Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Finishing supplies : Colors, tints, and stains : ColorTone Liquid Stains

ColorTone Liquid Stains


Read 156 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Spectacular sunbursts, vintage tints and head-turning modern colors: ColorTone concentrated stains mix with virtually any finish, and are formulated specifically for luthiers.

See details below

Email a friend
ColorTone Liquid Stains
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5029 Set of all 10 colors SAVE $11.10 Yes
$183.80

5032 Red mahogany Yes
$19.49

5033 Medium brown Yes
$19.49

5034 Tobacco brown Yes
$19.49

5037 Lemon yellow Yes
$19.49

5038 Cherry red Yes
$19.49

5039 Blue Yes
$19.49

5040 Black Yes
$19.49

5041 Bright green Yes
$19.49

5042 Orange Yes
$19.49

5030 Vintage amber Yes
$19.49


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

ColorTone Touchup Markers



ColorTone Mixing Sheets

Mixing Cups



Pipettes



ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer



ColorTone Touchup Markers
ColorTone Mixing Sheets
Mixing Cups
Pipettes
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
They're accurate and authentic stringed instrument colors, as researched and specified by our own guitar finishing experts—not the generic furniture colors you'll find at other suppliers.

These concentrated grain-enhancing stains are economical; a little goes a long way. Reduce them with alcohol or water to give bare wood beautiful fade-resistant color, without hiding the grain. They're versatile, too. For applying transparent color-tinted coats, ColorTone stains can be mixed directly into virtually any finish: nitrocellulose lacquer, shellac, waterbase finishes, and catalyzed varnishes or lacquers.

Available in 2-ounce bottles, in the most popular stringed instrument colors. SAVE when you order the set of all ten!

Make wood grain come alive!
ColorTone liquid stains are lightfast metal-complex dyes that can be mixed for practically any desired intensity. Unlike off-the-shelf hardware store stains, they're formulated for guitar finishing. One 2-ounce bottle makes two quarts of stain at normal concentration. Because they're liquids, they can be measured precisely for critical color matching—a plus for refinishing and touchup work. (See our handy stain mixing cups and pipettes.)

Questions about finishing? Look here first:
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step

California Residents: Click here for Proposition 65 information
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
ColorTone Liquid Stains
ColorTone Liquid Stains
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 156 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 91 – 100 < 1  ...  9  10  11  ...  16 >
5 12-06-2011
Eye Popping

Superb stains! Great for staining straight on bare wood and even better for adding to clear coats. Very pleased with products. We used the black and blue to stain the bare maple top then used some more blue in the clear to get a nice burst.

CA Guitarworks  UK Read my reviews (9)
Customer supplied image for review
5 11-13-2011
Very good stains

I use these stains themselves or mixed. They dissolve to the alcohol immediately and they expand to the guitar easily, either with a cloth or with spray gun (shadows). Colours become vivid without the grain of the wood to fade, on the contrary it gets brighter. The hues available cover a wide variety of colours and in addition, by mixing them they give new hues.

fremediti guitars  Greece Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 11-10-2011
Awesome stain

Just stained a guitar using the red colortone...it came out beautiful. Very easy to work with, although really messy, wear gloves have lots of paper towels. I used the green a few years back and it was equally good. Be aware a little goes a long way, you can get really dark really fast. Highly recommended!

pbury1  NY NY
Customer supplied image for review
5 10-08-2011
Black stain

I used this stain when I built my granddaughter(age 15) a black vee shaped guitar. It gave a very dense black on the maple top and on the swamp ash body. I mixed it by trial and error by taking a jar of water and adding stain until it was dense enough on scrap ash. I then finished it with black grain filler (on the ash) and clear nitrocellulose lacquer.

Pat Green  UK Read my reviews (20)
Customer supplied image for review
5 9-30-2011
Colors Of Glory

I used both vintage amber and red mahogany. The colors went on amazingly, with no real need to dilute them in water (a damp cotton cloth did the trick). The stains are fairly forgiving in the process of trial and error. I was also able to blend the colors quite simply for the desired effect I had in mind. I'm refinishing a Danelectro, a rather cheap piece of wood, I can only imagine what these stains might look like on a Gibson or Fender finish. Highly recommended!

In Orbit Studios  Hawthorne, CA Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
5 9-26-2011
Color Tone Liquid Stains

The Color Tone Liquid stains worked better and easier than I thought they would. I was able to turn a messed up project someone gave me into a real nice looking guitar. The stains will also do more jobs than I thought. Wish I had a picture to show the before and after.

KP Custom  Refton, PA Read my reviews (2)
5 9-21-2011
as expected

Great concentrated color as expected. I have mixed this with alcohol, water, and lacquer - all with great results. Smaller bottles for 1/2 the price would be the only suggestion I have - not everyone will need or use an entire bottle. Chip in with friends if you can!

tb  Portland OR Read my reviews (50)
4 8-27-2011
Great Stuff

Mixed with stringed instrument lacquer. 1 TSP dye, 4 oz lacquer, 1 oz thinner. Sprayed two light coats to try and replicate a crimson red Tele.

Billn59  Chesapeake, Va
Customer supplied image for review
5 8-23-2011
Vintage amber is a must

If you hate the price of this product, you have to get vintage amber if you do guitar finishing regularly. It has the exact color of aging lacquer that you just can't get right by mixing it yourself. I have used it to restore a Gibson Les Paul custom that was damaged and improperly repaired, and you can't tell old lacquer from new thanks to this dye.

It is also just the perfect shade for the center of a Fender or Gibson style sunburst.

Tai Fu  Taiwan Read my reviews (20)
5 8-20-2011
Stain

A very economical and quality product which I use not only on musical instruments, but gun stocks as well.

RCRBanjo  Birchwood, Wisconsin
Displaying 91 – 100 < 1  ...  9  10  11  ...  16 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 39 of our latest catalog.


ColorTone® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce