Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Electronics, pickups : Pickups: Guitar, electric : Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers

Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers


Read 85 Reviews   |   Write a Review

The HOT versions of our classic Golden Age Humbuckers! The same Alnico 5 magnets, but overwound to 12K ohms for high output, powerful midrange and driving tone.

See details below

Email a friend
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5404 Black exposed coils, neck Yes
$46.95

5405 Black exposed coils, bridge Yes
$46.95

5404-S Black exposed coils, neck & bridge SAVE $9.40 Yes
$84.50

Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5404-Z Zebra (cream & black) exposed coils, neck Yes
$46.95

5405-Z Zebra (cream & black) exposed coils, bridge Yes
$46.95

5404-ZS Zebra exposed coils, neck & bridge SAVE $9.40 Yes
$84.50

Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5406 Nickel cover, neck Yes
$56.95

5407 Nickel cover, bridge Yes
$56.95

5406-S Nickel covers, neck & bridge SAVE $11.40 Yes
$102.50

Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5406-G Gold cover, neck Yes
$58.95

5407-G Gold cover, bridge Yes
$58.95

5406-GS Gold covers, neck & bridge SAVE $11.80 Yes
$106.10


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Single-coil Pickup Routing Templates



Humbucker Mounting Ring Screws



Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Arched Bodies



Humbucker Helpers



How to Wire a Gibson Guitar DVD



Single-coil Pickup Routing Templates
Humbucker Mounting Ring Screws
Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Arched Bodies
Humbucker Helpers
How to Wire a Gibson® Guitar DVD



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
SAVE on neck and bridge sets!

The AWG43 coils are wound on black or black/cream (zebra) bobbins, fabric-taped, mounted on a brass baseplate, and wax-potted for microphonic suppression.

The output wire is 4-conductor plus ground, enabling versatile custom coil-tapping, series/parallel, and phase switching options. 12K ohms. Bridge model polepieces have 2.015" spread; neck models have 1.97" spread. Mounting screws, springs and wiring diagrams included.

Inspired by great guitar pickups of the 50s!

Alnico 5 magnets (aluminum/nickel/cobalt) as used in the originals, for classic tone.
Vintage dimensions for easy installation in standard pickguards and bodies.
Wax-potted for microphonic suppression.
Wiring diagrams included with each pickup.

Length: 2.75" (69.85mm)
Width: 1.5" (38.10mm)
Height including mounting tabs, bridge pickup: .840" (21.34mm)



Color-matching Cream Parts and Bindings
There have always been slight variations in the color of the cream plastic parts used on Gibson and other guitars. It's not uncommon to see brand new and vintage guitars with bindings, pickup rings, toggle switch rings and pickguards that don't perfectly match in color. We do our best to match all our cream products, but there's no absolute control from batch to batch, or from supplier to supplier.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 85 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 71 – 80 < 1  ...  7  8  9 >
5 10-29-2010
Golden Age overwound zebra

I put these very nice looking zebra pickups into my Epi Les Paul honeyburst, replacimg the Epi-pickups. They sound very nice, clear,tone got brilliant now compared to the Epi-pickups. Smooth with a nice vintage bluesy crunch, not too hot,and they look very good. Now I love my Honeyburst Les Paul

Murat  Germany
Customer supplied image for review
5 10-23-2010
The first time

Today I think they are very very good !
Thank You StewMac

Antonello  Trieste ITALY Read my reviews (5)
5 10-06-2010
Great Pickups!!

I have installed these pickups on two guitars that I have built and they are fantastic! My guitar friends really are impressed with them and the sustain and smooth clear tone that they produce. Thanks!

dustyhills  St. George, Utah Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 9-25-2010
Hot Humbuckers!

I purchased the overwound Golden Age Zebra neck pickup to replace the neck pickup on one of my Epiphone Les Paul Standards. I have a LOT of guitars to work with, and this one needed more juice than the standard pickups provided. All I can say is this pickup makes the guitar SMOKE. the Epiphone Les Paul was just a back up guitar for me, but with the changed pickups (I also bought a TV Jones Overwound bridge pickup) my Marshall amp screams like it should, with minimum use of distortion and no pedals! I will buy this pick up again and again and again. Cant wait to try the Golden Age overwound Humbucker for the bridge on another guitar! Great job Stew-Mac!

Joe Kralicek

Joe Kralicek  Plano Illinois Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 9-22-2010
really great sound

My poor guitar background more than my poor English words wont be able to explain how good this humbucker sounds. Great, warm, powerful and rich tone. I play it on neck position of a DIY Squier Teleaster, through a VOX AC4TV. The sound is amazing. I love blues/early rock and this pickup is just perfect for that kind of music. I also setup a coil split for more clear tone on the neck position. Rich, powerful, bluesy as you need and inexpensive.

rohmer william  france
Customer supplied image for review
5 9-15-2010
Glad I bought them!

I put these in my PRS SE Custom, and now its perfect. The overwound in the bridge and the regular in the neck gives me everything I was looking for and more. You'll love em', very vintage sounding.

Slick  Robert Lee, Texas Read my reviews (2)
5 9-08-2010
Excellent for the price

I put a set of these pick-ups in my Epi Les Paul. I have the hot for the bridge and the regular for the neck. I can't believe how the guitar came alive. Excellent buy. I also put and push pull pot into the mix and I have no problem finding the tone I'm looking for.

Todd  Winnipeg Manitoba Read my reviews (9)
5 8-29-2010
Better than I thought they would be!

Replaced my Gibson SG stock pick ups with these. The multiple leads allowed me to use the six speed Wonder switch to split these for the ultimate tonal variety. These over wounds sound exceptionally well on the thin body SG as they don't need a ton of wood to give them drive. They can be made to overdrive quickly with .03-.05caps or darkened a bit with .047's I used 500K pots and .047s as i found the .05 caps when the buckers were split single coil, ear drum shredding! I have spent hundreds on Lollars, Duncans and Fralins and never been this happy. However the front pickup leads tend to be a bit short and are not labeled which can confuse you when you get down to business, well it was for me anyway.

CenlaCitizen  LA
5 8-23-2010
Golden Age Delivers-- Again.

Hot, but not so hot it doesn't sound great clean. Great classic, mature tone like all of the other Golden Age humbuckers I've installed in my instruments, but with that extra output that I needed to balance-out the bridge pickup role of a particularly quiet Gibson-style solidbody instrument-- These pickups sound like they were made for whatever I install them into.

t1pstn  Brick, NJ Read my reviews (4)
5 8-11-2010
5405 Pickup

So far so good using this pickup on latest project and only just having completed it initial indications are excellent fitting and wiring went smoothly using the supplied hardware and instructions. Sound wise it can easily be compared to other humbuckers that cost 3 times the price.

Jimbo  Australia
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 71 – 80 < 1  ...  7  8  9 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 45 of our latest catalog.


Golden Age® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce