Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Leveling : Fret/Fingerboard Levelers

Fret/Fingerboard Levelers


Read 50 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Precision-ground for flatness.
Fast, accurate leveling tools for the pro shop.

See details below

Email a friend
Fret/Fingerboard Levelers

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4577 8" length Yes
$36.82

4578 16" length Yes
$47.94

4579 24" length Yes
$75.28

4580 Set of 3 SAVE $16.62 Yes
$143.42


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

StewMac Wide Fretwire



Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam



Dan Erlewines Fretting Series



Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files



Snapfile Leveling System



StewMac Wide Fretwire
Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam
Dan Erlewine's Fretting Series
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
Snapfile Leveling System



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Each heavyweight steel tube is precision-ground for flatness on the narrow sides. Attach abrasive to quickly level frets or unfretted fingerboards.

Sold individually or SAVE when you buy the set of all three levelers.

Each heavyweight rectangular 1" x 2" steel tube is precision-ground for flatness on two opposite sides. The tool's edges are smooth to prevent gouging.

Available in three lengths, to level any fingerboard.

Roger Sadowsky, ace builder and repairman, wrote us to say:
"I have been leveling fingerboards and frets for 30 years and thought I was pretty set in my ways. However, I have recently tried the 16" steel levelers (#4578) and man, talk about teaching an old dog new tricks! My fingerboards have never been better, and they work much better than files for leveling frets. Thank you again, StewMac!!!"

Cut and stick!
3M Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives are the right width for our leveling and radius sanding tools. Attach 80 through 220-grits for radiusing and leveling the fingerboard, and 220 through 400-grits for leveling the frets.
Works on stainless frets, too!
All of our tools are suitable for use on stainless-steel fretwire, with the exception of our Fret Tang Nippers and Fret Cutters. Modern stainless-steel fretwire is known to be harder than the traditional nickel-silver blends, but our own shop experience indicates the wire does not cause premature wear of files or sandpapers.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fret/Fingerboard Levelers
Fret/Fingerboard Levelers
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 50 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  5 >
5 8-20-2012
Solid

Levels the frets with just the weight of the bar. Makes things easy.

Aleface  Randolph, MA Read my reviews (3)
5 8-08-2012
You Get What You Pay For

This is as basic a tool as you can get, yet if it isn't precisely straight it's worthless in fret work. This tool is precise and as a busy repair shop it has paid for itself in no time. Forget the makeshift levellers and just buy one of these. If you want precise work you need precise tools. This one qualifies. Very pleased.

Patrick Patten, Patten Guitars  Fredericton, NB Canada Read my reviews (6)
5 7-15-2012
Got to have it!!

Straight and heavy. You can use this tool to level the frets quick and easy. It is so heavy you just let the tool do the work.

Gary at SharpenYourAxxe  Oakton Virginia Read my reviews (5)
5 7-06-2012
Fret/Fingerboard Levelers

A quality tool.

Gusty  Ro Read my reviews (91)
5 6-18-2012
Makes your fret level jobs a breeze

With the right tool any body can do a fret job and this is the right tool. The weight does most of the work for you. It is solid built and will last forever. The only draw back is it is a little $$$.

abilbay  Ft Worth, TX Read my reviews (12)
5 5-27-2012
Better than you might think

I didn't know what to expect when I ordered this - would it be any better than something flat I could find around the shop instead? It is heavier than expected, and dead-flat. The heft prevents chatter and lets gravity do the work. Very nice - I'm glad I went for it!

quipquot  Newburyport, MA
5 5-11-2012
Perfect tool!

This made quick work of correcting a poorly manufactured neck. Combined with your fret files it was a 30 minute repair

Tim d  Unionville
5 5-06-2012
Perfect Tool

I've only had this leveler for a short time and already tackled 3 jobs with confidence. This leveler is a must for a consistent, quality fret level project. I purchased the 16" which has great weight and balance and I find that all I need to focus on is short, easy motion, the tool does all the work for you!

Chard  Walla Walla, Wa. Read my reviews (2)
4 3-19-2012
Use neck support and caution.

I bought the 24-inch version to level bass guitar necks. I had previously used a 6-inch whetstone. While the whetstone worked fine, I was always bothered by the fact that with a shorter stone/file, you never really know whether fret 1 is the same height as fret 20.

With this, you do, but you must use it with caution. The nice thing about the bar is that it is very heavy -- you can let the weight of the bar do the work, and not have to worry whether you're using the same amount of hand pressure. However, you MUST MUST MUST use some kind of neck support, such as the $11 neck caul also sold at StewMac. If you do not, the weight of the bar will cause the neck to deflect in the middle. This will cause the neck to sag in the middle and bow -- which means you'll be removing more material from the high and low frets than the middle. That's no good.

The other con of this unit is that the flat ground surface is only an inch wide, which means you really need to be careful about following the radius of the fingerboard and about staying true to the string path down the neck. Another con is that the stickit paper is only available in 320 rather than 600. 320 is still pretty aggressive for anything but serious leveling and leaves a lot of marks.

All in all, this tool has no equal if you use it right. But you must do learn to do just that. (Or else, like me, you'll have a neck that needs a re-fret.) However, I'd say that for most home users, it would be better to get one of the shorter leveling files or the diamond coated levelers. And no matter what you get, order one of the fret rockers.

Steve N  Santa Barbara, California Read my reviews (3)
5 11-06-2011
works great

I have used the leveler 4 times and it work great. Keep up the good work.

Set-up Technician  Solon,Ohio Read my reviews (18)
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  5 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 4 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce