Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Electronics, pickups : Pickups: Guitar, electric : Golden Age Humbuckers

Golden Age Humbuckers


Read 92 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Vintage vibe, great price. Wake up your guitar! For authentic classic tone, Golden Age humbuckers feature Alnico 5 magnets and AWG42 coil wire just like the originals.

See details below

Email a friend
Golden Age Humbuckers
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5400 Black exposed coils, neck Yes
$46.95

5401 Black exposed coils, bridge Yes
$46.95

5400-S Black exposed coils, neck & bridge SAVE $9.40 Yes
$84.50

Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5400-Z Zebra (cream & black) exposed coils, neck Yes
$46.95

5401-Z Zebra (cream & black) exposed coils, bridge Yes
$46.95

5400-ZS Zebra exposed coils, neck & bridge SAVE $9.40 Yes
$84.50

Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5402 Nickel cover, neck Yes
$56.95

5403 Nickel cover, bridge Yes
$56.95

5402-S Nickel covers, neck & bridge SAVE $11.40 Yes
$102.50

Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5402-G Gold cover, neck Yes
$58.95

5403-G Gold cover, bridge Yes
$58.95

5402-GS Gold covers, neck & bridge SAVE $11.80 Yes
$106.10


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers



Humbucker Helpers



How to Wire a Gibson Guitar DVD



Wiring Kit for Gibson Les Paul Guitar



Wiring Kit for Gibson SG



Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
Humbucker Helpers
How to Wire a Gibson® Guitar DVD
Wiring Kit for Gibson® Les Paul® Guitar
Wiring Kit for Gibson® SG®



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
Also available with nickel or gold covers. Save on neck and bridge sets!

Inspired by legendary pickups of the '50s.
Alnico 5 magnets give that warm classic tone. AWG42 coils are wound on black or zebra bobbins, fabric-taped, mounted on a brass baseplate, and wax-potted for microphonic suppression. The output wire is 4-conductor plus ground, allowing versatile custom coil-tapping, series/parallel, and phase switching options to expand your sound.

Wiring diagrams and vintage dimensions make installation in most humbucker-equipped guitars easy.

Bridge models:9.0K ohms, 2.015" polepiece spread
Neck models:8.0K ohms, 1.97" polepiece spread

All models have black or black/cream (zebra) bobbins with fabric-taped coils on a brass baseplate. Mounting screws, springs and wiring diagrams are included.

Dimensions
Length2.75"(69.85mm)
Width1.5"(38.10mm)
Height.840"(21.34mm)including mounting tabs

Looking for hotter output with more powerful midrange? Check out Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers.

TIP: Handy Humbucker Helpers make installation a whole lot easier.

Color-matching Cream Parts and Bindings
There have always been slight variations in the color of the cream plastic parts used on Gibson and other guitars. It's not uncommon to see brand new and vintage guitars with bindings, pickup rings, toggle switch rings and pickguards that don't perfectly match in color. We do our best to match all our cream products, but there's no absolute control from batch to batch, or from supplier to supplier.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Golden Age Humbuckers
Golden Age Humbuckers
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 92 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 71 – 80 < 1  ...  7  8  9  10 >
5 11-29-2010
Golden Age Humbuckers

Golden Age Humbuckers are excellent! They yield even, clear tone across all the strings.

Mark B.  Colorado
5 11-26-2010
Real Humbucker Sound

I bought this (and the overwound) for an Epiphone G-400 SG. The original pickups, whilst not bad, tended toward the muddy end, lacking definition.

The pickup fit the rout and mounting ring perfectly, and the resulting sound when the guitar was buttoned up and re-strung is thick, yet with definition. Backing off the volume brings a little sparkle back into the sound, just as it should.

Just one caveat for those who might have the same guitar: the cable channel from the bridge pickup rout to the control cavity on my guitar was too small for the cables of two pickups to pass through. The hole had to be reamed out before they would pass through. That's the fault of the guitar, not the pickups.

I am *very* happy with this pickup - it's made the guitar fun to play again :).

John Laidlaw  Wisconsin Read my reviews (2)
5 11-19-2010
Great bang for your bucks

First of all, I picked priority mail which was 5-10 business days so I was very surprised to receive the pickups in 3 days. I've been playing for some 30+ years and I've tried a lot of p-ups and these golden age vintage p-ups can get you from smooth jazz to a rockin' and a rollin' and every thing in between. My guitar is a strat with a swamp ash body,maple neck and birdseye maple fingerboard. Not overly midrange, which I like. It's just right. Can't go wrong at these prices!

Daryl  Wahiawa,Hi.
5 11-18-2010
You want to pay more?....why?...really?

I was obsessing about getting a bridge Humbucker for my 1990 Strat Plus (thank you swimming pool rout). Bridge single coils just are to weak/thin sounding for me. At first I drooled at all the Boutique buckers out there. However, I just can't pull the trigger at $175.00 or more a pup. The more i researched what makes a great pickup the more i realized that Stew-mac had what I was looking for at a price that makes all these "builders" lose sleep.

I now have it installed and it's just what I wanted. This is as good or better than any other pickup you can buy. I am quite happy with my purchase and proud of myself for not being taken in on hype like i have been in the past. Pickups are coils/bobbins/windings/etc etc not voodoo magic or secret knowledge or some Robo cop winding machine.

melodic1  Buffalo, NY Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 11-13-2010
The legendary tone of all the time!

If you want tones from Chuck Berry to Nirvana, Steve Vai to Slash, Steve Ray Vaughan to Metallica, AC/DC to Gun's N Roses..
Give them as a gift to your guitar and make it a real guitar.

Ali Tolga Ayrim  Istanbul, TURKEY Read my reviews (3)
5 11-10-2010
You can't go wrong with Golden Age Humbuckers

Golden Age Humbuckers are simply awesome. I put them into my personal LP style Warmoth guitar thinking I would eventually swap them out for something better. After 4 years they are still in there and I love the sound. I recommend them to a client that wanted new pickups in his PRS custom 24. I replaced the PRS pickups with the Golden Age humbuckers. He can't stop talking about them. His PRS is now his main guitar for gigging out.

Bucky  Minneapolis, MN Read my reviews (2)
5 10-30-2010
Great pickups!

Explaining good sound is like explaining color for someone who's been blind all his life. Which words can you use? All I know is that my new Golden Age pickups separates the sound of each string. The sound is clear and defined. The guitar now has a wide specter of sounds from biting clear to a warm jazzy sound – and everything in between. I have a 2005 Gibson Les Paul Standard, but my Hohner HS35, witch is very well made – except for the pickups, is now right up there with it!

KaiJo  Hedmark, Norway
Customer supplied image for review
5 10-20-2010
It's True. No Sh#t.

These are really such nice pickups. HUGE step up from my Epiphone Les Paul stock pickups. The stock Neck p'up read ~11k on my multimeter and the G.A. Humbucker read ~9k. Stock Epi Bridge p'up was ~17k, while the G.A. Bridge Humbucker read~11k. Much clearer tones, and the mud is GONE. Combined with a complete re-wire, CTS pots, switchcraft input jack and toggle, and Mojo Dijon caps, the difference is truly astonishing.

The deeper strings have much better clarity and differentiation between notes when strummed together or arpeggiated, whereas before, it was just mush. When cranked, these pickups howl for days and days. But they can also clean up beautifully, especially in the middle position: bell-like tones.

Really, for the money, you cannot do better. I'm just glad i soldered everything together correctly!

NickityNick  Whitefish, Montana
5 10-16-2010
Love it!!!

I bought a Golden Age bridge humbucker and installed it last week in my Les Paul. It has a very sweet clear tone, and compliments my Seth Lover neck pickup very nicely. I prefer to blend the tones between bridge and neck pickups rather than use them each exclusively. These almost put me in mind of the SD JB Humbuckers- with their punchy mids.
Considering they are half the price, this was a great deal. I like the switch PU's now and then just to cop a different sound without buying a new guitar. I have a feeling these Golden Age will be staying in place in this Les Paul for quite a while.

Kazwell  St. Louis, MO
5 10-15-2010
Great Pickup

Does everything it says it does, woke my Les Paul right up! The amount of pup you get for the dollar you pay is incredible! I installed this along with a Golden Age Overwound in the bridge and they are a great combination. I play everything from blues, jazz, country, rock and some metal and these pups cover everything nicely!

Walkerblues  Kailua, HI
Displaying 71 – 80 < 1  ...  7  8  9  10 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 45 of our latest catalog.


Golden Age® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce