Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Glues, adhesives : Stewart-MacDonald Epoxies : Stewart-MacDonald Epoxy

Stewart-MacDonald Epoxy


Read 30 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Gap-filling epoxies for permanent bonds. Our high-strength 2-part adhesives are activated when their resin and hardener components are mixed in equal parts.

See details below

Email a friend
Stewart-MacDonald Epoxy
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5173 Fast setting, clear
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$9.83

5174 Slow setting, clear
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$9.83

5179-B Slow setting, black
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$15.49


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Inlay Filler Colors



Pearl Inlay Book



Carbon Fiber Neck Rods



Mixing/Sanding Spatula



ColorTone Mixing Sheets

Inlay Filler Colors
Pearl Inlay Book
Carbon Fiber Neck Rods
Mixing/Sanding Spatula
ColorTone Mixing Sheets



Details
 Pictures
Each 4-ounce set has two 2-ounce bottles, ready for mixing.

Fast-setting mixture has 5-minute working time. Full bond strength in one hour.

Slow-setting mixture allows 20 minute working time. Full bond strength in 8 hours, for a rigid waterproof joint.

Slow-setting black mixture is great for inlaying ebony fingerboards. 20 minute working time. Wait 3 days before sanding.

Note: With all epoxies, the slower the setting time, the stronger the bond.

Use adequate ventilation and avoid skin and eye contact.

Keep out of the reach of children.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Stewart-MacDonald Epoxy
Stewart-MacDonald Epoxy
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 30 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3
5 6-05-2011
fast setting

works good for me.

Harry Shorter Sr.  White Hall, MD Read my reviews (6)
5 3-25-2011
Excellent product

This epoxy (the Slow setting black) was the perfect color for inlaying on my StewMac ebony fingerboard.

It set up slow enough that I was able to mix one batch large enough to glue in all 13 inlays, and still be able to move the inlays into their final position. The consistency of the glue was easy to work with, and filled all "gaps" easily. Once it was sanded down, it's virtually invisible.

Highly recommended!

BergerMeister  Atlanta, GA Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 2-09-2011
Black Epoxy

I have not used this on any of my guitars yet but I did have to use some of it around the house the first day it arrived and it works really well on other plastics.

Tim , Andros Island  Bahamas Read my reviews (4)
5 1-30-2011
Strong bonding stuff!

I ordered the slow setting clear epoxy to hold a couple carbon fiber rods in place in a guitar neck, and the stuff works great. It has a viscosity similar to that of honey or syrup, so it was easily spread to cover the entire cavity without flowing back to one end or the other.

A word of advice though... Be sure to use in WELL VENTILATED areas!!! the resin was not so bad but the hardener is one of the most foul smelling chemicals I've ever came across. It does dry scent free though :)

Mr. Dude  Pensacola FL, US. Read my reviews (12)
5 1-14-2011
;)

Excellent quality!!!

YaƱez  Mex
5 11-10-2010
StewMac Epoxy

I've used this product for five years with excellent results. I like the slow setting time which allows for proper alignment of parts for clamping. I haven't noticed any shrinkage with it and it never has de-laminated.

AC Custom Guitars  Coastal Carolina
Customer supplied image for review
5 10-31-2010
Can cover up mistakes

I bought this epoxy so I could glue in the inlays I made for my ebony finger board. Well, this was my first time doing it and i was a little careless and my hands slipped making the cavity much larger than it needed to be. I glued in the inlay and after the epoxy dried and the inlay was sanded flush the mistake isn't even noticeable. (I used the slow setting black by the way)

Rico  Carmel, IN Read my reviews (4)
3 10-17-2010
I use black slow

I used black slow setting for gluing in necks onto a body

Southwulf  Parkersburg, WV
5 9-16-2010
Very handy

I use the fast setting mix for smaller jobs and the slower set for work requiring just a little more time to place the materials and set in place . Easy to use .

Larry Skeens  Versailles ,Ky.
Customer supplied image for review
5 8-26-2010
Great product

I have used many epoxies over the years. From the smallest of jobs to installing sledge hammer handles and this is some of the best I've used.

garyd  winner,sd Read my reviews (3)
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3 /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 42 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce