Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Books, plans : Building and repair: Guitar, electric : How To Make Your Electric Guitar Play Great!

How To Make Your Electric Guitar Play Great!


Read 38 Reviews   |   Write a Review

By Dan Erlewine
Updated 2nd edition comes with DVD full of setup and wiring tips! Get your autographed copy only at StewMac!

See details below

Email a friend
How To Make Your Electric Guitar Play Great!
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5198 How To Make Your Electric Guitar Play Great! 1-3 days
$22.49


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Basic Setup Kit



Guitar Tech Screwdriver Set



Dan Erlewines Maintenance & Setup for Electric Guitars and Basses



Guitar Player Repair Guide



Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers



Basic Setup Kit
Guitar Tech Screwdriver Set
Dan Erlewine's Maintenance & Setup for Electric Guitars and Basses
Guitar Player Repair Guide
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers



Details
 Pictures
You'll find no better book for doing your own setup and maintenance than this trusted guide from the world's best-known guitar repairman.

Dan Erlewine packed this second edition with more photo-illustrated tips for guitarists and technicians. He shares expert setup and adjustment techniques, with valuable trade secrets along the way.

Contents in brief
  • Evaluating a guitar, from headstock to tailpiece
  • Using the right tools (pop-out radius gauges are included free in the book)
  • Troubleshooting your setup
  • Personalizing the action and intonation
  • Professional players’ setup specs.
  • New: Guitar wiring and pickup replacement
  • New: DVD with setups for Strat,® Les Paul,® Floyd Rose® and bass, plus tips for wiring and truss rod adjustment. 48 minutes.

134 pages, softcover.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
How To Make Your Electric Guitar Play Great!
How To Make Your Electric Guitar Play Great!
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 38 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4 >
5 11-28-2012
Dan does it again!

This is a gem. Its packed with useful and simple instructions on setting up your guitar. Thanks!

Lou Presley  Newton,MA
5 11-26-2012
Great Book!

Dan is a genius! Very informative book. Makes doing the work on your own guitars so much easier. Thanks!

M. Rogers  San Bruno, CA Read my reviews (3)
5 11-17-2012
Great Informer!

Dan is someone that explains all these great ideas and helpful hints in a way that's easy to comprehend and they work! Thanks Dan!

Steve R  Spring,Tx Read my reviews (26)
5 11-11-2012
Best 20 bucks I ever spent

Before getting this book the only thing I knew how to do right was replace strings. After having the book for only one week all of my guitars play better then the day I got them even my old squire w/ a floyd rose that I played back high school plays like a dream (it never worked right till now). This is a must for anyone who wants the most out of their guitar.

T Baur  Palmyra NJ
5 10-28-2012
Great Guide

You can trust Dan to provide the right info

Brand Guitar  Murray,Ky.
5 10-12-2012
This is a must have book.

Have you ever played your guitar and it just didn't sound right? This book gives you the knowledge to make the adjustments necessary with confidence you won't ruin your guitar.

KB  East,TN
5 10-03-2012
Waiting for Kindle version of 2nd Edition

Great news on the 2nd edition. I'm waiting for it to appear on Kindle.

ChuckH  Jeddo, Texas, USA
5 9-26-2012
Mystery solved!

Finally a book that takes the mystery out of set-ups! Dan's style and knowledge make this an easy to understand book with great pictures and a thorough explanation of the matter at hand. Oh! And a DVD too!

Mike Ridge  Denver, Co.
5 9-26-2012
Great Infromation

Dan, your book is very useful and thorough. It will be a very valuable reference tool on setups.

CMA  USA
5 3-10-2012
The Best Information

This book is packed with all the information that you need to successfully evaluate a guitar prior to purchasing it, with a host of information on how to maintain it and keep it in good working order. It is obvious that the information contained in this book has been compiled over many years through just pure experience from learning and working on guitars. This book is invaluable to anyone who intends to maintain their own instruments or starting out to maintain other players instruments, a really good book worth every penny.

M Dawes  South Shields, England Read my reviews (13)
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 91 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce