Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Finishing supplies : Colors, tints, and stains : ColorTone Liquid Stains

ColorTone Liquid Stains


Read 156 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Spectacular sunbursts, vintage tints and head-turning modern colors: ColorTone concentrated stains mix with virtually any finish, and are formulated specifically for luthiers.

See details below

Email a friend
ColorTone Liquid Stains
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5029 Set of all 10 colors SAVE $11.10 Yes
$183.80

5032 Red mahogany Yes
$19.49

5033 Medium brown Yes
$19.49

5034 Tobacco brown Yes
$19.49

5037 Lemon yellow Yes
$19.49

5038 Cherry red Yes
$19.49

5039 Blue Yes
$19.49

5040 Black Yes
$19.49

5041 Bright green Yes
$19.49

5042 Orange Yes
$19.49

5030 Vintage amber Yes
$19.49


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

ColorTone Touchup Markers



ColorTone Mixing Sheets

Mixing Cups



Pipettes



ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer



ColorTone Touchup Markers
ColorTone Mixing Sheets
Mixing Cups
Pipettes
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
They're accurate and authentic stringed instrument colors, as researched and specified by our own guitar finishing experts—not the generic furniture colors you'll find at other suppliers.

These concentrated grain-enhancing stains are economical; a little goes a long way. Reduce them with alcohol or water to give bare wood beautiful fade-resistant color, without hiding the grain. They're versatile, too. For applying transparent color-tinted coats, ColorTone stains can be mixed directly into virtually any finish: nitrocellulose lacquer, shellac, waterbase finishes, and catalyzed varnishes or lacquers.

Available in 2-ounce bottles, in the most popular stringed instrument colors. SAVE when you order the set of all ten!

Make wood grain come alive!
ColorTone liquid stains are lightfast metal-complex dyes that can be mixed for practically any desired intensity. Unlike off-the-shelf hardware store stains, they're formulated for guitar finishing. One 2-ounce bottle makes two quarts of stain at normal concentration. Because they're liquids, they can be measured precisely for critical color matching—a plus for refinishing and touchup work. (See our handy stain mixing cups and pipettes.)

Questions about finishing? Look here first:
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step

California Residents: Click here for Proposition 65 information
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
ColorTone Liquid Stains
ColorTone Liquid Stains
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 156 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  16 >
5 1-17-2014
Vintage Amber = Fender Butterscotch

I used the Vintage Amber - 1/4 oz. per 8 oz. cup of water and it is an exact match for Fender Telecaster "butterscotch" after 3 coats. Seal it with some shiny stuff and it's dead on, with the same high grain reveal. (Of course it does good bursts too, but so do a lot of stains. So I thought that was worthy of mention.)

RichEss  Denver, Colorado USA Read my reviews (7)
5 1-14-2014
Squid Ink

Man, this stuff is concentrated. I was mixing 1/4 oz. of Tobacco Brown with 8 oz. of water. Poured it slowly into the cup of water, and watched it just explode. So you get your money's worth, 3 ounces will last me a long time. The only problem I have is getting the cap off without making a mess. I did break the little red cap on one of my bottles, I used some aluminum foil shielding tape to repair it, works like a champ now. But do be careful about that. The colors are luxurious, you recognize them the moment you see them on the wood to be the same as you've seen on guitars all your life. These stains mix well with tru oil, to tint your finish before you apply it, just a drop or few will do it. Beautiful effect.

RichEss  Denver, Colorado USA Read my reviews (7)
5 1-08-2014
Really brings that "3D" effect to wood grain!

I recently used cherry red in my first build and I couldn't be happier with the results! The color is perfect match comparing to vintage LP specials and it was very easy to mix and apply. In the picture the lacquer is just sprayed and dried. Highly recommendable to anyone looking for the correct gibson cherry. Thank you Stewmac for offering such a great product!

Samuel Kaivola  Vreta, Finland Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 12-23-2013
Awesome color!

Used the Yellow, Brown, and Black to restore a 63 Strat. Perfect color match to the original! Thanks Colortone and Stewmac!!!

Tom H  Lonoke AR Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 11-06-2013
Work like a charm

These mix well with nitro, water base, shellac, and even epoxy lacquers that I've tried. You can mix the different stains to obtain shades in between the the basic colors.

Larry Nair, Tahoe Guitar Co.  Gardnerville NV Read my reviews (7)
5 8-25-2013
THIS PRODUCT IS GOOD!

Recently purchased from StewMac cherry red Color-Tone dye to be used on my first guitar kit and must say I was truly amazed at this product as it was so easy to use and produced great results. I now have a gorgeous LP style guitar which I would put up against the real thing as far as appearance is concerned. I'm currently constructing an ES335 kit using the Color-Tone vintage amber dye and it is coming out beautiful as well. This a great product and keep in mind, as others have pointed out, the dye is highly contrated and must be measured in drops! A little bit goes a long way and don't forget to wear gloves. As always, Stew-Mac customer service was professional and friendly.

JIM FREELAND  PEMBROKE PINES FL
Customer supplied image for review
5 8-23-2013
ColorTone Liquid Stains Review

These stains are great! they were cheap and easy to get my hands on. the colours were perfect, mixed really well with water and each other. I made a dark purple ink by mixing red, blue and black stains. The color was literally perfect, exaclty how i wanted it, there were no patches of blue or red on the guitars wood, they mixed perfectly. easy to use, a bit messy but thats all my fault. overall, this product is great! really good buy and really affordable. I cant wait to use it on my next project!

paul musolino  australia
5 8-06-2013
Vintage Amber Stain

I built a project distressed Tele that turned out great. The unfinished maple neck I purchased just looked too "new" on the guitar. I tinted the neck with the Vintage Amber stain and it looks fantastic! This stain is great to work with and easy to clean up. Highly recomended!

Dave Ward  Oklahoma City, OK Read my reviews (14)
5 8-03-2013
Love the Green!

Could not be simpler to use. I just mixed with some water and rubbed it directly on my maple top. This is a pic after first sealer coat.

ParkOLewis  Denver, CO Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
5 7-27-2013
Blue color tone stain

It's stain...just be careful of how much you add to your clearcoats, if that is what you are doing. It's got a kick, but it looks great!! I am using Behlen vinyl sealer and Behlen nirocellulose lacquer. This particular guitar body needs a few more clearcoats and is not finished yet, but the color is done and I love it!

Perry Colomb  Whitehall, New York Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  16 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 39 of our latest catalog.


ColorTone® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce