Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Electronics, pickups : Pickups: Guitar, electric : Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers

Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers


Read 133 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Straight-up raw vintage! Closely modeled after an outstanding vintage P.A.F. set from our own collection. That sweet tone was just too good to keep to ourselves!

See details below

Email a friend
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers

Play video

 
 
With Alnico 2 magnets
   Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
 5408  Neck, Alnico 2, nickel Yes
$62.75

 5416  Bridge, Alnico 2, nickel Yes
$62.75

 5408-S  Neck & bridge, Alnico 2, nickel SAVE $14.55 Yes
$110.95

 5408-G  Neck, Alnico 2, gold Yes
$66.95

 5416-G  Bridge, Alnico 2, gold Yes
$66.95

 5408-GS  Neck & bridge, Alnico 2, gold SAVE $15.40 Yes
$118.50

 
With Alnico 5 magnets
   Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
 5409  Neck, Alnico 5, nickel Yes
$62.75

 5417  Bridge, Alnico 5, nickel Yes
$62.75

 5409-S  Neck & bridge, Alnico 5, nickel SAVE $14.55 Yes
$110.95

 5409-G  Neck, Alnico 5, gold Yes
$66.95

 5417-G  Bridge, Alnico 5, gold Yes
$66.95

 5409-GS  Neck & bridge, Alnico 5, gold SAVE $15.40 Yes
$118.50

 
Mixed neck/bridge Parsons Street sets
   Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
 5416-S  Alnico 5 neck and Alnico 2 bridge, nickel SAVE $14.55 Yes
$110.95

 5416-GS  Alnico 5 neck and Alnico 2 bridge, gold SAVE $15.40 Yes
$118.50

 5417-S  Alnico 2 neck and Alnico 5 bridge, nickel SAVE $14.55 Yes
$110.95

 5417-GS  Alnico 2 neck and Alnico 5 bridge, gold SAVE $15.40 Yes
$118.50


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers with Restoration Covers



Plastic Humbucker Mounting Rings



Humbucker Mounting Ring Screws



Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Arched Bodies



Humbucker Helpers



Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers with Restoration Covers
Plastic Mounting Rings For Humbucking Pickups
Humbucker Mounting Ring Screws
Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Arched Bodies
Humbucker Helpers



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Instructions
True vintage sound.
We christened these exceptional humbuckers in tribute to the famous Kalamazoo address where the holy grail of pickups, the legendary P.A.F. (Patent Applied For), was born.

SAVE on neck and bridge sets!

Just like the originals, the slug coil has more windings than the polepiece coil, and both coils are unpotted. Old P.A.F.s weren't made in separate neck and bridge-position models, and their DC resistance varied from 7-9K ohms. We give you a choice: Parsons Street neck-position pickups are wound to mid 7K, and bridge-position models to low 8K.

Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers sweet vintage tone was crafted to vintage P.A.F. specifications:
• Nickel silver cover for tone transparency
• Original 1.97" (50.04mm) polepiece spacing
• Plain enameled AWG42 coil wire
• Black paper coil tape
• Wood spacer
• Choice of Alnico 2 or Alnico 5 magnet
• Nickel-silver baseplate
• Single-conductor braided shield output wire

Your choice of original-style magnets:
• Alnico 2 for warm tone with smooth highs and a soft bottom response.
• Alnico 5 produces a clear tone with more pronounced highs and a tighter low end.
(Original P.A.F.s contained Alnico 2, 3 and 5 magnets at various times.)

Neck models: mid 7K ohms
Bridge models: low 8K ohms

Dimensions
Length2.75"(69.85mm)
Width1.5"(38.10mm)
Height.840"(21.34mm)including mounting tabs

Height adjustment screws, springs and wiring diagrams included.

Mounting rings and mounting ring screws are available separately.

Handy Humbucker Helpers make installation easy.

Wiring a humbucker to get two sounds
Wiring a humbucker to get two sounds
Wiring a humbucker to get two sounds Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman shows how he modified a Parsons Street Humbucker, turning it into a switchable single-coil/humbucker combination.
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 133 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 81 – 90 < 1  ...  8  9  10  ...  14 >
5 9-23-2011
Golden Age

Loaded these into my Les Paul Studio. It's now my new favorate guitar.

Todd Hendrix  Henderson, NV
5 9-09-2011
Rev. Willy B. custom 72 style Tele

I really like the tones I'm getting with the Parsons Street alnico 2 pickups. Had an issue with one not working and Stewmac put one in the mail that very day with a post paid return, got the new one and it worked perfectly.

Vintage Sound D'zyn  Missouri, USA
Customer supplied image for review
5 9-02-2011
Another pleased customer

Pickups are awesome, I'm totally content. Very different sound out of the Alnico 2 and Alnico 5. I put an Alnico 2 in the bridge of my Sheraton which greatly improved clarity and sustain and give me a Neil Youngish midboost. Alnico 5 in the neck is all blues. Through a Blues Jr. NOS I got all the tone I wanted. Thanks guys.

Drew  Morgan Hill, Ca
5 9-01-2011
Parson Street Pickups

I installed a set of Parson Street Alnico 2's as part of a '74 Les Paul Custom rebuild. They sound great and were a perfect fit. The high end is crisp, the bottom is full bodied, they sound strong and balanced.

They are a high value choice for the price. I would recommend them for any Gibson owner looking for an unmodified classic sound.

Jazzed  San Diego, CA Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 8-07-2011
5416-S combo set

This was a good choice set for my sound preferences on my Les Paul Epi replica. The Alnico 5 at the neck provides rich clean warm tones thru the full gain range on my Fender Proformer 650 Amp. The Alnico 2 at the bridge has a bright rich sound/tone that made this guitar come alive in comparison to the stock Epi's. In Combo usage there is many sounds that can be created by adjusting the guitar volume/tone knobs in clean and dirty Amp chioces.

Very happy with this set choice after doing a lot of research and reading opinions on the net about pickups in general and installations others have done.

2bike  Brampton, ON Read my reviews (2)
5 8-03-2011
Great Pickups, Period

I put an Alnico 5 in my neck, and Alnico 2 in the bridge of an Agile AL2000 LP style.

First, I need to comment on the construction quality of the product. These are some of the best constructed, quality material pickups around. They match the best pups around in this regard.

Now, as to the sound. OMG is the best response I can give. The difference over the stock Ceramic humbuckers is night and day. And, I LIKED the stock ceramic pups.

Not only do they provide the Vintage tone I was looking for in spades, but they are articulate, with great separation and beautiful 'punch'. The Parson Streets respond perfectly in different gain situations and pick attacks.

I paid less for this guitar, and these pups than a lower end Epiphone LP, but now have an LP that sounds as good as many Gibson's.

I compared my tone with a friend who has Seymour Duncan JB/59 combo in his top of the line Epi. He was upset that mine with these Parson Street pups sounded better.

The change was best described by someone on a board that listened to before and after clips. I quote, "Its like you shook off a metric ton of mud".

These are not just good value, or a great value. These are just excellent PAF pickups, at any price. The fact that they are also at a very good price is just gray on the potatoes.

Cyber_Mgk  Grayslake, Il
Customer supplied image for review
5 8-03-2011
Excellent upgrade!

Bang for the $$!
Installed a set of these in my '74 SG, Alnico 5 in neck and Alnico 2 in bridge. Rich, woody sound, and sweet without having to crank the amp all the way!
Having tried out quite a lot of pups, I have to say these measure up to the best!

Preben Kobro  Arendal, Norway Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
5 7-24-2011
Very Happy

I am no Pro by any means. I built this Les Paul copy, my first scratch build. I took over a year to finish. I put the Alnico 2 in the neck and Alnico 5 at the bridge. The sound is amazing to me. I have more guitars than I would like to admit, but these are my favorite. These pickups are worth twice what I paid and I have some Gibsons I paid nearly 3 times as much. I would buy these again in a heartbeat.

Mark  Harbor City, CA Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 7-20-2011
Great pickups at a reasonable price

I removed a matched set of DiMarzio humbuckers, and replaced them with Alnico 2 neck and Alnico 5 bridge Golden Age Parsons Street humbuckers. I found the vintage '59 sound that I had been looking foe, without the big price tag of Gibsons.

If you like the bark of a humbucker, with mellow undertones, then you should try these.

Takameanie2LP  Greensboro, NC Read my reviews (2)
5 7-08-2011
Great Value

Nice to be able to order with choice of magnets. For a 335/Dot it would be handy to have another 20 mm of lead on the neck pick up. After chasing "HOT" pick ups, I am realizing it's low resistance sound is what I am looking for.

STriumph  Australia Read my reviews (3)
Displaying 81 – 90 < 1  ...  8  9  10  ...  14 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 46 of our latest catalog.


Golden Age® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce