Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Nuts, saddles : String nuts : TUSQ Nuts

TUSQ Nuts


Read 31 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Man-made ivory from Graph Tech! Available in convenient ready-made shapes and sizes, TUSQ® nuts are preferred by many guitarmakers for rich tone and sustain.

See details below

Email a friend
TUSQ Nuts
 

For Fender® guitars and basses
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
TUSQ Nuts  4750  Slotted
1-3/8" (35.05mm) string spread
1-3/4" x 3/16" x 1/8"
(44.45mm x 4.45mm x 3.12mm)
7-1/4" (184.15mm) top and bottom radius
Yes
$13.35
6 or more $6.99  
12 or more $6.29  

TUSQ Nuts  1883  Slotted for guitar
1-3/8" (35.05mm) string spread
1-3/4" x 1/4" x 1/8"
(44.07mm x 6.14mm x 3.40mm)
7-1/4" (184.15mm) top radius; flat bottom
Yes
$13.35
6 or more $6.99  
12 or more $6.29  


For Gibson® guitars
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
TUSQ Nuts  1885  Slotted
1-7/16" (36.20mm) string spread
1-3/4" x 11/32" x 3/16"
(44.07mm x 8.36mm x 4.98mm)
16" (406.40mm) top radius
Yes
$13.35
6 or more $6.99  
12 or more $6.29  


For Epiphone® guitars
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
TUSQ Nuts  1874  Slotted
1-3/8" (34.70mm) string spread
1-3/4" x 3/8" x 1/4"
(43.99mm x 9.19mm x 6.14mm)
14" (355.60mm) top radius
Yes
$13.35
6 or more $6.99  
12 or more $6.29  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

TUSQ Saddles



Micarta Nuts



String Spacing Rule



Dan Erlewines Nut Making Step-By-Step



Double-edge Nut Files



TUSQ Saddles
Micarta Nuts
String Spacing Rule
Dan Erlewine's Nut Making Step-By-Step
Double-edge Nut Files



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
TUSQ is an advanced polymer that's formed under high heat and pressure for uniform density. It's designed to transfer string energy more efficiently, to make guitars come alive with enhanced harmonics, volume and sustain. Final trimming required.

"TUSQ nuts and saddles have improved the sustain and clarity of our guitars. We now use them on all models." —Bob Taylor, Taylor Guitars

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
TUSQ Nuts
TUSQ Nuts
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 31 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  4 >
5 4-14-2013
Great

Tusq Never dissapoints. Quality is 100%, consistancy is 100%

TisDale Custom Guitars  Renton, WA, USA Read my reviews (52)
Customer supplied image for review
4 12-27-2012
Tusq nut

Great product, excellent string spacing, easy to install, and tone is great too. I often use these on my guitars, and recommend them to clients all the time.

Bill Wilkat  Montreal, Canada Read my reviews (4)
4 8-22-2012
Not bad

Bought this as a replacement for an Epi Les Paul. Took some work to get the fit exactly right and while I didn't find it to be a huge improvement it is better than the original.

JohnnyW  Canada Read my reviews (8)
5 7-10-2012
Great Nut

All Graph Tech nut compounds are truly an advancement in string nut technology. Like good tone woods, their string nuts also produce a tap tone (a musical note) which help to enhance tone sonically. In contrast to bone, micarta, Delrin, Corrian, plastic, horn, and other laminates, Graph Tech seems to be more uniform in consistency and easier to cut than other man-made materials and last as long as any of them as well.

Guitartec  Coventry, RI USA Read my reviews (13)
5 2-23-2012
Tusq Nuts

The only Nuts. Great Tone & sustain and are easier to work with.

Ad Cole  Brisbane Australia Read my reviews (3)
2 1-28-2012
Very misleading

I purchased a slotted pre-shaped nut for my guitar thinking it would require very minimal sanding. Not only was the nut too tall and too wide for the neck, the slots were way to shallow. Be advised that these slotted nuts may still require a heck of a lot of work to get them fitting right.

Tbone  Toronto, On
5 12-21-2011
Saved me from going "Nuts"

Slotting bone for guitar nuts has always been difficult for me. I usually build guitars with a 1-7/8" nut so the Martin style pre-slotted are perfect. Great quality and plenty of oversize to work with for fitting and adjustment. Well worth the price.

cknob  Media, PA Read my reviews (17)
5 12-16-2011
Easy Going

This pre-slotted nut took a little sanding to get the right depth and thickness but looks better than the orignal. Used this on an OLP MM2 bass. Was pre-slotted for Fender Jazz bass.

Sludgeboss  Lake Havasu City, AZ Read my reviews (2)
5 12-10-2011
Good fit, great sound

This nut is sized for Taylor guitars, but proved a near-perfect fit on an inexpensive guitar. A small wood spacer was required to fill the factory nut slot. The wider string spacing improved the playablity of this little guitar, and the Tusq material increased sustain and volume. Will use no other nut material in the future.

oldtimer  western Wisconsin, USA Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
5 11-03-2011
The best.

Outside of real bone or ivory, there is nothing better than Tusq. String spacing is always spot on, they always leave you a little meat so you can adjust to your individual instrument, top quality product. Goes on mine, and all my customer's instruments.

Josh Hohensee  Nashville TN Read my reviews (7)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  4 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 18 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce