Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Electronics, pickups : Pickups: Guitar, electric : Golden Age Pickups for Tele

Golden Age Pickups for Tele


Read 40 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Vintage vibe, great price! Our Tele models feature Alnico 5 polepieces and vintage specifications to take your Telecaster® back half a century!

See details below

Email a friend
Golden Age Pickups for Tele
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5410 Bridge pickup Yes
$50.95

5411 Neck pickup Yes
$48.95

5410-S Bridge & neck pickup SAVE $10.00 Yes
$89.90


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Standard Wiring Kit for Telecaster



Self-adhesive Shielding Kit



Conductive Shielding Paint



How to Wire a Fender Guitar DVD



Oak Grigsby 4-way 2-pole Lever Switch



Standard Wiring Kit for Telecaster
Self-adhesive Shielding Kit
Conductive Shielding Paint
How to Wire a Fender Guitar DVD
Oak Grigsby 4-way 2-pole Lever Switch



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
Get the biting twang that helped forge rock, country and blues.
Golden Age pickups continue to amaze and impress guitarists. They're a great upgrade for guitars with weak or muddy stock pickups, at a great price. Vintage dimensions allow easy installation in standard bodies.

Save when you order both pickups!

Golden Age Bridge Pickup for Tele
Polepieces: Alnico 5 magnets with north polarity and 2-1/8" (53.97mm) spread. Vintage-spec raised D and G polepieces.
Coil wire: AWG42, wound to 6.5K ohms. Vintage-style white string wrap. Wax-potted.
Flatwork: Bottom thickness .093" (2.38mm), top .062" (1.57mm). Copper-plated steel baseplate for authentic twang.

Golden Age Neck Pickup for Tele
Polepieces: Alnico 5 magnets with south polarity and 1-15/16" (49.21mm) spread.
Coil wire: AWG43, wound to 7.0K ohms for original beefier output. Wax-potted.
Flatwork: .062" (1.57mm) top and bottom thickness.
Cover: '50s-style flat-topped, chrome.
Screws: Vintage-style wood screws for mounting to the bottom of the pickup cavity.

Both models have vintage-style push-back cloth-insulated lead wires, and include compressible height adjustment tubing with mounting screws.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Golden Age Pickups for Tele
Golden Age Pickups for Tele
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 40 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  2  3  4
5 12-15-2010
Golden Age Tele Pickups

I put 'em in a great-feeling Squier tele and it sounds like the top-shelf model. Smooth and mellow at the neck, twangy-not-shrill at the bridge, chimey in the middle. Fantastic!

scottkro  Florida
5 12-01-2010
Golden Age Tele bridge PU.

I put one of these in a Fender Esquire for my daughter, and was really impressed. Compares favorably with the SD Vintage for Broadcaster pu I have in my Telecaster, and at one third of the price! Fantastic value!!

Rune S-L  Oslo, Norway Read my reviews (2)
5 11-30-2010
EXCELLENT! PART 2

In my review before, I said that STEWMAC sent me the wrong screws. I emailed them about the problem, and not even 2 hours later they called me explaining that the screws for the neck pickup are to be drilled into the wood not through the pickguard. STEWMAC is excellent in their products, especially these pickups, and they have EXCELLENT customer service! BUY THESE NOW!!!!!!!!!!

Johnny Harpo  Reno, Nevada Read my reviews (2)
5 11-15-2010
Excellent!!!!!!

Recently bought both of these pickups and installed them into my Mexi Tele, to great success! Such sweet golden delicious tone! Only one problem they sent me the wrong screws for the neck, but i took care of that myself.

Johnny Harpo  Reno, Nevada Read my reviews (2)
5 9-15-2010
Very pleased

Used these pickups for a guitar that was hand painted and is going to a charity auction. The quality of the guitar was such that excellent pickups were required. A lower price point was important as well. These pickup filled the bill and then some. Great tones from these. I'm VERY pleased!!

J Stanger  Lakeville,MN
5 9-04-2010
It's Alive!

I used these pickups in a restoration of an old Aims Telecaster, circa 1976. They delivered the exact sonics I was looking for! Not too hot (like the DiMarzios I pulled out of the old wreck) and not too dull. Just right! And the attention to detail is fantastic on every aspect of the physical pickup. You will like these.

ToeKnee  Alpharetta, GA Read my reviews (2)
5 8-30-2010
Pups with a tinkle

I do workshops here building Strats and Teles, however i needed one for my son who plays reggae. So needed good (the guy is critical) and not too expensive pups. These are just that. Very good absolute sense, excellent in bangs for the buck relative sense.
One little issue which is easily remedied. The bridge pickup has rubber placeholders, which isolate the pickup in some way from the rest of the electronics, this caused a terrible noise! Adding a mass-wire from the shielding to the pots (ensure that the bridge hits the shielding!) corrected this. See pic.
Btw, how can you guys deliver stuff to Holland in less than 3 days - that always leaves me slackjawed?

Bert van der Moer  Netherlands Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
4 8-25-2010
Surprised again

I've run genuine replacements alongside golden age pickups and as they say "pound for pound" I"ll go for gold every time. They really are that good to me.

Ian Saint  New Zealand Read my reviews (3)
4 8-21-2010
Pleasantly surprised

I wanted to build a guitar for guests to use when they came to the house. I did not want to spend a fortune on it but wanted it to sound good. The Golden Age Pickups filled the requirement very nicely. I have used Lollars and O.C. Duffey pickups and they are the top of the line but the Golden Age pickups are only a step below and cost about a third of the price. Very good value and the sound is great.

keithpop  Mount Juliet, TN Read my reviews (3)
3 6-28-2010
OK

Wiring diagram for me was a little complicated. haven't gotten it yet but these are great pickups for the price

David Saslow  USA Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  2  3  4 /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 45 of our latest catalog.


Telecaster®, Tele®, and Esquire® are registered trademarks of Fender Musical Instruments Corporation.


Golden Age® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce