while simultaneously screwing down the clamping knob (also with considerable force). This is an awkward series of steps to complete, as it requires the installer to apply great forces to delicate components without breaking anything. this exercise works well for the lower 3 strings, but in my experience was an utter failure for the upper three, where the clamping knob was unable to successfully stop the string from loosening during tuning. Even when the clamping knob was turned with pliers, as other reviews have suggested, the string slipped. And on these tuners, due to their limited travel, once the string slips you have to repeat the installation of the string again. After several attempts, I wound up breaking the 2nd string tuner, which refused to clamp an 0.12 B string. My suggestion is that for smaller diameter strings, these tuners need a redesign of the clamping mechanism. They work as advertised for the larger diameter strings, but given their limitations I can't recommend them.

Occasional Guitar Builder  Liberty Hill, TX, USA
2 1-04-2012
Overrated

I recently replaced a set of these tuners for a customer. At first glance they seem of superior quality in terms of technology and craftsmanship. There are however a few flaws. The mechanism seems quite weak as the customer had broken one. He also broke a string on one, and it doesn't seem like you can get it out! A piece of string is stuck in the mechanism.

I would go with Sperzels if you want a locking tuner. They are absolutely flawless as far as I can tell. I have installed multiple sets and I and my customers love them. The design of the Planet Waves tuners also looks awesome. I have yet to try them out.

Franklin's  Ontario, Canada Read my reviews (2)
5 1-04-2012
Pure Awesomeness

These tunners are the greatest thing since sliced bread! Truly they allow greater design options with their small footprint and sleek looks. More that that they make re-stringing a joy rather an a RSI exercise.

Etherial Guitars  Australia Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 12-14-2011
Great service

I bought a 2007 gibson flying v in Hong Kong for a really good deal. Because they told me that they can't find this tuner and the original ones are broken. I used my iphone and found this website, then took his deal. But I was nervous because I never shopped on this website. The customer service answered all my questions in time and helped me about the wire transfer issues(since I had to do that in China). So that means I got an awesome gibson for an unbelievable price. Thank you Stewmac!

China666  Beijing,China
5 10-06-2011
Awesome Improvement

I had these put on my Firebird V11 and the improvement in tuning and general design is incredible! I play in an active working band and these make it easier to get in tune and stay in tune, I would recommend these for any guitar, very easy and quick to change strings also!

Guitar and Harmonica Player  Keymar, MD Read my reviews (4)
3 10-04-2011
Slightly overrated?

I bought an Epiphone Firebird Studio which came with these equipped. Its a great guitar with a great tone, but i had never seen these tuners before, I had no explanation on how to use them, and by trying to tune down to drop D, the tuner jammed and broke, resulting in me having to go back to the shop and replace it with a new firebird, and had the salesman explain how to use them properly. Enlightened, I have used this guitar so much, it has become my main guitar and i use it for rehearsals, gigs, or just messing with it in my room. The pegs themselves are very well designed and make for easy re-tuning and replacing. That said however, I recently snapped a string during a bend (as you do), and tried to replace it. As i unscrewed the locking peg, the peg itself unscrewed apart and now the broken string is stuck in the tuner and i cant do anything about it, meaning the guitar is now unusable. I am now seriously regretting buying this guitar as these tuning pegs are obviously very unreliable. I am now looking up how to replace tuning pegs and prices for regular tuning pegs.

Overall, the tuning pegs are easy to use and very effective, just very unreliable and fragile. I dunno, maybe I've just been unlucky, but twice now my guitars become unplayable thanks to these tuners

Guitar freak  England
5 9-22-2011
Steinberger Tuners, just because.

I ordered them because I wanted to see how they worked. I like good design and I am not blinkered into thinking guitar design stopped in 1959, and nothing worthwhile has appeared since. Liked the quirky appearance on the strat peghead. Easy to install. Drill one small locating hole. Had to ream out "vintage" pegholes to fit due to the hangover idea that the original tuners were always better. In use.....fantastic. Thread string through peg hole. Pull tight. Screw down locking T nut. Clip string off 1/4" from tuner. Tune.

It takes roughly the time it took to describe. S-m-o-o-th.....tuning 40:1! Accurate. Solid, and no possible backlash from internal gears, because there aren't any. The string in pulled down through the centre of the peg. No more sharp string ends waiting to snare you. If you are playing today's music on great grandfathers guitar, look away. You probably won't be able to tolerate the appearance of these pegs. But they do what their name implies, they...tune. They would work on a 3-a-side head-stock too. BUT they all turn the one way. Clumsy, I thought. But it makes sense. No left or right turn tuners. Any peg you grab, just turn away from you to raise pitch. Steinberers on my Les Paul Studio? Replace those snot green plastic 1950's archaic tuners? Why not?

resoamp  Beechworth Australia Read my reviews (32)
5 9-04-2011
Installing Steinberger Gearless tuners on a reissue 64FB VII

Here's how I did it with my reissue 64 FB VII...

Uninstall the crappy banjo tuners that came on the beast. Drill out your peghead holes to 1/2" in a drill press or have your local guitar tech do it for you. You're going to need 1/2 x.375 x 5/8 nylon bushings from Lowe's, qty 6. Install the new nylon bushings in the redrilled peghead and install the tuners per the enclosed instructions with one exception...where they tell you to use a 1/16" drill bit to drill the index hole, use a 5/32" bit and point the index pin directly at the nut string slot that it matches. (The instructions just tell you to point the index pin towards the nut, but I found that if you align the index pin with a piece of masking tape that draws a straight line between the hole in the tuner with the string slot that matches it, you'll be dead on every time.) The 5/32nd bit keeps you from over-tightening the nut on the bottom of the tuner and keeps the cursing and gnashing of teeth to a minimum.

These tuners work like a champ. My 'bird now stays in tune!

Stephen Schaub  Independence, MO
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  6 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 56 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce