Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Routing bits : Carbide Downcut Inlay Router Bits

Carbide Downcut Inlay Router Bits


Read 88 Reviews   |   Write a Review

The best for inlay work and saddle slotting! Solid carbide lasts far longer than steel, and reverse spiral flutes cut downward for cleaner, "no fuzz" edges in routed cavities.

See details below

Email a friend
Carbide Downcut Inlay Router Bits
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5155 Set of all 5 sizes SAVE $10.00 Yes
$82.75

5154 1/8" dia. Yes
$18.55
3 or more $17.05  

5153 3/32" dia. Yes
$18.55
3 or more $17.05  

5152 1/16" dia. Yes
$18.55
3 or more $17.05  

5151 3/64" dia. Yes
$18.55
3 or more $17.05  

5150 1/32" dia. Yes
$18.55
3 or more $17.05  


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Precision Router Base



Binding Router Guide



Purfling/Soundhole Router Guide



Dremel 4000 Rotary Tool Outfit



Soundhole and Rosette Routing Jig



Precision Router Base
Binding Router Guide
Purfling/Soundhole Router Guide
Dremel 4000 Rotary Tool Outfit
Soundhole and Rosette Routing Jig



Details
 Pictures
To use our 1/8"-shank bits in your laminate trimmer's 1/4" collet, see our #5246 Adapter Collet.

Length 1-1/2" (38.10mm)
Shank diameter 1/8" (3.18mm)

Use the larger bits for removing wood in the middle of your inlay work, and save the fine bits for the fine details. The fine detail bits are fragile, for routing intricate details only.

Item Primary use Width of cut Depth of cut
5154 For inlay routing and bridge saddle slots 1/8" (0.1250", 3.18mm) 1/2" (0.375", 9.53mm)
5153 For inlay routing and bridge saddle slots 3/32" (0.0938", 2.38mm) 1/4" (0.250", 6.35mm)
5152 For fine detail inlay routing 1/16" (0.0625", 1.59mm) 3/16" (0.188", 4.78mm)
5151 For fine detail inlay routing 3/64" (0.0469", 1.19mm) 1/8" (0.125", 3.18mm)
5150 For fine detail inlay routing 1/32" (0.0313", 0.79mm) 1/8" (0.125", 3.18mm)


/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Carbide Downcut Inlay Router Bits
Carbide Downcut Inlay Router Bits
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 88 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 71 – 80 < 1  ...  7  8  9 >
5 4-13-2011
Great bits!

Not only do they work great for inlaying, but I use them for detail carving... best I've found!

Marvin Walker

BanjoMaker  Kinston, NC Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-22-2011
Downcut Inlay Router Bits

I originally bought these bits to cut acoustic guitar bridge slots. Since then I've used them in dozens of other woodworking projects. They are strong for their size (I haven't broken one yet even in tough woods like Wenge) and they stay sharp!

Here's a Wenge, Padauk, and Purpleheart box I'm working on. The inlays are all brass.

BluesRascal  Grand Rapids, MI
Customer supplied image for review
4 3-21-2011
Downcut Bits

Pricey? Yep, but a must. They will break before they dull.

J.C. Moranville  Colorado Read my reviews (20)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-03-2011
I'll never look back

I've used a number of different inlay bits over the years and these are far and away the best I've used. Well worth the money and very nice. The clean cut and precision have me hooked!

John Tuttle  MInnesota Read my reviews (2)
5 2-20-2011
great bits

I love these bits, even though I'm not a stringed instrument maker, stewmac is my go-to source for these. I make high-end jewelry boxes with lots of inlay, and these bits are the best I've found anywhere for use in inlay work. I also wish ,like someone else has already commented on, that these bits were also available in 1/64'' cutting dimension.

larryw  Texas Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 2-19-2011
These make inlay a pleasure

The clean cutting edge and solid carbide make cutting an inlay channel a breeze.

gsobonya  nevada city, ca Read my reviews (3)
5 1-19-2011
A specialty tool that is worth its weight in gold

I love these bits, i use them for just about everything - slotting acoustic bridges to inlay and bindings. Durable and very well machined. Being so thin you would think they would break real easy, but actually they are as tough as router bits in a micro design. The downcut helps to keep the work area clean so you can see as you are cutting. A definite 10 in my book

Gary Scott - GS Handcrafted Guitars  Cleveland, OH Read my reviews (4)
5 1-06-2011
very good !!

If the DREMEL turns well...........

Alain BERTRAND  france Read my reviews (2)
5 1-05-2011
Downcut Router Bit

This is a must for inlay work. No tear-out with this bit.

Stephen Johnson  Lewiston, ID Read my reviews (7)
5 12-04-2010
Routing for trim on an armrest bevel

Armrest bevels are cool and comfortable on a custom guitar, but it really complicates the binding and purfling.
I used figured maple binding, and a piece from the same board for the bevel patch. I attach a thin (.024) Black/White to the maple binding before shaping and gluing it on with the top purfling.
After the bevel patch is glued on, I use my dremel in the StewMac router base with a wedge that matches the angle of the bevel. The 1/32 Downcut bit is the perfect size to cut a channel along the edge of the maple patch for the thin B/W strip. The downward spiral makes a very clean cut with no "fuzz" left on the edge.
Same method can be used on the top, but I use the 1/16th Downcut bit and install a B/W/B strip to match the top purfling.

Bob Norvelle  Gilbert, Arizona
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 71 – 80 < 1  ...  7  8  9 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 30 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce