Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Finishing supplies : Colors, tints, and stains : ColorTone Liquid Stains

ColorTone Liquid Stains


Read 156 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Spectacular sunbursts, vintage tints and head-turning modern colors: ColorTone concentrated stains mix with virtually any finish, and are formulated specifically for luthiers.

See details below

Email a friend
ColorTone Liquid Stains
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5029 Set of all 10 colors SAVE $11.10 Yes
$183.80

5032 Red mahogany Yes
$19.49

5033 Medium brown Yes
$19.49

5034 Tobacco brown Yes
$19.49

5037 Lemon yellow Yes
$19.49

5038 Cherry red Yes
$19.49

5039 Blue Yes
$19.49

5040 Black Yes
$19.49

5041 Bright green Yes
$19.49

5042 Orange Yes
$19.49

5030 Vintage amber Yes
$19.49


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

ColorTone Touchup Markers



ColorTone Mixing Sheets

Mixing Cups



Pipettes



ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer



ColorTone Touchup Markers
ColorTone Mixing Sheets
Mixing Cups
Pipettes
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
They're accurate and authentic stringed instrument colors, as researched and specified by our own guitar finishing experts—not the generic furniture colors you'll find at other suppliers.

These concentrated grain-enhancing stains are economical; a little goes a long way. Reduce them with alcohol or water to give bare wood beautiful fade-resistant color, without hiding the grain. They're versatile, too. For applying transparent color-tinted coats, ColorTone stains can be mixed directly into virtually any finish: nitrocellulose lacquer, shellac, waterbase finishes, and catalyzed varnishes or lacquers.

Available in 2-ounce bottles, in the most popular stringed instrument colors. SAVE when you order the set of all ten!

Make wood grain come alive!
ColorTone liquid stains are lightfast metal-complex dyes that can be mixed for practically any desired intensity. Unlike off-the-shelf hardware store stains, they're formulated for guitar finishing. One 2-ounce bottle makes two quarts of stain at normal concentration. Because they're liquids, they can be measured precisely for critical color matching—a plus for refinishing and touchup work. (See our handy stain mixing cups and pipettes.)

Questions about finishing? Look here first:
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step

California Residents: Click here for Proposition 65 information
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
ColorTone Liquid Stains
ColorTone Liquid Stains
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 156 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 131 – 140 < 1  ...  13  14  15  16 >
5 2-06-2011
Outstanding!

Great colors, transparent,brings out the beauty in the wood and is easy to work with.

Mike McCallum  Windsor Ontario,Canada Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 2-05-2011
Just what I needed

I'm using the ColorTone Vintage Amber to finish Fender style necks. I mix a few drops of dye with a cup or so of denatured alcohol and apply it with a foam brush. Lightly sand with 600 grit sandpaper after the first coat then apply a second a second coat to even it out. After the second coat is dry I clear coat it with gloss nitro and it looks like an old Fender neck. Just what I needed!

Fat Al Johnson  Ann Arbor, MI
5 1-16-2011
Excellent Stains

This was only my second guitar build and the first time using liquid stains under a clear coat. I learnt a bunch from this build and the stains were very easy to use with excellent coverage diluted in methylated spirits. This body received lemon stain under orange on the front and black for the back.

Ibaneedz  Brisbane, Australia
Customer supplied image for review
4 12-26-2010
Orange is sweet

I used this on a guitar that had a top made of pyjinma wood, an asian wood. It's naturally a brown color, so staining could be problematic. Plus, the wood is very hard and dense. I wiped the stain on and it covered very well. One bad thing doing this - the lacquer reacts with the stain and caused large areas of finish crazing, which had to be sanded off and restained and repainted.

the wizard of az  Tucson, AZ
Customer supplied image for review
4 12-22-2010
Great stains, okay bottles

I've achieved brilliant results with these stains, but I do not like the bottles. My advice is to poke a hole in the tip with a sewing needle, to allow for more controlled drips. If you snip the tip with scissors, the opening is much too wide and the stain gushes out too freely; you can end up making an awful (and very permanent) mess, waste a lot of precious stain, and screw up delicate color mixes. Love the stains, but I wish the bottles had finer tips.

MicCheckOne  Long Beach, California, USA Read my reviews (8)
4 11-19-2010
Amber Yellow - Tobacco Brown

Went on a bit orange for me diluted at normal concentration. Maybe it had something to due with my guitar top or the old finish. I tried it on some scrap spruce before hand and it looked nice. Just wear rubber gloves as it stains hands too! Tobacco brown is awesome and shows wood figure well. My pic is of my guitar's back in tobacco.

Bryan D. Cozort  Olmsted Falls, OH Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
5 11-11-2010
Color Tone Stains

I love this stuff. What an improvement from the old powder that was so difficult to dissolve. I use it for everything. I have done some nice touch up match, as well as very nice sun burst work.

Elaine Filion  Austin, Texas Read my reviews (7)
Customer supplied image for review
5 11-07-2010
Don't have a shop without them!

So useful on so many levels. I mix up a small batch of every color for lacquer touch up.

GuitarRepairShack  Calgary, Alberta Read my reviews (20)
5 11-07-2010
Work Great

Used Stewmacs water based laquer and ColorTone Liquid Stains. Was easy to layer up. And clean up was a since. I was very impressed with the results.

Thanks for the great products.

Hammock's Customs  ID
Customer supplied image for review
5 11-05-2010
Color Tone Stains

Great stain. Vintage Amber is a A wonderful color for vintage guitars and mandolins

Curt  Vienna WV. U.S.A. Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 131 – 140 < 1  ...  13  14  15  16 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 39 of our latest catalog.


ColorTone® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce