Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Electronics, pickups : Pickups: Guitar, electric : Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers

Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers


Read 85 Reviews   |   Write a Review

The HOT versions of our classic Golden Age Humbuckers! The same Alnico 5 magnets, but overwound to 12K ohms for high output, powerful midrange and driving tone.

See details below

Email a friend
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5404 Black exposed coils, neck Yes
$46.95

5405 Black exposed coils, bridge Yes
$46.95

5404-S Black exposed coils, neck & bridge SAVE $9.40 Yes
$84.50

Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5404-Z Zebra (cream & black) exposed coils, neck Yes
$46.95

5405-Z Zebra (cream & black) exposed coils, bridge Yes
$46.95

5404-ZS Zebra exposed coils, neck & bridge SAVE $9.40 Yes
$84.50

Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5406 Nickel cover, neck Yes
$56.95

5407 Nickel cover, bridge Yes
$56.95

5406-S Nickel covers, neck & bridge SAVE $11.40 Yes
$102.50

Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5406-G Gold cover, neck Yes
$58.95

5407-G Gold cover, bridge Yes
$58.95

5406-GS Gold covers, neck & bridge SAVE $11.80 Yes
$106.10


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Single-coil Pickup Routing Templates



Humbucker Mounting Ring Screws



Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Arched Bodies



Humbucker Helpers



How to Wire a Gibson Guitar DVD



Single-coil Pickup Routing Templates
Humbucker Mounting Ring Screws
Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Arched Bodies
Humbucker Helpers
How to Wire a Gibson® Guitar DVD



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
SAVE on neck and bridge sets!

The AWG43 coils are wound on black or black/cream (zebra) bobbins, fabric-taped, mounted on a brass baseplate, and wax-potted for microphonic suppression.

The output wire is 4-conductor plus ground, enabling versatile custom coil-tapping, series/parallel, and phase switching options. 12K ohms. Bridge model polepieces have 2.015" spread; neck models have 1.97" spread. Mounting screws, springs and wiring diagrams included.

Inspired by great guitar pickups of the 50s!

Alnico 5 magnets (aluminum/nickel/cobalt) as used in the originals, for classic tone.
Vintage dimensions for easy installation in standard pickguards and bodies.
Wax-potted for microphonic suppression.
Wiring diagrams included with each pickup.

Length: 2.75" (69.85mm)
Width: 1.5" (38.10mm)
Height including mounting tabs, bridge pickup: .840" (21.34mm)



Color-matching Cream Parts and Bindings
There have always been slight variations in the color of the cream plastic parts used on Gibson and other guitars. It's not uncommon to see brand new and vintage guitars with bindings, pickup rings, toggle switch rings and pickguards that don't perfectly match in color. We do our best to match all our cream products, but there's no absolute control from batch to batch, or from supplier to supplier.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 85 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 61 – 70 < 1  ...  6  7  8  9 >
5 3-08-2011
DELICIOUS

I recently picked up an overwound bridge & standard neck set of Golden Age humbuckers for my 1960 Gibson LP RI. The balance across the tonal spectrum is fantastic. No "boomy" or "woofy" sounds when using the neck pickup—more than enough sizzle, sparkle & snap in the bridge. The sound blossoms & blooms out of your speaker cabinet when strumming open chords yet don't shy away from an intensified pick attack when plucking individual notes.

The neck pickup just might be the best vintage sounding neck pickup I've ever played…I’ve always preferred the sound of bridge humbuckers. For the monetary investment, the value here is unsurpassed. I currently have a set of WCR humbuckers in my PRS Tremonti SE which sound great—but with regard to VALUE, the Golden Age series sound PHENOMENAL. When I open up my Marshall JTM45, they ring forever...ESPECIALLY that overwound bridge (MOMMA!). These pickups are what Dimarzio was trying to pull off with the PAF Pro models, which I used in my PRS prior to installing the WCRs. They're wax potted, too, so if you dig on that PAF-sounding vintage tone you can get it here without the wonderful microphonic squeal of period-correct PAFs. I'm going to replace the WCR in the neck of my PRS with another standard Golden Age neck model.

Without question, the Golden Age products are the best $115 (that's WITH S&H) I've ever spent on guitar pickups. PERIOD. :-)

Chuck - Tone Disciple  Overland Park, KS
Customer supplied image for review
5 2-28-2011
Love 'em!

Dropped a pair into my '74 SG - gold covered at the neck, zebra at the bridge. Couldn't be happier! Certainly as good as anything Gib$on has put in their guitars for the last 40 years.

MRK  Dubuquem IA Read my reviews (2)
3 2-25-2011
Decent but not sure they are right for me

I installed these on a Schecter C1 Diamond Series, and am currently playing through an Egnater Rebel 30 Combo. These are good pickups, but not sure they are right for me. The bridge pickup doesn't have the highs that I'm looking for, unless I set the treble to almost 10, and increase the gain. Pretty certain its not the amp - I've played around with the settings on it and still can't get the tone I'm looking for. Note - these are 4 conductor, and I currently have them set up to split coil. I am going to modify the wiring to straight humbuckers to see if that helps.

I know very little about guitar wiring, so I don't know if that will make a difference. I may also change the tone capacitor. Stewart Mac has great stuff - I may have just made the wrong selection for my guitar.

rf  Atl, Ga USA Read my reviews (3)
5 1-31-2011
hot sounding pups!

I bought a set of these overwound p'ups and a set of Schaller M-6 Guitar Machines for a cheap 'series ten' L.P. copy I bought at a pawn shop. These 'buckers really make this guitar sound awesome!The tuners are great too. I can ignore this guitar for months at a time while i play my epi. When i go back to it, its still in tune and it blows me away how raw this thing sounds with just a little gain! It's like i spent way more than i have invested! I will always spend my money with stewmac!

tvicena  tulsa,oklahoma
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-15-2011
great

pickups sound absolutely amazing.

johnnyx  farmington, pa Read my reviews (2)
5 1-06-2011
Great PUPs

These PUPs are great. I've used the overwounds in three builds with very good results. I coil-cut both PUPs in one build and can really get some pretty good single-coil sounds. Uncut, the tone is smooth and somewhat thick, but it fits my preferences well. These PUPs compete very well with some of the overpriced "name brands" that are commonly sold.

Everett  Alachua, Florida Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
5 12-26-2010
Hot little Pickups

I installed a neck and bridge Golden Age Overwound on a 3 pickup guitar (single coil middle). I coil cut the neck and left the bridge as a humbucker. Also added a switch to turn the neck pickup on to make more pickup combination options. The guitar also has a 5-way Strat style switch. This way I can get the neck and bridge pickup on together for that "fat" sound. I am ecstatic over the sound.

The pickups are warm, but with enough edge they sound good with a high gain amp. They sound great for blues, rock and country. I did have the bridge pickup coil cut, but agree with the another reviewer that this sounded thin. But, coil cutting the neck and pairing that with the bridge humbucker, I get a nice country/rock sound. They are well worth the price and I would definitely recommend them to anyone looking to upgrade their axe.

nwalton  Virginia
5 12-19-2010
Nice 'n' Krunchy

To my ears, these pickups are tonally identical to some of the most sought after pickups out there. I put them on a Washburn Idol guitar and that sure phattened up the sound. They respond well to pick attack and give that rounded sound that was missing with the stock Korean made pickups. Just for fun, I tried them coil tapped and found them to be pretty thin sounding in that configuration, but that's not what I wanted them for anyway. Overall, well worth the money paid.

Moe  Potlatch, ID
5 11-26-2010
Nice Hot Bridge Pickup

I bought this (and the standard wind) for an Epiphone G-400 SG. The original pickups, whilst not bad, tended toward the muddy end, lacking definition.

The pickup fit the rout and mounting ring perfectly, and the resulting sound when the guitar was buttoned up and re-strung is thick, yet with definition. It responds (at lower amp gains) extremely well to pick attack, and is very expressive. Backing off the volume brings a little sparkle back into the sound, just as it should. It does have a thicker sound than its standard-wind neck equivalent, but that was expected.

Just one caveat for those who might have the same guitar: the cable channel from the bridge pickup rout to the control cavity on my guitar was too small for the cables of two pickups to pass through. The hole had to be reamed out before they would pass through. That's the fault of the guitar, not the pickups.

I am *very* happy with this pickup - it's made the guitar fun to play again :).

John Laidlaw  Wisconsin Read my reviews (2)
5 11-25-2010
big sound

I replaced the bridge pickup on my Epiphone lespaul with this overwound pickup and it sounds fantastic. Powerful and full of tone.

louis  Quebec Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 61 – 70 < 1  ...  6  7  8  9 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 45 of our latest catalog.


Golden Age® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce