Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Electronics, pickups : Pickups: Guitar, electric : Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers

Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers


Read 85 Reviews   |   Write a Review

The HOT versions of our classic Golden Age Humbuckers! The same Alnico 5 magnets, but overwound to 12K ohms for high output, powerful midrange and driving tone.

See details below

Email a friend
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5404 Black exposed coils, neck Yes
$46.95

5405 Black exposed coils, bridge Yes
$46.95

5404-S Black exposed coils, neck & bridge SAVE $9.40 Yes
$84.50

Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5404-Z Zebra (cream & black) exposed coils, neck Yes
$46.95

5405-Z Zebra (cream & black) exposed coils, bridge Yes
$46.95

5404-ZS Zebra exposed coils, neck & bridge SAVE $9.40 Yes
$84.50

Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5406 Nickel cover, neck Yes
$56.95

5407 Nickel cover, bridge Yes
$56.95

5406-S Nickel covers, neck & bridge SAVE $11.40 Yes
$102.50

Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5406-G Gold cover, neck Yes
$58.95

5407-G Gold cover, bridge Yes
$58.95

5406-GS Gold covers, neck & bridge SAVE $11.80 Yes
$106.10


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Single-coil Pickup Routing Templates



Humbucker Mounting Ring Screws



Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Arched Bodies



Humbucker Helpers



How to Wire a Gibson Guitar DVD



Single-coil Pickup Routing Templates
Humbucker Mounting Ring Screws
Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Arched Bodies
Humbucker Helpers
How to Wire a Gibson® Guitar DVD



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
SAVE on neck and bridge sets!

The AWG43 coils are wound on black or black/cream (zebra) bobbins, fabric-taped, mounted on a brass baseplate, and wax-potted for microphonic suppression.

The output wire is 4-conductor plus ground, enabling versatile custom coil-tapping, series/parallel, and phase switching options. 12K ohms. Bridge model polepieces have 2.015" spread; neck models have 1.97" spread. Mounting screws, springs and wiring diagrams included.

Inspired by great guitar pickups of the 50s!

Alnico 5 magnets (aluminum/nickel/cobalt) as used in the originals, for classic tone.
Vintage dimensions for easy installation in standard pickguards and bodies.
Wax-potted for microphonic suppression.
Wiring diagrams included with each pickup.

Length: 2.75" (69.85mm)
Width: 1.5" (38.10mm)
Height including mounting tabs, bridge pickup: .840" (21.34mm)



Color-matching Cream Parts and Bindings
There have always been slight variations in the color of the cream plastic parts used on Gibson and other guitars. It's not uncommon to see brand new and vintage guitars with bindings, pickup rings, toggle switch rings and pickguards that don't perfectly match in color. We do our best to match all our cream products, but there's no absolute control from batch to batch, or from supplier to supplier.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 85 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  9 >
5 7-11-2012
Impressed!!!

I recently re-wired my Takamine GZ300(thanks StewMac)after it was in storage for 15 years. The pickups sounded tired so after pricing out a matched set of "Name Brand" pickups, I chose the zebra overwounds to replace them. All I can say is WOW!!! These really deliver. Bridge pickup has has midrange punch while the neck just sustains for days. Awesome pups

Eric P  Ft Lauderdale, Fl.
5 7-09-2012
Best BH i ever heard !

I put them with a modified Jimmy Page wiring, a tone cap selector (.022 or .047) on the neck side and a treble bleed on the bridge side. All pots are push-pull. I never heard a tone like this, i obtain ALL guitars in ONE and the Golden Age Owerwound Pickups are the best ones i have installed. See the pic, this is "The Drop", my latest build. Thanks to Stewart MacDonald !!!

Valerio Antonelli  Ladispoli (RM), Italy Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 7-04-2012
Great Tone

Upon installation I was blown away at the tone from these 'buckers. Wiring instructions took the challenge out of soldering them up. Top notch product. Now, I just need to replace the pickups on my other electric guitars.

Omar Dickenson  Golden, Colorado
3 6-21-2012
Pretty good for the price

Not a bad pickup considering the price but don't expect the same tone and quality from pickups costing more. I ultimately returned them. Just remember: you get what you pay for.

Suhr3825  CA Read my reviews (44)
3 5-23-2012
good pickups bad matching

I wasn't sure what to expect when a customer asked for a set of these in his SG. They arrived in 2 days. Well made and solid. The bridge measured 11.74k, and the neck was a full 12.28k. Unfortunately, they should have been reversed. The neck pickup completely overpowered the bridge. Waiting for an exchange at the moment. They don't sound bad for the money. You get what you pay for.

Eddie64  Morgantown WV Read my reviews (2)
5 5-05-2012
YES YES YES

These are great pickups. Much better than I expected. Meaty but not muddy, and just bright enough with a 250k pot for tone in a basswood body. Harmonics are easy and all strings are balanced. The overwound works GREAT with the Golden Age Vintage (8k) neck pickup which I also have installed in this guitar. What can I say? As good as most other pickups out there costing a lot more money. Not a metalheads pickup but can do anything up to hard rock easily and convincingly.. I put these in a beat thrown together guitar that I built from parts. I will buy these again for the next project guitar.

Nathan K  NC Read my reviews (18)
5 4-10-2012
true tone

I use Golden Age humbuckers exclusively in my custom builds. i have tried all the top names, and continually Golden Age pickups are the only humbuckers that hear and reproduce all the subtle nuances and harmonics that occur when beautiful wood is turned into a musical instrument. I use them on all my builds.Truly an excellent pickup.I just finished the guitar in this photo for a client. A Gregory 512c with Golden Age overwound alnico 5

Nick Gregory  vermont Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
5 4-09-2012
parson street

Well I had a set of pearly gates in my SG I replaced the neck pickup with an alnico 5 parson street humbucker.I new right away that the PG cannot compete it didn't have the clear full sound as the Parson street does.then I put a alnico 2 parson street bridge pickup in with the pearly gates neck ,once again it could not hang with the parson street.I am blown away at how good these pickups sound best money I ever spent on a set of pickup's they put the pearly gates to shame.I am going to put a set in my Les Paul I cant wait to here it.Stewart Mac really hit a home run with these pickups thanks guys

mammoth sound  clemmons n.c. usa
5 4-04-2012
Great Pickups

I recently replaced the stock pick ups on my 2004 Washburn HB35, with the Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers. In addition, I also replaced the stock 250k pots, with 500k. The tone and clarity are amazing. I have a band mate that has a 1977 Gibson ES 335, and the tone is so close, it made him sick. I've been playing guitar for over 45 years, and it's all about the tone. Thanks for making these available.

Don Kliewer  San Diego, Ca
3 3-30-2012
Golden Age

humbucker pick-ups were ok. The bridge pick up is absolutley fantastic but I'm disappointed in the neck. It's very bassy and lacks the tonal quality I was looking for in a neck pick-up. I will try a few other capacitors to brighten it up a bit. On another note, the Golden Age Tele pick-ups are as good as anyone can get it. They actually sound better in my nocaster build than that of a road worn '51 nocaster from Fender.

Schwagdog  Pennsylvania Read my reviews (9)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  9 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 45 of our latest catalog.


Golden Age® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce