Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Fretting : Fret Polishing Wheels

Fret Polishing Wheels


Read 21 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Super-smooth frets with your Dremel or Foredom! Rubberized ceramic wheels give your fret jobs that mirror shine and ultra-smooth feel players love.

See details below

Email a friend
Fret Polishing Wheels
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5269 Complete outfit Yes
$15.25

5266 Fine wheels (green), package of 5 Yes
$6.25

5267 Extra-fine wheels (white), package of 5 Yes
$6.25

5268 Mandrel, 1/8"-dia. shank Yes
$2.75


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Fret Erasers



Fret End Dressing File



Gorgomyte Fretboard Conditioning Cloth



Dremel Flex Shaft

Fret Erasers
Fret End Dressing File
Gorgomyte Fretboard Conditioning Cloth
Dremel Flex Shaft



Details
 Pictures
Much faster and easier than hand polishing, the complete set includes fine and extra-fine wheels (5 each), with a 1/8"-shank mandrel.

Mount the wheel and mandrel in your Dremel, Dremel Flex Shaft or Foredom handpiece.

Lightly groove the edge of the wheel with a small round file. The slim handpiece makes it easy to hold the grooved wheel on a crowned fret, to gently polish it to a smooth shine.

Works on stainless frets, too!
All of our tools are suitable for use on stainless-steel fretwire, with the exception of our Fret Tang Nippers and Fret Cutters. Modern stainless-steel fretwire is known to be harder than the traditional nickel-silver blends, but our own shop experience indicates the wire does not cause premature wear of files or sandpapers.
Using fret polishing wheels on a flex shaft
Polishing off a fret job: glossy-smooth frets
Using fret polishing wheels on a flex shaft Read more

In this issue:
Todd Sams shares his method for getting a mirror finish on newly-installed frets
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fret Polishing Wheels
Fret Polishing Wheels
 
4 out of 5 stars
Based on 21 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 >
5 12-17-2011
Wow!

Coupled with a Foredom tool and a little experience this system is blazing fast! The most important thing is to take one quick light stroke with a wheel that's been grooved with a round file. A little goes a long way!

Wilmer Gingerich  Jamesport MO Read my reviews (76)
4 10-12-2011
Work well but hard to perfect!

These work well as stated but are tricky to use as you must first groove the discs properly

it's a real challenge to sit them at 90 degrees to the fret you are trying to polish
even if you're using the flexible shaft on the Dremel
so you want to make the groove in the wheel ideally off centre so you can angle the Dremel a bit.

Wheel can slip off fret suddenly if you're not careful and cause marks on fretboard

Use with care!

Neilmac  Emerald Victoria Australia Read my reviews (4)
3 7-22-2011
Works As Advertised But Too Tedious

Indeed, they'll make 'em shine but Micro Mesh over a medium density foam pad is WAY FASTER with no worries about running off the fret and "engraving" the fret board.

Jack Straw Guitars  Prescott, Arizona Read my reviews (7)
5 3-02-2011
Works great

I used these polishing wheels on an ES-335 and they work great. I chucked them directly into my old dremel tool and had no trouble getting a quick mirror finish on the frets. What a great timesaver. I would recommend these to anyone.

A. Scott  Tulsa OK Read my reviews (26)
5 1-12-2011
nice frets

Almost every guitar I get in for a set up or repair has dull or corroded frets. These polishing wheels work great to get them nice and shiney again.

Dieter Billinger  Toronot Canada Read my reviews (7)
4 11-18-2010
Good

Good product, especially the fine wheels. The extra fine wheels are a little too fine though, you get a better (and easier) final polish with a felt wheel and a bit of polishing compound.
I've read that you can put a groove in these wheels with a file handle but i found i just ended up with a shiny file handle. Folding a bit of 320 grit sandpaper to a nice round fret shape and shaping the wheel on that works a lot better.

DaveR  UK Read my reviews (2)
4 10-17-2010
Shiny frets

These are great, the shine you get is brilliant but make sure you don't have the Dremel to fast as they get very hot. Be careful with the file to put the groove in, they will polish the teeth off. If they came with a groove already in they would achieve excellent rating.

Ian Verner  Sydney, Australia Read my reviews (20)
4 10-12-2010
Be careful!

Practice on something besides your customer's guitar first. These really heat up the frets, and they tend to bounce so use some kind of fretboard guard. Once you get the hang of it, they work like a charm. They will polish frets to almost a glass like surface.

Ricky Hendrix  Russellville Arkansas Read my reviews (8)
4 9-15-2010
Simple and effective

Combined with the fretboard protectors, these wheels are awesome. For non-maple boards, my prior method was to use super fine steel wool to remove the gunk and clean up everything. Now I use the Ernie Ball fret board wipes and the Stewart-MacDonald fretboard protectors with the extra fine wheels in a low speed battery dremel tool to give the frets a quick touch up when needed at string change time. I have not had to resort to the fine wheels yet but bought the full kit because I know that if I went individually I would have needed the one I didn't buy the next time. Good value and works well.

DR Chevalier  Ontario, Canada Read my reviews (5)
5 8-13-2010
Fret polishing

Fastest smoothest fret polishing I have ever used. I allready had the dremel with the extention snake thang. Be sure to tape the neck first.

Big Jon  Tennessee Read my reviews (6)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 8 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce