Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tuners : Banjo tuners : Economy Banjo Tuners

Economy Banjo Tuners


Read 20 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Money-saving set of 5. We offer this complete set of 5 tuners as a low-cost alternative for banjos with simple peghead shapes.

See details below

Email a friend
Economy Banjo Tuners
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5017 Nickel, set of 5 Yes
$12.76
3 or more $11.48  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Five-Star Banjo Tuning Pegs



Nashville Banjo Tailpiece



Banjo Bracket Hooks



Five-Star Head



5-String Banjo Bridges



Five-Star Banjo Tuning Pegs
Nashville Banjo Tailpiece
Banjo Bracket Hooks
Five-Star Head
5-String Banjo Bridges



Details
 Pictures
Specs
The set includes four open-gear guitar-style tuners, plus bushings to adapt the tuners for 3/8"-diameter pegholes.

These tuners have 14:1 ratio and include mounting screws. The non-geared friction 5th string peg has a tension screw. All tuners have pearloid plastic knobs.

(Note: Our replacement knobs will not fit these tuners.)

To be sure these tuners fit your instrument, compare your existing machines and peghole dimensions to our listed specs to help determine the best replacement.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Economy Banjo Tuners
Economy Banjo Tuners
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 20 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2
4 3-11-2012
A good set of replacement tuners

These tuners worked well as replacement for an "economy" banjo that came into my shop recently. The banjo had a broken 5th string tuner. Rather than just replace the 5th string tuner, I decided to spend the extra couple of bucks to make sure everything matched.

The 5th string tuner was a tight fit, but installed without any modification to the existing hole. This set matches well with many of the inexpensive banjos on the market - no mods needed.

John Bushouse  Indianapolis, IN Read my reviews (2)
5 1-26-2012
Excellent "vintage" 5th string tuner

I searched high & low for a suitable, vintage-looking 5th tuner for an 1890 banjo. This is the best I found (e.g., with relatively thin, untapered plug, although I can't find a "vintage" tightening screw). The four other tuners will go on my next cigarbox project.

The StewMac ivoroid knob ($0.88) can be made to fit perfectly with a few strokes of a file. (File the plastic, not the brass if possible.)

David Politzer  Pasadena CA
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-22-2012
Good Deal

These are "guitar style" 14:1 ratio tuners with a 5th string friction tuner. I used these on an Old Vega folk style banjo that had been retrofitted with friction tuners that were budget grade, hard to tune and didn't stay in tune. I could tell by the back of the headstock that the original tuners where similar to the #5017's.
The install was easy. I had to dowel the 5th string hole and re-bore.

The spec sheet on this website helped with the proper drill bit size for the re-bore. I added a drop or two of "crazy glue" to the 5th string tuner and it set up fast and functions perfect.
Tuned up the banjo and it stays in tune very nicely. Why did I go with 14:1 guitar style tuners? Quick answer, I don't change tunings much or change tunings on the fly so I don't require 4:1 ratio's.

The 14:1's come up to tune at increments allowing for very precise tuning and stay there. These are nicely finished and are functioning very well indeed. Thanks StewMac for a good quality tuner set at a great price! It is the perfect refreshment project and brings this old Vega back to the original configuration.

Georgio  Gloucester, VA Read my reviews (11)
4 8-13-2011
Economy Banjo Tuners

I use a lot of these for my cigar box banjos. Overall, a great product, particularly the 5th string peg, with its no-reaming-required straight sides. Also, for a friction peg, it's smoother in operation than others I've used. The four geared tuners work smoothly, too, and have held up well for years. I only wish they'd replace those big, ugly plastic bushings with simple metal ones, which I currently have to buy separately (Stew-Mac #0733).

Todd Treadway  Lakewood, CO Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
2 6-18-2011
One was a little funky

I wasn't expecting a whole lot with these. They are "economy" after all. For the most part they work fine but on one of them the actual peg doesn't always catch with the gear and so that makes it a bit tricky. It's nothing you can't live with, shoot the whole instrument is "economy" anyway but I probably wouldn't put them on anything special.

theajthomas  Halifax, NS, Canada Read my reviews (3)
4 1-10-2011
Good replacements

I needed a set of tuners for an old budget banjo. The client was just trying to restore it to playable condition without spending much money. The original tuners were completely shot. After installing the "economy" tuners the banjo stays in tune and the pearl buttons added a nice touch.

Thanks for a quality replacement part that doesn't break the bank.

Robert Bayer  St. Peters, MO. Read my reviews (11)
4 12-15-2010
Econ banjo tuners

Inexpensive. Fit perfectly. Work fine. Saved me a bundle and did the same job. They are not for Stellings or Gibsons, but for Asian trading stock banjos, PERFECT.

nobanjotom  Clinton, NC Read my reviews (2)
5 9-11-2010
They work just fine

They sure were cheap, and they work just fine.

Polk Salad Annie  USA
5 9-10-2010
just what i needed

Great alternative to pricey tuners, that work great

kigice  cleveland hts, oh
5 7-03-2010
Fine tuners

I like these a lot, they surely got me Banjo back on track from wore out ones fer sher.

bomark2002  WV Read my reviews (10)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2 /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 83 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce