Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tuners : Guitar, solid peghead tuners : Grover Tuners : Grover 18:1 Sta-Tites

Grover 18:1 Sta-Tites


Read 50 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Grover Sta-Tite™ tuners are a modern version of a vintage design. For 3-left/3-right solid pegheads.

See details below

Email a friend
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tites
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4592 Nickel, 3L/3R Yes
$41.11
3 or more $36.99  

4592-G Gold, 3L/3R Yes
$73.32
3 or more $65.99  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Waverly Guitar Tuners with Butterbean Knobs, for Solid Pegheads



Peghead Bushing Reamers



Tri-Flow Pin Point Lubricator



Depth-stop Drill Bits



Tuner Bushing Press



Waverly Guitar Tuners with Butterbean Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
Peghead Bushing Reamers
Tri-Flow Pin Point Lubricator
Depth-stop Drill Bits
Tuner Bushing Press



Details
 Pictures
Specs
Each tuner features 18:1 gear ratio for fine tuning, a cast baseplate, vintage style scalloped knobs, and nylon worm bearings and tension screw for smooth operation.

Sets of 6 (3-left/3-right). Each set includes mounting screws and knurled press-fit peghead bushings. 11/32" (8.73mm) diameter pegholes required.

Also available for slotted pegheads.

To be sure these tuners fit your instrument, compare your existing machines and peghole dimensions to our listed specs to help determine the best replacement.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tites
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tites
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 50 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  5 >
5 2-03-2012
General Service

I would just like to say that your service has always been excellent, second to none. The parts i have recently ordered are for a restoration job on a 1931 Recording King.

Chris Newman Guitars  England
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-18-2012
Too nice

Decided to change tuners on my project guitar- you know the one kept in the shop for experiments, it would'nt stay in tune. Replacing the cheap import tuners with these made the darn thing playable. Will buy them again that's for sure. Now maybe I'll actually try that kit guitar I have had my eye on. Thanks Grover.

jeff wagner  aurora colorado
5 12-28-2011
The best you can get

I put a set of these on my Martn HD-28V to replace the standard Martin 14:1 tuners. No mod needed. The brass gear and the 18:1 upgrade on these Grovers give precise tuning and hold the tuning great.
They are 40 bucks...but on a 3000 guitar, it's well worth it.

Christopher E  Rayne, Louisiana
Customer supplied image for review
5 12-20-2011
Entry level Upgrade

I always thought the chrome-plated closed tuners on my '95 Martin D-1 did not look right, so when one of them started to fail, I used it as an excuse to upgrade with some vintage style open back tuners. I was going to go with Waverlys, but I saw a couple of reviews for the Sta-tites, and at a third the price I said "Why not".

I also ordered the wrong size conversion bushings, but was able to exchange them for the 10.5mm I needed with zero hassle. So: I got great customer service from StewMac, and my entry level guitar looks and sounds way classier. (18:1 really makes a difference.)

johnsgre  Portland, Or
5 12-04-2011
Great Tuner / Great Value

Having owned many tuners through the years, I believe that Sta-Tites are as good a functioning tuner for the price that you can get, for a vintage Style tuner! I bought 6 sets, far out-weighing the cost of Waverly's by comparison. Great looking, accurate tuners w/o any backlash associated w/ many other tuners. Clear winners at a resonable cost.

RnB  Burlingame, CA Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 11-30-2011
Great Tuners!

These tuners are awesome! They are absolutely beautiful. They really tied my head stock together. They don't slip, and seem to keep their tune well. I suggest these tuners!

Carson N.  Utah
5 11-02-2011
Very Nice

Ordered these to replace the enclosed Grover look alike tuners on an old acoustic. The gears on these are machined vs stamped on the copies. The string posts in these tuners are thicker and much more precise. Stew Mac service and shipping time is second to none.

D Graber  Vermont Read my reviews (7)
5 8-18-2011
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tites

I bought these to replace wilkinson 'snot' tuners on 335 style guitar. They've made a massive difference with tuning stability but also the strings feel different. I always felt as though the strings 'sag' when playing bends, but they feel so much more 'definite' now when playing single notes, bends and chords.

The guitar now has a more expensive playability and I do believe the tone is clearer too. I was so surprised at the range of improvements new tuners could add. I must say that open backed tuners look great on a 3 per side headstock and these fitted the kluson style footprint perfectly.

phil thorell  UK
Customer supplied image for review
5 7-07-2011
Best tuners for a quality acoustic guitar I've found.

I debated a set of Waverlys to replace the stock no-name enclosed tuners on my D-16 prototype, but after reading about Grover's improvements over their old version (14:1 - don't mistake the two, the 14:1's gave Grover a bit of a bad rep for a while!) I thought I'd try them. I was simply stunned. The guitar has very light, unusual bracing and the weight reduction at the peghead alone made a huge difference in bass focus and overall complexity - but they are the smoothest, most precise tuners of ANY type I've tried (including Waverlys). For under $50 (including conversion bushings) there's not a single thing I believe can be done to improve a good guitar's tone and stability so significantly.

Jim Sliff  Hermosa Beach CA
5 7-02-2011
Grover Sta-tite 18-1 Tuners

Excellent! Used to replace original tuners on a Vintage V300 MH all Mahogany
acoustic guitar, much better looking and much better as regards tuning!
Give me the look I wanted too!

Mick Burrows  Wolverhampton, England
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  5 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 59 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce