Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Finishing supplies : Colors, tints, and stains : ColorTone Liquid Stains

ColorTone Liquid Stains


Read 156 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Spectacular sunbursts, vintage tints and head-turning modern colors: ColorTone concentrated stains mix with virtually any finish, and are formulated specifically for luthiers.

See details below

Email a friend
ColorTone Liquid Stains
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5029 Set of all 10 colors SAVE $11.10 Yes
$183.80

5032 Red mahogany Yes
$19.49

5033 Medium brown Yes
$19.49

5034 Tobacco brown Yes
$19.49

5037 Lemon yellow Yes
$19.49

5038 Cherry red Yes
$19.49

5039 Blue Yes
$19.49

5040 Black Yes
$19.49

5041 Bright green Yes
$19.49

5042 Orange Yes
$19.49

5030 Vintage amber Yes
$19.49


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

ColorTone Touchup Markers



ColorTone Mixing Sheets

Mixing Cups



Pipettes



ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer



ColorTone Touchup Markers
ColorTone Mixing Sheets
Mixing Cups
Pipettes
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
They're accurate and authentic stringed instrument colors, as researched and specified by our own guitar finishing experts—not the generic furniture colors you'll find at other suppliers.

These concentrated grain-enhancing stains are economical; a little goes a long way. Reduce them with alcohol or water to give bare wood beautiful fade-resistant color, without hiding the grain. They're versatile, too. For applying transparent color-tinted coats, ColorTone stains can be mixed directly into virtually any finish: nitrocellulose lacquer, shellac, waterbase finishes, and catalyzed varnishes or lacquers.

Available in 2-ounce bottles, in the most popular stringed instrument colors. SAVE when you order the set of all ten!

Make wood grain come alive!
ColorTone liquid stains are lightfast metal-complex dyes that can be mixed for practically any desired intensity. Unlike off-the-shelf hardware store stains, they're formulated for guitar finishing. One 2-ounce bottle makes two quarts of stain at normal concentration. Because they're liquids, they can be measured precisely for critical color matching—a plus for refinishing and touchup work. (See our handy stain mixing cups and pipettes.)

Questions about finishing? Look here first:
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step

California Residents: Click here for Proposition 65 information
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
ColorTone Liquid Stains
ColorTone Liquid Stains
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 156 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 121 – 130 < 1  ...  12  13  14  ...  16 >
5 5-07-2011
Excellent product!

Hi, I´m from Vázquez Guitarras in Argentina. I would like to recommend the -Color Tone Liquid Stains- that make an excellent and professional finishing. This is the Vázquez 335 that was painted with this stains. Thank you very much.
Vázquez Guitarras.

VAZQUEZGUITARRAS  ARGENTINA
Customer supplied image for review
4 5-07-2011
Good color

I have applied this with both alcohol and water. No complaint with either results.

Clell  Dallas, TX Read my reviews (21)
5 5-05-2011
First time user

I used your color tone liquid stain(vintage amber)for the first time and the refinish came out beautiful on a p-bass.I used dark mahogany-red mahogany and the vintage amber stain to do a sunburst finish.Easy to use and mixes perfectly with alcohol.10 coats of shellac and French polishing and it came out great.Thanks for a great product.

Ed Schultz  deerfield beach FL Read my reviews (2)
5 5-04-2011
Get em!

OMG, have struggled in the past but these are industry standard colours, that give satisfying results, thanks!

Julyan Wallis, Guitar Doctor UK  Cornwall, UK Read my reviews (45)
5 5-03-2011
Expensive, but good stuff.

I bought the Cherry red, Lemon yellow, and Blue stains, and they look great when properly applied to some nice quilted/flame maple under a nice deep coat of clear. Expensive, though.

DuctTapeNinja  Chicago Read my reviews (6)
5 3-30-2011
ColorTone Liquid Stains

Simply an amazing product. Very versatile and easy to use. Fantastic color assortment.
Service at Stewart MacDonald is top notch.

Chico  Canada
5 3-22-2011
panthers breath red

I was very pleased with the results i got from this product. Mixed it a little lighter than suggested and kept applying until i got the color i wanted [bout 7 coats]. Oh ya and since i didn't have any denatured alcohol on hand i used moonshine, worked great and lends to a better story!I'll definitely use it again!

sherman stockton  indiana Read my reviews (19)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-09-2011
The Artist's Palette

I use ColorTone for almost everything including the opaque line. They mix well with everything, and since the density is very consistent, duplicating recipes is a breeze. I HIGHLY recommend purchasing the Stewmac book "Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step" by Dan Erlewine and Don MacRostie whether you know what you're doing or not. The color plates and recipes inside utilize the ColorTone products, and the results are dead on. When I apply stain directly on the wood, I use a barrier coat and have never had a problem with lifting or bleeding.

Kevin Ferner  Memphis, TN. Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
3 3-03-2011
Good color match, but.....

I have found that this stain doesn't mix well with lacquer causing blotching and uneven drying. As a rub on stain it is ideal, but make sure you allow ample drying time or the lacquer top coat will pull it out of the wood causing inconsistency in color. Perhaps better instructions on bottle would make this a more user friendly product.

stephan  Pittsburgh
5 3-02-2011
This stuff is awesome!

I have 5 of the colortone stains and they always work great. They work especially well to help duplicate vintage colors.

Shane  Paul, ID. USA Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 121 – 130 < 1  ...  12  13  14  ...  16 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 39 of our latest catalog.


ColorTone® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce