Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Finishing supplies : Colors, tints, and stains : ColorTone Liquid Stains

ColorTone Liquid Stains


Read 156 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Spectacular sunbursts, vintage tints and head-turning modern colors: ColorTone concentrated stains mix with virtually any finish, and are formulated specifically for luthiers.

See details below

Email a friend
ColorTone Liquid Stains
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5029 Set of all 10 colors SAVE $11.10 Yes
$183.80

5032 Red mahogany Yes
$19.49

5033 Medium brown Yes
$19.49

5034 Tobacco brown Yes
$19.49

5037 Lemon yellow Yes
$19.49

5038 Cherry red Yes
$19.49

5039 Blue Yes
$19.49

5040 Black Yes
$19.49

5041 Bright green Yes
$19.49

5042 Orange Yes
$19.49

5030 Vintage amber Yes
$19.49


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

ColorTone Touchup Markers



ColorTone Mixing Sheets

Mixing Cups



Pipettes



ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer



ColorTone Touchup Markers
ColorTone Mixing Sheets
Mixing Cups
Pipettes
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
They're accurate and authentic stringed instrument colors, as researched and specified by our own guitar finishing experts—not the generic furniture colors you'll find at other suppliers.

These concentrated grain-enhancing stains are economical; a little goes a long way. Reduce them with alcohol or water to give bare wood beautiful fade-resistant color, without hiding the grain. They're versatile, too. For applying transparent color-tinted coats, ColorTone stains can be mixed directly into virtually any finish: nitrocellulose lacquer, shellac, waterbase finishes, and catalyzed varnishes or lacquers.

Available in 2-ounce bottles, in the most popular stringed instrument colors. SAVE when you order the set of all ten!

Make wood grain come alive!
ColorTone liquid stains are lightfast metal-complex dyes that can be mixed for practically any desired intensity. Unlike off-the-shelf hardware store stains, they're formulated for guitar finishing. One 2-ounce bottle makes two quarts of stain at normal concentration. Because they're liquids, they can be measured precisely for critical color matching—a plus for refinishing and touchup work. (See our handy stain mixing cups and pipettes.)

Questions about finishing? Look here first:
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step

California Residents: Click here for Proposition 65 information
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
ColorTone Liquid Stains
ColorTone Liquid Stains
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 156 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  16 >
5 7-25-2013
Les Paul Love.

Absolute best. I used the vintage amber on this Les Paul build. All it takes is some patience and love.

Dakotahwithanh  Rapid City
Customer supplied image for review
5 7-19-2013
Not Just for Guitars

I am amazed. 50 year old gunstocks look like presentation grade heirlooms after I am done with them using this line of wood dye. This is a striped and flamed walnut stock with a Vintage Amber, Red and Tobacco Brown burst.

Everlasting Arms  Atlanta, GA
Customer supplied image for review
5 7-17-2013
Great products

I used the medium brown to start and bring out the grain then went over it with a couple coats of the orange mixed up nice and dark and got a brilliant orange tone with nice dark grain. The picture is before I put the gloss finish coat over.

JustinH2  CT, USA
Customer supplied image for review
5 7-16-2013
Best available

Great Dyes. They mix great, they spray great and they look great. I was spraying outside a few days ago, and forgot a color board I made, left it outside for 4 days. It rained like crazy one night and the rest of the time the sun has been beating down at about 100 degrees every day. I found the board today and the colors made with these dyes are completely unchanged, un-faded and didn't melt in the rain. Nothing. This also speaks very highly for the Seagrave lacquer which I will review when im done with my guitar, and I can post a picture.

Blackplates  Aberdeen Md. Read my reviews (14)
5 7-03-2013
Stew mac Stain

Easy to use and the ability to mix to get a custom color was cake. I was most scared of this part of my guitar's facelift, and it turned out to be the easiest part of the project.

Koury73  Houston TX
Customer supplied image for review
5 6-27-2013
Super color...

Got a few colors to try a stain job on a flame maple top... Black first to color the low spots then a mix of cherry and mahogany for the main color... Love it...

T Jones  Chester, MT Read my reviews (39)
Customer supplied image for review
5 6-27-2013
Vintage Amber & Tobacco Brown - sunburst on flame maple

Really loved working with this product for my first big finishing project. I used the vintage amber and tobacco brown colors diluted in water. Test on scrap to get your ratios right. Prep the wood first to avoid splotching. For the body below I put a coat of dark brown, sanded it back, then a coat of amber, then brown around the edges, working it in with a wet rag, then amber, and work that out. For the neck I just used the amber. Both are sealed with Tru-oil. The amber looked a little yellow-ish at first but after drying it has a nice hue. In high concentrations the tobacco brown can be used to basically give a deep brown/black tone. Really great stuff.

kyledix  Philadelphia, PA
Customer supplied image for review
5 6-04-2013
So easy to use and great results!

I mixed with water and used a foam brush applicator. Started a little light and then added more stain to darken. I worked with a dropper and just a few oz. of water at a time and counted the drops of stain. I was just so happy with the results. I'll definitely use again.

TheBicycleGuy  Morris Plains, NJ
Customer supplied image for review
5 5-23-2013
colour tone

Great product and a little goes a long way, mixes with all finish types which is a great bonus, I like to mix it with water but that's just my personal choice... :)

Rob the luthier  Scotland Read my reviews (8)
5 5-17-2013
Spot On

Thanks Stewart MacDonald. Worked perfect for a tint on a lacquer finish on a older guitar restoration. Blends in nice.

R&M Guitars  Dunnellon, FL
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  16 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 39 of our latest catalog.


ColorTone® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce