Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Electronics, pickups : Pickups: Guitar, electric : Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers

Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers


Read 85 Reviews   |   Write a Review

The HOT versions of our classic Golden Age Humbuckers! The same Alnico 5 magnets, but overwound to 12K ohms for high output, powerful midrange and driving tone.

See details below

Email a friend
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5404 Black exposed coils, neck Yes
$46.95

5405 Black exposed coils, bridge Yes
$46.95

5404-S Black exposed coils, neck & bridge SAVE $9.40 Yes
$84.50

Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5404-Z Zebra (cream & black) exposed coils, neck Yes
$46.95

5405-Z Zebra (cream & black) exposed coils, bridge Yes
$46.95

5404-ZS Zebra exposed coils, neck & bridge SAVE $9.40 Yes
$84.50

Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5406 Nickel cover, neck Yes
$56.95

5407 Nickel cover, bridge Yes
$56.95

5406-S Nickel covers, neck & bridge SAVE $11.40 Yes
$102.50

Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5406-G Gold cover, neck Yes
$58.95

5407-G Gold cover, bridge Yes
$58.95

5406-GS Gold covers, neck & bridge SAVE $11.80 Yes
$106.10


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Single-coil Pickup Routing Templates



Humbucker Mounting Ring Screws



Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Arched Bodies



Humbucker Helpers



How to Wire a Gibson Guitar DVD



Single-coil Pickup Routing Templates
Humbucker Mounting Ring Screws
Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Arched Bodies
Humbucker Helpers
How to Wire a Gibson® Guitar DVD



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
SAVE on neck and bridge sets!

The AWG43 coils are wound on black or black/cream (zebra) bobbins, fabric-taped, mounted on a brass baseplate, and wax-potted for microphonic suppression.

The output wire is 4-conductor plus ground, enabling versatile custom coil-tapping, series/parallel, and phase switching options. 12K ohms. Bridge model polepieces have 2.015" spread; neck models have 1.97" spread. Mounting screws, springs and wiring diagrams included.

Inspired by great guitar pickups of the 50s!

Alnico 5 magnets (aluminum/nickel/cobalt) as used in the originals, for classic tone.
Vintage dimensions for easy installation in standard pickguards and bodies.
Wax-potted for microphonic suppression.
Wiring diagrams included with each pickup.

Length: 2.75" (69.85mm)
Width: 1.5" (38.10mm)
Height including mounting tabs, bridge pickup: .840" (21.34mm)



Color-matching Cream Parts and Bindings
There have always been slight variations in the color of the cream plastic parts used on Gibson and other guitars. It's not uncommon to see brand new and vintage guitars with bindings, pickup rings, toggle switch rings and pickguards that don't perfectly match in color. We do our best to match all our cream products, but there's no absolute control from batch to batch, or from supplier to supplier.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 85 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5  ...  9 >
5 3-23-2012
GREAT!!!

Great sound, fantastic pick up, you truly are a serious company, thanks! Ciao from Italy!!!

JUNX78  Lentini SR Italy
5 2-27-2012
Pleasantly surprised

I ordered this pick up, bridge position, for a cheap ES335 copy. I put it in a few days ago and I quickly realized how nice it really sounds. Very clear when you play it clean and it has a very nice crunch when played with overdrive. I think it sounds better than the expensive pick up that I have in my Les Paul. The GA Overwound really made my inexpensive guitar come alive. I will deffinately order this product again.

Dogman909  Galt, CA Read my reviews (3)
5 2-13-2012
Very, very good pickups!

Warm and powerful yet with a clear top end bite. As good as any humbucker out there especially considering the price!

Rick Harrison  South Australia Read my reviews (9)
5 2-03-2012
J'aime...

Exellents micros, polyvalents....il y a certainement aussi bien, peut etre mieux...mais certainement bien plus cher.

Fred Mai  Nice, France Read my reviews (7)
5 12-03-2011
Awesome

Teamed these up on my "lefty" Tele with an EMG afterburner, and a 5 way Megaswitch. (Had to buy the humbucker hard tail bridge and the stacked concentric pots elsewhere, new products for STEWMAC?) Could not be happier with the awesome range of tones and volume I can get out of it.

Ian Verner  Sydney, Australia Read my reviews (20)
Customer supplied image for review
5 11-09-2011
Very Impressed!!!

I bought one of these on a whim and ... Wow it was a good choice! I have been hooked on the more expensive "SD" that are similar in specs to this pickup & love them - still do. However when I tried one of these I was blown away at the Power, Clarity and over all responsiveness of this pickup! It is every bit as Clear & Articulate as the "SD". I simply love it! And to make sure it was not a fluke I purchased a second for another guitar (LP style I'm upgrading) and it was not a fluke!

I'm happy to say the 2nd pick was every bit as good as the first. Sometime these less expensive models are flat & lack the clarity & punch of the well made "SD" models, but these are Note For Note with the similar models from the big boys!!! My ONLY complaint is that the bobbins are Matte finish & not shiny - Make them Shiny and you could put any name on them because they are as good as any pickup on the market! And I'm a confessed 30 yr. Tone Freak and have tinkered, changed magnets, rewound & even built my own pickups but not any more - can't beat these at the price!!! I'm hooked!!!

Lee M  Northern Neck, VA Read my reviews (4)
5 10-15-2011
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers

I rebuilt my old Les Paul Custom clone and after reseaching all the name brand pickups I settled on these. I chose them based partly on StewMac's reputation for quality and partly because I wanted that vintage sound. These pickups TOTALLY blew me away. They are very hot, responsive and clean. They have all that vintage tone as well as being able to rock in any style. Then add to that they're very reasonably priced and backed by StewMac, you just can't go wrong.
Installation was a snap, though I would have liked the leads on the bridge pickup to have been longer. I used the existing wire channels in the guitar body and if they were placed as the should have been this would not have been a problem. The wiring diagrams were clear and easy to read.
I would say that if you are looking for that nice fat Les Paul tone, you should definitely consider these. They have it all, great tone, top quality, great price!

PRBGuitar  Winters, CA
5 10-07-2011
Unbelievable!

In these days of recession it's always good to know that a dollar goes a long stretch at Stew-Mac. I ordered a set of overwound humbuckers w/covers for an Epi SG Special I was refurbishing. The installation was a bit tricky as I couldn't find a wiring diagram for the Special type guitars (even @ the website) so I winged it. Fit was good after grinding the excess poly from the body cavity tops. The look was fantastic and the sound...I have always wanted my SG to sound like this! It's been said already, but I've paid alot more for pickups & have never been anywhere near this tickled. Can't wait to try some PAFs!

Kenneth Hall  Brevard, NC
5 9-24-2011
Golden Age overwounds

I've found the sound that I was looking for!

Nissan Hayun  Israel Read my reviews (22)
5 9-14-2011
Sublime tone

I researched for months to find a
Humbucker that when split would give a true single coil tone without diminishing the overall tone. I took a calculated guess that these pickups would fill the bill and did they exceed my expectations in spades.
I've been playing for over 35 years and have bought and used all the top brand names. I would put these bargain pickups up against any pickup out there. On a solid Ash body with a bolt on neck project guitar they simply slay!
I am planning on putting up a tutorial of the build on the Strat guitar forum soon.

Mark Webber  Seattle, WA. Read my reviews (3)
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5  ...  9 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 45 of our latest catalog.


Golden Age® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce