Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Electronics, pickups : Pickups: Guitar, electric : Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers

Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers


Read 85 Reviews   |   Write a Review

The HOT versions of our classic Golden Age Humbuckers! The same Alnico 5 magnets, but overwound to 12K ohms for high output, powerful midrange and driving tone.

See details below

Email a friend
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5404 Black exposed coils, neck Yes
$46.95

5405 Black exposed coils, bridge Yes
$46.95

5404-S Black exposed coils, neck & bridge SAVE $9.40 Yes
$84.50

Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5404-Z Zebra (cream & black) exposed coils, neck Yes
$46.95

5405-Z Zebra (cream & black) exposed coils, bridge Yes
$46.95

5404-ZS Zebra exposed coils, neck & bridge SAVE $9.40 Yes
$84.50

Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5406 Nickel cover, neck Yes
$56.95

5407 Nickel cover, bridge Yes
$56.95

5406-S Nickel covers, neck & bridge SAVE $11.40 Yes
$102.50

Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5406-G Gold cover, neck Yes
$58.95

5407-G Gold cover, bridge Yes
$58.95

5406-GS Gold covers, neck & bridge SAVE $11.80 Yes
$106.10


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Single-coil Pickup Routing Templates



Humbucker Mounting Ring Screws



Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Arched Bodies



Humbucker Helpers



How to Wire a Gibson Guitar DVD



Single-coil Pickup Routing Templates
Humbucker Mounting Ring Screws
Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Arched Bodies
Humbucker Helpers
How to Wire a Gibson® Guitar DVD



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
SAVE on neck and bridge sets!

The AWG43 coils are wound on black or black/cream (zebra) bobbins, fabric-taped, mounted on a brass baseplate, and wax-potted for microphonic suppression.

The output wire is 4-conductor plus ground, enabling versatile custom coil-tapping, series/parallel, and phase switching options. 12K ohms. Bridge model polepieces have 2.015" spread; neck models have 1.97" spread. Mounting screws, springs and wiring diagrams included.

Inspired by great guitar pickups of the 50s!

Alnico 5 magnets (aluminum/nickel/cobalt) as used in the originals, for classic tone.
Vintage dimensions for easy installation in standard pickguards and bodies.
Wax-potted for microphonic suppression.
Wiring diagrams included with each pickup.

Length: 2.75" (69.85mm)
Width: 1.5" (38.10mm)
Height including mounting tabs, bridge pickup: .840" (21.34mm)



Color-matching Cream Parts and Bindings
There have always been slight variations in the color of the cream plastic parts used on Gibson and other guitars. It's not uncommon to see brand new and vintage guitars with bindings, pickup rings, toggle switch rings and pickguards that don't perfectly match in color. We do our best to match all our cream products, but there's no absolute control from batch to batch, or from supplier to supplier.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 85 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  9 >
5 6-05-2013
unreal!

I used a set of the nickel covered on a custom build, just one bridge and it sings in a way I wasn't even ready for. Beyond stoked!

Milagra Dulce' Guitar works  Oregon Read my reviews (13)
5 4-21-2013
Buckers

Great sultry sound for blues and Jazz!

RickM  Frederick, MD Read my reviews (23)
5 3-30-2013
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers

I recently upgraded my 99' Les Paul Studio. I selected the Jimmy Page upgrade (I was disappointed in that, it wasn't both pups tapped, but after I had the new Golden Age pickups in, I didn't need it. I wasn't going to initially even put them in as, I just wasn't comfortable with non-Gibson pups. As a last minute, "what the hell" I put them in. The best sound (other than the P-90s In my other guitar) I've ever had on my Gibbies, Hands down, what a great tone. The guitar roars.

SKULLTOWER  New York, NY Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
5 2-01-2013
I'm getting another set to replace my other les Paul's

I have a 99' Gibson LP that was collecting dust. My friend Frank in Long Island put em in. They sound better than every pickup I own.

SKULLTOWER  New York, NY Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-10-2013
Good product for the money

Good product. I've put them in a number of custom builds and also customer's guitars. This order was for a client who listened to the pictured custom and wanted a neck pup for her guitar. It bench tested at 11.88k and with a cap switch from the existing old one sounded great! Happy customers come back!

PST Guitars  King George, VA Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-06-2013
Great Product

Ordered an overwound for the bridge, regular wound for the neck. As stated, the bridge came in at 11.97 on my meter, the neck at 7.90. These went into the shown Warmoth '72 Thinline body. Very versatile pups. Have a Orange Drop .022 cap on them. Bridge cleans up nice when volume lowered. Neck very articulate, even with some overdrive. Great set up. Picks up a very woody sound from the semi-hollow body. For the price I'd put them up against any other manufacturer. Very pleased indeed.

Chas P.  Kalamazoo, MI
Customer supplied image for review
4 12-30-2012
Good value

I bought a pair of these over wound babies to upgrade a cheapy Epiphone. They sound a mile better than the Epis - far more output and clarity. Next to Gibson Burstbuckers they sound (to me- cos sound is subjective) a tad brighter and easier to push the amp into overdrive.

GraemeSP  UAE Read my reviews (5)
4 12-19-2012
Golden Age Humbuckers

By request from several customers, I have been using these as an economical choice for pickups. I found them to be instantly pleasing to my ear and for the price you can't go wrong. Fantastic vintage vibe.

Darin E  Bucyrus,OH
Customer supplied image for review
5 11-27-2012
Great

They have become my regular pick ups when it's about customizing guitars. Great price, great tone. I play some metal stuff and it works for me.

Efrén Camilo  Mexico Read my reviews (5)
5 9-08-2012
Hot Zebras

I bought the Golden Age Overwound pickups to replace the stock Seymour Duncan pups that came in my Fender FMT HH Telecaster. The Duncans sounded good, but these sound great! They clean up well when rolling off the volume knob and have loads of gain at full volume. Not too muddy and not too thin, perfect for the tone I'm after. I read a review about these where they were dissatisfied with the flat sheen on the covers, but I prefer this look over the glossy plastic, and in the zebra colors they look amazing. These arrived to California in just a few days even by standard ground shipping, so great job to StewMac for fast shipping! The only complaint here would be the installation instructions were a little vague... especially in regard to wiring for a push/pull coil tap, so I went online to find a better wiring diagram. Overall, couldn't be happier with my purchase.

mockingdelilah  Union City, CA 94587
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  9 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 45 of our latest catalog.


Golden Age® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce