Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Books, plans : Building and repair: Guitar, electric : How To Make Your Electric Guitar Play Great!

How To Make Your Electric Guitar Play Great!


Read 38 Reviews   |   Write a Review

By Dan Erlewine
Updated 2nd edition comes with DVD full of setup and wiring tips! Get your autographed copy only at StewMac!

See details below

Email a friend
How To Make Your Electric Guitar Play Great!
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5198 How To Make Your Electric Guitar Play Great! Yes
$22.49


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Basic Setup Kit



Guitar Tech Screwdriver Set



Dan Erlewines Maintenance & Setup for Electric Guitars and Basses



Guitar Player Repair Guide



Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers



Basic Setup Kit
Guitar Tech Screwdriver Set
Dan Erlewine's Maintenance & Setup for Electric Guitars and Basses
Guitar Player Repair Guide
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers



Details
 Pictures
You'll find no better book for doing your own setup and maintenance than this trusted guide from the world's best-known guitar repairman.

Dan Erlewine packed this second edition with more photo-illustrated tips for guitarists and technicians. He shares expert setup and adjustment techniques, with valuable trade secrets along the way.

Contents in brief
  • Evaluating a guitar, from headstock to tailpiece
  • Using the right tools (pop-out radius gauges are included free in the book)
  • Troubleshooting your setup
  • Personalizing the action and intonation
  • Professional players’ setup specs.
  • New: Guitar wiring and pickup replacement
  • New: DVD with setups for Strat,® Les Paul,® Floyd Rose® and bass, plus tips for wiring and truss rod adjustment. 48 minutes.

134 pages, softcover.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
How To Make Your Electric Guitar Play Great!
How To Make Your Electric Guitar Play Great!
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 38 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  4 >
5 5-19-2013
A avoir absolument

Tout ce qu'il faut savoir pour régler une guitare parfaitement, avec des explications sur l'utilisation de certains outils vendus sur le site. Je ne m'en passe plus ...

Kl3mko  FRANCE Read my reviews (2)
5 5-16-2013
Good book

If you're learning repair or an old pro, its good to have books like this to look through just to get your creative ideas going. For me its not so much that the book goes over the basics (and then some) of set up and some repair, but that it encourages each person to come up with methods and tricks to use themselves. How to make little tools and attachments for tools or make things from shop scraps that you'll end up using all the time. For these reasons books like this are a must-have.

PNC Guitars  Washinton USA Read my reviews (26)
5 5-04-2013
One of Dan's Best!

A very good book with boat loads of valuable information and tricks of the trade. Definitely a must read for the serious guitar player.

Bill Ward  Milwaukee, WI Read my reviews (5)
5 4-10-2013
How To Make Your Electric Guitar Play Great!

Dan is my hero. Will continue to read and listen to the words of wisdom spoken by this sage of the guitar. Wade. Saskatoon, Canada

Petriw  Saskatoon SK. Canada Read my reviews (2)
5 3-23-2013
Must have

As other reviewers have stated...Dan IS the man. Concise and understandable. Highly recommended to anyone who owns guitars and/or basses.

KScott  Chandler, AZ Read my reviews (5)
5 3-22-2013
Thanks!!

Thanks for writing a very easy to read book that gave me the confidence to take on some of the issues with my guitars... such as straightening the neck on two!! Frets next on one!! If I can do this, any guitar player can, just read the book, watch the video and take your time!

dalebfast  Bakersfield, CA
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-08-2013
Essential Book !

This is about the only book you will ever need to help keep your guitar in tip top playing condition! Doug

Doug Graham  Scotland
5 2-07-2013
assembling odd parts to make a guitar.

Having put together parts from a selection of guitars,copy of a les paul body,neck from a trident,a couple of GFS pickups,tuners from??? Spent two weeks fitting the neck to the body & then discovering the How to make your electric play great book, set it up with 10gg strings & now have a guitar i am proud of thanks to the extra info i got from the book.Also working on a couple more guitars. Thanks Dan well worth the money.

Bill064  New Zealand Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-27-2013
I read it!

I usually get a book like this for reference but this one I read all the way through in three days. It was a fun read that verified some things I knew and taught me a lot I didn't. The DVD was clear and informative too. ENJOY!

Deane  Mesa AZ Read my reviews (2)
5 12-21-2012
THE Book All Players Should Have

I wish I had this book years ago! Even after many years of trial & error, this book opened my eyes to my guitars. This is a "Must Read" for any serious player even if you have no intention of working on the guitar yourself.

BillPro  New Orleans, LA
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  4 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 91 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce