Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Finishing supplies : Finishes and solvents : Behlen Nitrocellulose Stringed Instrument Lacquer : Behlen Nitrocellulose Stringed Instrument Lacquer

Behlen Nitrocellulose Stringed Instrument Lacquer


Read 35 Reviews   |   Write a Review

A hard, durable finish that's less brittle and more flexible than standard furniture lacquer.

See details below

Email a friend
Behlen Nitrocellulose Stringed Instrument Lacquer
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4841 1 quart
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$21.79
4 or more $19.57  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer



Blush Eraser



Fisheye Flowout



ColorTone Liquid Stains



ColorTone Liquid Pigment for Lacquer



ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
Blush Eraser
Fisheye Flowout
ColorTone Liquid Stains
ColorTone Liquid Pigment for Lacquer



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
Stringed Instrument Lacquer is specifically formulated to accommodate the expansion and contraction of wooden instruments.

Stringed Instrument Lacquer finish has better resistance to cold-checking and scuffs than standard furniture lacquer. It's ready to spray with no thinning required, for faster finish build-up in multiple coats. This lacquer is designed for use on wood which has been sealed with Behlen Vinyl Sealer, or on unfinished wood.

One can goes a long way!
1 quart will finish 1 acoustic guitar body & neck.
1 quart will finish 2 entire mandolins.
1 quart will finish 2 to 3 solid guitar or bass bodies.
1 quart will finish 3 to 5 electric guitar or bass necks.
1 quart will finish 4 ukuleles.
1 quart will finish 2 to 3 dulcimers.
1 quart will finish 2 to 3 banjo rims and necks.
Keep in mind there are many application variables: your spray gun adjustments, PSI used, how heavy the coats are applied, number of coats, and desired thickness on your instrument.

Lacquer products are flammable! They cannot be shipped outside the USA nor shipped by air within the USA. Nitrocellulose lacquer products should not be used with acrylic lacquers.

California Residents: Click here for Proposition 65 information
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Behlen Nitrocellulose Stringed Instrument Lacquer
Behlen Nitrocellulose Stringed Instrument Lacquer
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 35 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4 >
5 9-26-2011
Awesome to work with

I used to paint cars so I had some experience with lacquers. The Behlen lacquer went on easy and has a great looking finish after polishing. I would recomend this to everyone no matter if you have sprayed lacquer before or not.

KP Custom  Refton, PA Read my reviews (2)
4 7-20-2011
Behlen Lacquer

I have been using Sherwin Williams Nitrocellulose lacquer for a long time. It is becoming hard to get. I tried the Behlen nitrocellulose lacquer instead. It works fine. I find that I can rub it out in far less wait time than the directions state.

It is more expensive than the S/W lacquer but it works fine and I don't encounter the "we cant get that anymore" attitude from my local paint store.

ed dowling  sedona Read my reviews (6)
5 6-24-2011
Liquid Glass

This lacquer is ideal for musical instruments because it can be applied very thin, allowing the natural resonance of the instrument to come through. Needs to dry thoroughly, but once dry, holds dimension and finish very well. Does not build up excessive thickness in repeated layering...the ideal Nitro coating for any stringed instrument.

tlizzard  Costa Mesa Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 6-20-2011
Works Great

We paint most of our guitars in the repair shop with this. It took a couple of tries to get the thinning mixture correct to flow for our application. Very nice burn in for repair and successive coats. Here is a pic of a gibson melody maker that we refinished the top from tobaccoburst to a greyburst and then installed a bigsby for our customer. -Matt Dreher

Spider Web Music  Howland- Warren, Ohio Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-23-2011
Give it a chance

I've sprayed a lot of lacquer, but not the Behlen. Frankly, after spraying all of the recommended build coats and sanding as spec'd, I was a little concerned. But after sanding and buffing, the look is spectacular. I haven't seen a factory finish that would be any better.

W.E.Stansell  Atlanta, GA
5 3-16-2011
Works great. Don't use there reducer

The lacquer and sealer both work great and go along way. However Stew. Mac. recommends that on the final coat you mix 50/50 lacquer and reducer. bad idea. It sprayed well, but about 10 min. later it blistered all the way back to the wood. I used it on a custom flying V guitar I built and did NOT reduce on the final coat and it turned out GREAT.

I will use it again, not the reducer though. I'll use other lacquer reducer to clean my spray guns.

McNeiley Custom Luthiery  Montana Read my reviews (2)
5 3-12-2011
I love Behlen products.. This nirto is superb!

I have been using Behlen on all my guitars for over 10 years now.
I love how it goes on smooth every time. Sands out great.. buffs out great. Gives you that old look finish. Not a plastic watery look like the new stuff they use on guitars.
I will take a nitro finish any day.
And Behlen is my choice of laquers

ADDIE  Calif Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
5 12-15-2010
Excellent FInish

I have used Behlem Nitro in refinishing gutars and where I have repaired guitars. I use Behlem reducer and mix the color material I need to match the wood I am repairing. With proper buffing it gives an excellent finish. The lacquer is not so hard it scratches easly, but is not too soft.
A lot of the work I do is on Epiphone and Gibson guitars; repairing broken necks and broken heads.
I conclude my finish with 6 coats of clear Lacquer mixed 50/50 with Behlen reducer.

Merle, NC  Read my reviews (6)
4 11-10-2010
Does the Job

Up to this point, I have used McFaddens, but with McFaddens now being pretty much unavailable, I tried the Behlen. It doesn't seem to build quite as quickly as the McFaddens, but it does cure quickly and cures crystal clear. I shoot my finish through an HVLP gun, and I get good results with the product as it comes from the can. Overall, I was satisfied and will continue to use the Behlen.

Everett  Alachua, Florida Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
5 11-05-2010
Behlen Nitrocellulose Laquer

I finished a vintage mandolin and it turned out great. It was my first time finishing an instrument. I just followed the directions on the can and what a wonderful finish!!!

Curt  Vienna WV. U.S.A. Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 38 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce