Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Electronics, pickups : Pickups: Guitar, electric : Golden Age Pickups for Tele

Golden Age Pickups for Tele


Read 40 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Vintage vibe, great price! Our Tele models feature Alnico 5 polepieces and vintage specifications to take your Telecaster® back half a century!

See details below

Email a friend
Golden Age Pickups for Tele
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5410 Bridge pickup Yes
$50.95

5411 Neck pickup Yes
$48.95

5410-S Bridge & neck pickup SAVE $10.00 Yes
$89.90


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Standard Wiring Kit for Telecaster



Self-adhesive Shielding Kit



Conductive Shielding Paint



How to Wire a Fender Guitar DVD



Oak Grigsby 4-way 2-pole Lever Switch



Standard Wiring Kit for Telecaster
Self-adhesive Shielding Kit
Conductive Shielding Paint
How to Wire a Fender Guitar DVD
Oak Grigsby 4-way 2-pole Lever Switch



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
Get the biting twang that helped forge rock, country and blues.
Golden Age pickups continue to amaze and impress guitarists. They're a great upgrade for guitars with weak or muddy stock pickups, at a great price. Vintage dimensions allow easy installation in standard bodies.

Save when you order both pickups!

Golden Age Bridge Pickup for Tele
Polepieces: Alnico 5 magnets with north polarity and 2-1/8" (53.97mm) spread. Vintage-spec raised D and G polepieces.
Coil wire: AWG42, wound to 6.5K ohms. Vintage-style white string wrap. Wax-potted.
Flatwork: Bottom thickness .093" (2.38mm), top .062" (1.57mm). Copper-plated steel baseplate for authentic twang.

Golden Age Neck Pickup for Tele
Polepieces: Alnico 5 magnets with south polarity and 1-15/16" (49.21mm) spread.
Coil wire: AWG43, wound to 7.0K ohms for original beefier output. Wax-potted.
Flatwork: .062" (1.57mm) top and bottom thickness.
Cover: '50s-style flat-topped, chrome.
Screws: Vintage-style wood screws for mounting to the bottom of the pickup cavity.

Both models have vintage-style push-back cloth-insulated lead wires, and include compressible height adjustment tubing with mounting screws.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Golden Age Pickups for Tele
Golden Age Pickups for Tele
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 40 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4 >
5 8-29-2011
Outstanding Pickups...No Outstanding Cost....

Unbelieveable value! I was a bit dubious; after all, $AUS90 for TWO pickups? Something fishy, surely....so when I got them, and wired them up, I was prepared for disappointment. Instead, I got a clear, powerful, twangy tone that was complemented by an EMG PS2 booster switch to give one of the best guitar sounds I have ever had.

Without the preamp switch, the pickups sound clear, sassy and very colourful. Don't waste your bucks on the bigger names, get these, you won't regret it.

T.Williams  Melbourne, Australia
5 8-17-2011
Tell it like a Telly

Great sound at an affordable price, but thats been said before. The sound speaks for itself, these are for real!
I installed them on a Triple A grade Clear coated Swamp Ash Tele body with a Maple caped Maple neck, I could go on, but I think I'll just go and play it!

JoeTron  Surrey , British Columbia CAN
5 7-19-2011
Golden Age "Tele" Pickups

I bought the Tele-style bridge and neck pups. Their 'economy' pricing certainly belies the enormous value of these pickups. I could not be more pleased. My make-shift 'Tele' of basswood w/spalted maple top sounds as good as any Tele I have heard. Extraordinary quality found in Golden Age pickups.

Darthxerxes  Ontario, Canada Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 6-19-2011
Golden Age

Great for the vintage sound, crisp, and you cannot get more "surf sounding" than these. I will add the volume mod soon because the neck pick-up looses high frequency fast as you turn it down.

Schwagdog  Pennsylvania Read my reviews (9)
Customer supplied image for review
5 5-26-2011
Golden Age Pick-ups

WOW. Simply Wow. I owned a Tele (60's) in the 70's. Traded, with cash in for a double neck... wouldn't have done it today. I used these Golden Age pick-ups for a '51 build. There are no other options. As accurate as humanly possible. Tried them out through an Ampeg VT-40 and a THD 30 watt Bi-Vavle... out of this world.

Schwagdog  Pennsylvania Read my reviews (9)
5 4-28-2011
These pickups are really good - Tele withdrawn from Sale!!!

Bought a Tele secondhand, not an impulse buy, but playing it more and more I was getting disappointed. I was finding the pickups mis-matched and one dimensional (Neck almost OK, Bridge too much treble and then some). Fitted the StewMac pickups and it really is a difference. It is most definitely a Tele, but there is a depth and dynamism to the sound that was not there before. Bought the pickups on the basis of good experience with your humbuckers and have not been disappointed. The Tele that might have been up for sale, is not for sale.

Mick Baxter  W Ewell, UK
4 3-19-2011
Golden Age Tele Neck in Affinty Squire Tele Specia BS

I use the neck pickup a lot and the original pickup was weak and unbalanced with the bridge PU that I liked, so I got this one. The only problem I had with mounting was stu mac sent some long mounting screws!! If I used those screws they would have gone all the way through the body and sticking out the back. I ended up using the old mounting screws. Latter stu mac sent me some shorter screws in another shipment. I guess they realized the problem!? The pickup sounds fine and fulfilled all my hopes and expectations.
With the 7K Ohm with the height set up within 1/8" of strings, I got the volume, tone and balance I was looking for. Good pickup stu mac, you just need to get your hardware straight!

Bob Scott  North Louisiana
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-22-2011
A rookie's perceptive

I just finished my first guitar, a somewhat atypical Tele style with basswood body, figured maple topwood, and cherry neck, and with not a little trepidation I strung it up and tried out the Golden Age pickups. Being a rank amateur I tried not to expect much. Was I ever shocked when the sound coming out of that instrument exceeded any guitar I have ever played anywhere! I give all the credit to the Golden Age Pickups. No better bargain anywhere I think. Powerful, clean, spanky sound and so quiet with the copper shielding.

I know you supply the professionals but we rookies really appreciate the extra information and wiring diagrams you supply also. I think that I am hooked now.

Tom Wright  Big Rapids Read my reviews (4)
5 1-04-2011
Golden Age Tele Pickups

I bought these based upon the description on the Stew-Mac website, figuring that if they fell short I could replace them. Well, that will not be happening. I just installed them on my latest project guitar and am extremely satisfied with their performance. Use the recommended wiring. These are great pickups!!

MK  Sterling Heights, Michigan
Customer supplied image for review
5 12-23-2010
the closest to boutique without the high dollars

Hello Everyone: I acquired a set of these pickups recently off an auction site for a MIM Fender Mustang Edition Telecaster.
I read the reviews for the pickups on stew mac's website and based on that I purchased them.
The telecaster got rewired to vintage specs with paper in oil capacitors, and correct cts pots.
I plugged the guitar into my Carvin Nomad amplifier and I was blown away, it had that vintage tone without the vintage or boutique price tag.
There is a lot of pickups out there for the telecaster, but too many of them are either over-powering or over-hyped.
These pickups are a great value and they have that vintage tone, you can get some early Jimmy Page tones with these babies, thanks again Stew Mac

George  Hobart, IN Read my reviews (5)
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 45 of our latest catalog.


Telecaster®, Tele®, and Esquire® are registered trademarks of Fender Musical Instruments Corporation.


Golden Age® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce