Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Electronics, pickups : Pickups: Guitar, electric : Golden Age Alnico 5 Single-coil Pickups

Golden Age Alnico 5 Single-coil Pickups


Read 29 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Vintage vibe, great price. Wake up your guitar! Inspired by legendary pickups of the '50s, Golden Age single-coil pickups bring out the best in your guitar.

See details below

Email a friend
Golden Age Alnico 5 Single-coil Pickups
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5422 Bridge position Yes
$44.95

5421 Middle position Yes
$44.95

5420 Neck position Yes
$44.95

5423 HOT for neck or bridge position Yes
$44.95

5424 Set of 3 (#5420, 5421, 5422) SAVE $13.48 Yes
$121.37

5425 Set of 3 (#5420, 5421, 5423) SAVE $13.48 Yes
$121.37


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

How to Wire a Fender Guitar DVD



Standard Wiring Kit for Stratocaster



Single-coil Pickup Routing Templates



Pickup Covers for Strat



Metal Mounting Rings for Single-coil Pickups



How to Wire a Fender Guitar DVD
Standard Wiring Kit for Stratocaster
Single-coil Pickup Routing Templates
Pickup Covers for Strat
Metal Mounting Rings for Single-coil Pickups



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
The reviews say it all: "they really, really sing...great buy for the price." Wax-potted AWG42 coil windings and Alnico 5 staggered polepieces deliver vintage tone, optimum output at each position, balanced string response, and microphonic suppression. They're the real deal, for a lot less money.

Looking for extra punch? Our #5423 HOT model is specially wound to 7.6K ohms, for the bridge or neck position.

Bonus! Two covers (one black and one white) are supplied with each Golden Age single-coil pickup, for easy pickguard matching.

Save on complete neck/middle/bridge sets!

Golden Age single-coil pickups have vintage dimensions for easy installation in standard bodies, and two vintage-style fabric-insulated hookup wires. Polepieces have 2-1/16" spread. Mounting screws, rubber tubing and wiring diagrams are included.

The middle-position pickup is reverse wound, reverse polarity, for hum cancellation at the #2 and #4 switch positions.

Note: Each pickup has a copper shield surrounding the coil, a modern feature for 60-cycle hum suppression not found on vintage pickups. To play "naked" vintage-style, simply snip the small jumper wire that connects the foil to the pickup's ground lug.

Golden Age Alnico 5 single-coil pickups
Model Position Polarity Ohms
#5420 Neck South 6.0K
#5421 Middle North 6.0K
#5422 Bridge South 6.4K
#5423 HOT Neck/Bridge South 7.6K


/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Golden Age Alnico 5 Single-coil Pickups
Golden Age Alnico 5 Single-coil Pickups
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 29 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 29 < 1  2  3
4 7-01-2011
Golden Age

This is good choice if you want to change your stock pickups!

Roma  Russia Read my reviews (2)
4 3-09-2011
Great pickup

I have installed these in many of my customer's instruments, as well as having a complete set in my personal Strat. These are nicely built and have a great vintage tone. (Think 60's strat) Additionally, they are as quiet as any others out there. Good product.

J.H. luthier  TN Read my reviews (2)
5 2-25-2011
swampy

My project was to build a one piece swamp ash stratalike,with as much authentic vintage vibe as possible. Using golden age pickups was the right choice. I wired the thing up, ala dan armstrongs ``invisible switch`` for infinite tonal choice,with a treble bleed in circuit,as shown on dan erlewine`s video: how to wire a strat. RESULT ,it's a tone swampthing. I could not be a happier man,these are truly awesome sounding pickups. Many thanks to the stewmac team.
william hill, england.

william hill  england Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 2-17-2011
Can't beat 'em for the price!

I bought the full set with the hotter bridge pickup to replace the stock pups in my '95 mexi strat. This being the first time I've replaced pups I really didn't know how much difference in tone to expect. Wow! what a difference - full, rich and warm with just the right amount of twang. In short it was beyond my expectations and I would purchase them again with hesitation. Kudos also to StewMac's excellent customer service - I was originally shipped the incorrect bridge pickup - I received the replacement the next day (and I'm across the border!)

jswoveland  Victoria, BC
5 12-03-2010
Great value and sound

I put the 5420 in my MIM Strat neck position and it definitely was well worth it!! Sounds sweeter than the original. I'm gonna buy the other two now!

carmine  New Jersey Read my reviews (8)
5 10-23-2010
As for the humbucker !

Today I think it is a very good p.u.

Antonello  Trieste ITALY Read my reviews (5)
5 9-19-2010
ohhhhhh yeah

Bought the set...23 for the bridge, 21, and 20. Put them in a nice, old Mexi Strat that has a perfect feeling maple neck. I really liked the p.u.s before, but holy crap they really, really sing now. I can keep the tone high and get a really throaty tone with some overdrive, some nice, chimey 60's sounds, and an aggressive overdrive from the bridge. Really great buy for the price.

kurt  Portland, OR Read my reviews (3)
5 9-11-2010
This is "The One"

It's hard to describe what the 5423 will do, but I'll try. It will make your SOUL say YESSSSSSS.

mcbragg  Baltimore, MD Read my reviews (9)
5 8-15-2010
Great Sounding Pickup

I used the #5423 pickup on an old "Frankenstrat" project. It gave me exactly what I was looking for. The throaty chime was spot on. Oh I picked the "Hot" single coil for the neck position because I was using a Dimarzio X2N at the bridge. With a Jackson Model 3's "middle" at center, this is one "Hot" guitar. Thank God for Stewmac.

mcbragg  Baltimore, MD Read my reviews (9)
Displaying 21 – 29 < 1  2  3 /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 45 of our latest catalog.


Golden Age® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce