Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Electronics, pickups : Pickups: Guitar, electric : Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers

Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers


Read 133 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Straight-up raw vintage! Closely modeled after an outstanding vintage P.A.F. set from our own collection. That sweet tone was just too good to keep to ourselves!

See details below

Email a friend
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers

Play video

 
 
With Alnico 2 magnets
   Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
 5408  Neck, Alnico 2, nickel Yes
$62.75

 5416  Bridge, Alnico 2, nickel Yes
$62.75

 5408-S  Neck & bridge, Alnico 2, nickel SAVE $14.55 Yes
$110.95

 5408-G  Neck, Alnico 2, gold Yes
$66.95

 5416-G  Bridge, Alnico 2, gold Yes
$66.95

 5408-GS  Neck & bridge, Alnico 2, gold SAVE $15.40 Yes
$118.50

 
With Alnico 5 magnets
   Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
 5409  Neck, Alnico 5, nickel Yes
$62.75

 5417  Bridge, Alnico 5, nickel Yes
$62.75

 5409-S  Neck & bridge, Alnico 5, nickel SAVE $14.55 Yes
$110.95

 5409-G  Neck, Alnico 5, gold Yes
$66.95

 5417-G  Bridge, Alnico 5, gold Yes
$66.95

 5409-GS  Neck & bridge, Alnico 5, gold SAVE $15.40 Yes
$118.50

 
Mixed neck/bridge Parsons Street sets
   Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
 5416-S  Alnico 5 neck and Alnico 2 bridge, nickel SAVE $14.55 Yes
$110.95

 5416-GS  Alnico 5 neck and Alnico 2 bridge, gold SAVE $15.40 Yes
$118.50

 5417-S  Alnico 2 neck and Alnico 5 bridge, nickel SAVE $14.55 Yes
$110.95

 5417-GS  Alnico 2 neck and Alnico 5 bridge, gold SAVE $15.40 Yes
$118.50


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers with Restoration Covers



Plastic Humbucker Mounting Rings



Humbucker Mounting Ring Screws



Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Arched Bodies



Humbucker Helpers



Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers with Restoration Covers
Plastic Mounting Rings For Humbucking Pickups
Humbucker Mounting Ring Screws
Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Arched Bodies
Humbucker Helpers



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Instructions
True vintage sound.
We christened these exceptional humbuckers in tribute to the famous Kalamazoo address where the holy grail of pickups, the legendary P.A.F. (Patent Applied For), was born.

SAVE on neck and bridge sets!

Just like the originals, the slug coil has more windings than the polepiece coil, and both coils are unpotted. Old P.A.F.s weren't made in separate neck and bridge-position models, and their DC resistance varied from 7-9K ohms. We give you a choice: Parsons Street neck-position pickups are wound to mid 7K, and bridge-position models to low 8K.

Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers sweet vintage tone was crafted to vintage P.A.F. specifications:
• Nickel silver cover for tone transparency
• Original 1.97" (50.04mm) polepiece spacing
• Plain enameled AWG42 coil wire
• Black paper coil tape
• Wood spacer
• Choice of Alnico 2 or Alnico 5 magnet
• Nickel-silver baseplate
• Single-conductor braided shield output wire

Your choice of original-style magnets:
• Alnico 2 for warm tone with smooth highs and a soft bottom response.
• Alnico 5 produces a clear tone with more pronounced highs and a tighter low end.
(Original P.A.F.s contained Alnico 2, 3 and 5 magnets at various times.)

Neck models: mid 7K ohms
Bridge models: low 8K ohms

Dimensions
Length2.75"(69.85mm)
Width1.5"(38.10mm)
Height.840"(21.34mm)including mounting tabs

Height adjustment screws, springs and wiring diagrams included.

Mounting rings and mounting ring screws are available separately.

Handy Humbucker Helpers make installation easy.

Wiring a humbucker to get two sounds
Wiring a humbucker to get two sounds
Wiring a humbucker to get two sounds Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman shows how he modified a Parsons Street Humbucker, turning it into a switchable single-coil/humbucker combination.
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 133 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 111 – 120 < 1  ...  11  12  13  14 >
5 2-22-2011
Great Pickups

I installed a set of Golden Age Parsons St HBs to upgrade an import Hamer guitar I bought for a backup. Now my backup is my No. 1, replacing a Japanese Yamaha LP style w/Duncan Seth Lover pups (no slouches in the tone dept, either)! The pots are stock 500K with an Orange Drop .022 tone Cap. The best part is that the Hamer with these pups sounds great with all my gear including L6 M13, Boss GT-10, Fender SS 22 and Peavey Windsor Studio amp.

The tone is very balanced, not Bass or Treble heavy, with just enough output to stay very clean during chording. I may get a pair to replace my Seths in the Yamaha, no kidding!

Allen B  San Tan Valley, AZ
5 2-09-2011
Big gun

After years of trying pickups, my favorite pickups are the 57' classics. Since i can't get them for lower price, i searched an alternative pickup. This pickups are very similar, i simply can't hear any difference. I like the alnico 5 version, instead of the 2. It's crunchy, well balanced. It really shines. I installed them in my '59 Les Paul replica.

The 5 stars are for the sound and old price. I'm very-very disappointed with the new price, since i can get the 57 classics for the bucks. Maybe, it was my first and the last parson street order.

Mack Guitarworks  Hungary/Europe Read my reviews (11)
Customer supplied image for review
5 2-07-2011
Well worth the wait!

I had to wait because the bridge Alnico 2 PAF Parson's Street Golden Age wasn't available. Installation into a Glen Burton LP style was easy after removing the strings for access. Sound is so much better than the originals and I no longer get a squeal while playing rhythm. The tinny sound I had is gone. The only problem I had was I wish I put some shrink tubing over each shielded lead before soldering them in the control cavity. One of the shields touched the tone control pot and made it work as a volume control. A little electrical tape fixed it.

Barrett's Guitar  Port Orchard, WA
5 1-16-2011
Amazing value for money!

My Epiphone G-1275 has always been a very playable instrument, but at best, it sounded mediocre. The main problem was an imbalance between the pups on the two necks, so I decided (after reading all of the other glowing reviews) to bite the bullet, and replace all 4 pups with these Parsons St versions. I went for the Alnico V at the necks, and Alnico 11 at the bridges.
They have turned it from a very ordinary instrument into a fantastic sounding (and looking) guitar that is going to get a lot of playing from here on. From the first opening bars of "Hotel California", I knew I was on a winner. I also replaced the 18 tuners with Gotoh Keystones (see my review) also purchased from Stew-Mac's.
Thanks guys..... you're on a real winner here.

Yukihyo  Tokyo, Japan. Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-03-2011
Best pickups that I've ever owned

I have favorably used Golden Age humbuckers on two other guitars, but after reading comments about the Parsons Street Humbuckers, I had to try a pair. I was so ever pleased. They gave my guitar which is a Brownsville MB630 the sound that it never had before. I love the way it has improved my guitar and will recommend them to everyone. Thank you for having such great products. Bob Hardison

Robert (Bob) Hardison  Columbia, Tn. Read my reviews (5)
5 12-21-2010
Long legs

These are great. Just a heads up though, they have long legs. Not good for Strats without modding. Too bad I was dying to put it in to compliment my Golden age bridge pickup. My mistake, pickup is great. I may keep it for an import Paul if I buy one.

melodic1  Buffalo, NY Read my reviews (2)
5 12-02-2010
pick ups

Golden Age pick-ups are the best. I'm a Epiphone fan and for $120.00 you can make them sound like a $2600.00 Gibson. Now whats wrong with that?

Ivan Walker  Coker,Al.
5 11-25-2010
Classic Tones For a Classic Price

Hello Everyone: I recently acquired A parsons street humbucker and an overwound humbucker from a friend who couldn't finish a started project. I installed the pickups in a ESP Grassroots les paul, I used a stew mac wiring kit and orange drop capacitors, well let's say the tone is pure classic, the parsons street humbucker sounds like what a PAF should sound like. It sounds like a boutique pickup with out the boutique price.

With the overwound pickup in the bridge position it has that nice "BURST" tone you hear in the late 50's les pauls. I am playing them through a marshall jcm 900 and it has that classic tone. With this setup it sounds like Joe Walsh or the Led Man Jimmy Page. I really want to thank the gang at stew mac for bringing an affordable option to our guitars, especially in this economy at the moment.
Thanks again

George  Hobart, IN Read my reviews (5)
5 11-23-2010
WOW....!!!!!!!

I'd like to thank you for my last order which included an es-175 trapeze a parson st alnico 2 neck pickup and a micro bead pad selection.
> I own an es-175 copy that had been made by the takamine factory as a prototype that never went into production. I was never happy with the feel or sound of the guitar but I knew it had been very well built. I used the micro bead pads to take the over polished lacquer down and to polish out the rough edges on the neck and fretboard. I change the pickup and .......WOW!!!!!! not only has the trapeze given it a better acoustic quality and more sustain the micro bead pad polishing has given it a look that resembles 50 years of polishing and the neck feels amazing. Here's the best bit, the pickup is truly stunning. I've often heard people describe tone as sweet, this pickup for me is not only sweet it's much much more. The high tones are so smooth until you dig in and then it has this cutting vintage blues tone, layoff and you get the sweetest of jazz tones. I can hear the plectrum momentarily scrape across the flat wounds on the lower strings to produce this almost breath like quality just before the sound opens out. A truly beautiful and inspiring tone, that I would be happy to put on any guitar and I've owned some amazing guitars in my 30 years of playing which have included some of the best hand wound pickups in the world.
Archtops that have been made by the likes of Dick knight, the luthier to Pete Townsend , George Harrison and Paul McCartney.... This humble guitar has now become my pride and joy and has inspired me to reach for greater things.
It's also worth mentioning that the previous owner had put one of your ebony bridges on it as well, fantastic, I think I speak for most when I say thank you so much for providing such incredible quality at an attainable price for the not so rich.
Yours
Lance Thomas

tommyUK  ENGLAND
Customer supplied image for review
5 11-12-2010
Parson Street HBs

Great sound, great value. Usually, I don't care too much for the pickups in my guitars. I take whatever my luthier recommends and that's about it. My Heritage Prospect from the Mid-90s was an exception. It's a fantastic little guitar but they shipped it with some dark sounding German pickups. It took me some years and many different pickups until I finally found the Parson Street HBs.

I chose the Alncio 2 version for both neck and bridge position and I couldn't be happier with that. To me it doesn't get any better just more expensive. The picture shows the guitar after the installation featuring the odd-colored (fitting the pickguard color) HB mounting rings from StewMac.

JCG  Hannover, Germany
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 111 – 120 < 1  ...  11  12  13  14 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 46 of our latest catalog.


Golden Age® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce