Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Nuts, saddles : Resonator nuts, saddles : Slide Guitar Extension Nut

Slide Guitar Extension Nut


Read 24 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Designed to fit over a standard 6-string nut, this extender raises the strings to allow playing with a steel bar, Dobro-style.

See details below

Email a friend
Slide Guitar Extension Nut
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4596 Slide Guitar Extension Nut Yes
$3.77
3 or more $2.99  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Bleached White Bone Nuts



Beard Dobro Capo



Shubb-Pearse Guitar Steel



GHS Acoustic Slide Guitar Strings



Polishing Cloth



Bleached White Bone Nuts
Beard Dobro Capo
Shubb-Pearse Guitar Steel
GHS Acoustic Slide Guitar Strings
Polishing Cloth



Details
 Pictures
There's no need to modify the instrument or install a new nut; simply remove it for standard playing. The extension nut is made of nickel-plated steel, and is notched for 1-23/32" (43.66mm) string spread.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Slide Guitar Extension Nut
Slide Guitar Extension Nut
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 24 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3 >
5 3-22-2014
Slide guitar extension nut

I've wanted a lap steel for many years now. With the Slide guitar extension nut I took an old guitar and made it into a lap guitar without any mods to the guitar. This is a great product

MarioD  Upper Western New York State
5 3-09-2014
Love it!

I can't remember I ever have got more back for the money spent on this fabulous litte piece of metal :)

yngvegr  Norway Read my reviews (8)
5 11-10-2013
Extension nut

These work great if you want to give lap style slide a try without buying a square neck. And, Stewmac is always amazing at getting your order out to you really fast!

Ray Farnworth  Seattle,, WA Read my reviews (3)
5 10-13-2013
Just what I needed

Great Product and the best customer service anywhere! Stew-Mac Rules

Joshy_Tyree  Porltand, OR Read my reviews (2)
5 6-28-2013
Just like that...

Just like that I have a nice slide guitar. The interesting thing was seeing the look on my friends face when I showed him the little deal that does the business. A frown, a puzzled look and then the lights go on. Nice and easy. Thank you

Tewirimu  New Zealand Read my reviews (2)
5 6-14-2013
More fun than a...

...one-legged man in a butt-kicking contest! This is super cool for playing around with open tunings and getting that cool Dobro-esque tone out of sliding. You can really dig in to the strings with your slide with no worries about fretting out. And when you're done playing slide, it takes about a minute to have a normal guitar again. Makes an awesome gift for your friends and family who like to play!

Greg, Ruby-Ryder Guitars  Mesa, Arizona Read my reviews (6)
5 12-03-2012
Jake from Scotland got it right

What can I add to Jake's concise review?
1. simple to use
2. doesn't damage the guitar
3. direct improvement on tone
4. makes slide playing so much easier"

Deeve  ballard - seattle Read my reviews (3)
5 10-27-2012
Great!

I'm the guitarist of Dance On Fire, a The Doors tribute band from Mexico City. As you may know, Robby Krieger was one of the first guitarists to use slide on an electric guitar, songs such as Moonlight Drive, Wild Child, End Of The Night, etc. This little piece of metal did a great job, however it could do little damage to your fretboard's finish. Maybe it needs a little piece of rubber in the edges that make contact with wood, in order to prevent scratches.

Fernando Villarruel  Mexico
5 10-24-2012
slide guitar extension nut

1. simple to use
2. doesn't damage the guitar
3. direct improvment on tone
4.makes slide playing so much easier
This bit of kit is now essential in my gig bag. Only down side I can see is that to put the guitar back into standard non slide mode after a song could be tough. cheers stew mac for a great piece of kit

Jake A  Edinburgh scotland
5 9-01-2012
10 STARS

No doubt, it is the best in the market. Very cool. It has one huge advantage over the other NUT in the market. The angled design does not put any pressure on the fretboard and sits nice on top of the existing nut.

You need to compromise on one thing. On few open tunings where you have to go a whole step down on lower strings, the nut moves because of not enough tension to keep it in place. But for Open G,E or Dobro or C6 types, it works like a charm.

mcy  Nashville, TN USA
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 85 of our latest catalog.


Dobro® is a registered trademark of Gibson Guitar Corporation.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce