Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Electronics, pickups : Pickups: Guitar, electric : Golden Age Humbuckers

Golden Age Humbuckers


Read 92 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Vintage vibe, great price. Wake up your guitar! For authentic classic tone, Golden Age humbuckers feature Alnico 5 magnets and AWG42 coil wire just like the originals.

See details below

Email a friend
Golden Age Humbuckers
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5400 Black exposed coils, neck Yes
$46.95

5401 Black exposed coils, bridge Yes
$46.95

5400-S Black exposed coils, neck & bridge SAVE $9.40 Yes
$84.50

Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5400-Z Zebra (cream & black) exposed coils, neck Yes
$46.95

5401-Z Zebra (cream & black) exposed coils, bridge Yes
$46.95

5400-ZS Zebra exposed coils, neck & bridge SAVE $9.40 Yes
$84.50

Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5402 Nickel cover, neck Yes
$56.95

5403 Nickel cover, bridge Yes
$56.95

5402-S Nickel covers, neck & bridge SAVE $11.40 Yes
$102.50

Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5402-G Gold cover, neck Yes
$58.95

5403-G Gold cover, bridge Yes
$58.95

5402-GS Gold covers, neck & bridge SAVE $11.80 Yes
$106.10


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers



Humbucker Helpers



How to Wire a Gibson Guitar DVD



Wiring Kit for Gibson Les Paul Guitar



Wiring Kit for Gibson SG



Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
Humbucker Helpers
How to Wire a Gibson® Guitar DVD
Wiring Kit for Gibson® Les Paul® Guitar
Wiring Kit for Gibson® SG®



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
Also available with nickel or gold covers. Save on neck and bridge sets!

Inspired by legendary pickups of the '50s.
Alnico 5 magnets give that warm classic tone. AWG42 coils are wound on black or zebra bobbins, fabric-taped, mounted on a brass baseplate, and wax-potted for microphonic suppression. The output wire is 4-conductor plus ground, allowing versatile custom coil-tapping, series/parallel, and phase switching options to expand your sound.

Wiring diagrams and vintage dimensions make installation in most humbucker-equipped guitars easy.

Bridge models:9.0K ohms, 2.015" polepiece spread
Neck models:8.0K ohms, 1.97" polepiece spread

All models have black or black/cream (zebra) bobbins with fabric-taped coils on a brass baseplate. Mounting screws, springs and wiring diagrams are included.

Dimensions
Length2.75"(69.85mm)
Width1.5"(38.10mm)
Height.840"(21.34mm)including mounting tabs

Looking for hotter output with more powerful midrange? Check out Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers.

TIP: Handy Humbucker Helpers make installation a whole lot easier.

Color-matching Cream Parts and Bindings
There have always been slight variations in the color of the cream plastic parts used on Gibson and other guitars. It's not uncommon to see brand new and vintage guitars with bindings, pickup rings, toggle switch rings and pickguards that don't perfectly match in color. We do our best to match all our cream products, but there's no absolute control from batch to batch, or from supplier to supplier.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Golden Age Humbuckers
Golden Age Humbuckers
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 92 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 81 – 90 < 1  ...  8  9  10 >
5 9-08-2010
Excellent

This was a much better pick up than the original one in my Epi Les Paul. The original was flabby, muddy and undefined. This one is clear and has a great tone. I also purchased the hot version for the bridge pick up and they make a great combo.

Todd  Winnipeg Manitoba Read my reviews (9)
5 9-05-2010
Golden Age Pickups and the Ibanez SZ 720

i just installed a set of golden age pickups in a Ibanez SZ 720 guitar and this gave it a true classic tone compared to a old style set neck guitar like a Gibson. Thank you StewMac.for a wonderful product.

gutone  canton,ms usa Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
5 9-04-2010
Not just "good for the price"

To date, I've installed a set of these in an Ibanez semi-hollow and an overwound in the bridge of an Ibanez Artist. I'll try to be objectionable and mention both pros and cons of these pickups, to be honest, I can't think of any cons. They are legitimately good pickups. Very clear, warm and balanced. At one point or another, I've used Dimarzio PAF Classics, Ibanez Super 80's, a JB, an SD '59, Ibanez Super 58's...honestly, Stewmacs pickups will hold their own against all of those at half the price. As for cons, at the time I bought mine, they only came in a three wire version, but it looks like they now offer four. The bobbins also have a flat/textured finish to them, unlike other pickups which have a smooth finish. That's really nitpicking though. Most people probably look at these as "budget" pickups, but they're not. They are pro quality pickups. They just have a budget price.

J.  WV
5 8-19-2010
WOW

Half the price of most other humbuckers and they still sound awesome! I have them wired with a coil tap and I am amazed at the sounds they produce. If you buy more expensive pickups you are just wasting money. I will use these pickups again and again.

Barry Dudley  Frederick, MD
5 8-15-2010
Golden Age a fine product

I just had a golden age bridge pickup
installed in a 1939 Dickerson lap steel and WOW! this guitar is alive now, I can't believe the sound it get's. Great pickup!

mgaskill182  redmond, or
5 8-14-2010
Golden Age P.U.'s

Installed a set of G.A. P.U.'s in one of my guitars last night. [ Ibanez 102-awg ]
There is a marked improvement in the sound quality , overall.
Will be ordering another set for my other axe at a latter date.
Cost to Quality ratio is second to none for these pick-ups.
Thanks Stew-Mac !!!

David G. Holland  Sydney, N.S. , Canada
Customer supplied image for review
5 7-28-2010
Excellent upgrade pickup for inexpensive guitars.

I can't say enough great things about Golden Age pickups. They are easily the best bang for your buck in replacement pickups from any brand. I highly recommend them for upgrading inexpensive import guitars. I only wish Stewmac would make them available with chrome covers.

Tracy  USA Read my reviews (2)
5 7-24-2010
Great pickups!

Great price. Great sound. Comparable to Seymour Duncan.

-Alexander James

Alexander James Guitars  Canada Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
5 7-22-2010
all season all terrain!

I've used these golden age humbucker now for about 7yrs now and never disappointed me. they are on my warmoth phat strat(alder body maple neck/fretboard) at bridge position and neck. this can do metal,clasic rock,twang rock,blues,jazz fusion,jazz etc.. I've also own handfull of amps like boogie triple rectifier,dual rectifier,nomad 45 2x12,marshall TSL,DSL,Fender hot rod deville ,deluxe,peavey classic series,Line6(yuk!) Carvin legacy 2x12(awesome tone! but damm heavy)and this pick up had no problems or issue with any of the amps that it went through. Because its wound at about 9k all these amps recieved it well,and it gave the amps alot of headroom to do what amps suppose to do,EQ and amplify! If your looking for warmth and clarity at intense gain during loud death metal gigs or during a twang rock festival! get this guy, I wish I could afford to make more warmoth guitars so I could put more of these on them!

yerkool44  San Diego,CA U.S.A Read my reviews (2)
5 7-09-2010
Great tone, great price

These pickups are well-built and have a 'meaty' presence-- Plenty of mids and lows but not enough to overpower the highs. They remind me of PAFs more than other, much higher-priced pickups on the market. Golden Age in all my instruments from now on.

t1pstn  Brick, NJ Read my reviews (4)
Displaying 81 – 90 < 1  ...  8  9  10 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 45 of our latest catalog.


Golden Age® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce