Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Leveling : Fret/Fingerboard Levelers

Fret/Fingerboard Levelers


Read 50 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Precision-ground for flatness.
Fast, accurate leveling tools for the pro shop.

See details below

Email a friend
Fret/Fingerboard Levelers

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4577 8" length Yes
$36.82

4578 16" length Yes
$47.94

4579 24" length Yes
$75.28

4580 Set of 3 SAVE $16.62 Yes
$143.42


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

StewMac Wide Fretwire



Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam



Dan Erlewines Fretting Series



Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files



Snapfile Leveling System



StewMac Wide Fretwire
Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam
Dan Erlewine's Fretting Series
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
Snapfile Leveling System



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Each heavyweight steel tube is precision-ground for flatness on the narrow sides. Attach abrasive to quickly level frets or unfretted fingerboards.

Sold individually or SAVE when you buy the set of all three levelers.

Each heavyweight rectangular 1" x 2" steel tube is precision-ground for flatness on two opposite sides. The tool's edges are smooth to prevent gouging.

Available in three lengths, to level any fingerboard.

Roger Sadowsky, ace builder and repairman, wrote us to say:
"I have been leveling fingerboards and frets for 30 years and thought I was pretty set in my ways. However, I have recently tried the 16" steel levelers (#4578) and man, talk about teaching an old dog new tricks! My fingerboards have never been better, and they work much better than files for leveling frets. Thank you again, StewMac!!!"

Cut and stick!
3M Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives are the right width for our leveling and radius sanding tools. Attach 80 through 220-grits for radiusing and leveling the fingerboard, and 220 through 400-grits for leveling the frets.
Works on stainless frets, too!
All of our tools are suitable for use on stainless-steel fretwire, with the exception of our Fret Tang Nippers and Fret Cutters. Modern stainless-steel fretwire is known to be harder than the traditional nickel-silver blends, but our own shop experience indicates the wire does not cause premature wear of files or sandpapers.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fret/Fingerboard Levelers
Fret/Fingerboard Levelers
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 50 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  5 >
4 5-08-2013
nice

Be sure to clean before putting sandpaper on.16" is more than enough but 8" might have been a bit short for me. I used to use a piece of teak that I had run through the jointer but this is nicer and sturdy enough to clamp with.

Rob Eggers  Leavenworth, WA Read my reviews (2)
5 4-04-2013
perfect for the job

I recently bought the 8" leveler to replace my 6" block of aluminum,and it is the perfect width and super flat.I think the 16" is in order for even better accuracy.

Neville Guitars  Hermansville,MI.USA Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-23-2013
A quick tip for the road

I've been using these for some time now, and they are simple and works great; good result every time. HOWEVER; after some use, the adhesive from attaching sandpaper will stick to the leveller and make a mess..... You can use some solvents to get the adhesive off the surface, but if you to want to prevent this from happening, you'll want to create a "lower-stick" surface. Grab the nearest candle, gently stroke it on the surface and even it out using a rag or even the palm of your hand. The adhesive will stay on, but it will not make a mess of your tool.

Preben Kobro  Arendal, Norway Read my reviews (8)
4 3-18-2013
Must have for fretwork

I bought the smallest 8" leveler at first, due to the tip in the video, but later i bought the 16" lenght and that is the one i use the most. Wooden radius blocks should also be used, but you can get a good radius by moving it sideways. This, and rolls of stikit sandpaper (5772) and you are good for many fretlevelings.

Tim Skau  Norway Read my reviews (17)
4 3-09-2013
Good but you also need a radius leveler

This tool is good for fret leveling but you can't get a perfect uniform radius with it. You should always use a radius leveler too.

Luís Gil  Portugal Read my reviews (7)
5 1-21-2013
Big timesaver

I used this item with Stikit sandpaper for the first time on my last build.What used to take hours with a Fret Rocker and file was done in a matter of minutes.

Mark Harper  Lexington KY Read my reviews (44)
5 1-11-2013
Best tool in the shop

This is a must for any tech. Its one of the most used tools in my workshop.

CA Guitarworks  UK Read my reviews (9)
Customer supplied image for review
5 12-29-2012
Fabulous!

I used to use a nice aluminum carpenter's level for this, but I lost that years ago. I just got the 16" Leveler, and used it to level the fingerboard on a bass, and then to level the frets. It got the fingerboard to nice and flat that I had to hardly remove any material from the frets! It's heft does all the work, and I was done in much less time than when I used shorter levelers. Highly recommended.

David Schwab - SGD Lutherie  Bloomfield, NJ Read my reviews (3)
5 11-11-2012
Love it!

I bought the 16" length. It is the perfect fit for leveling the guitar FB. I love the weight of it. The curved edges prevent the edges of the sandpaper from scoring the work while leveling. It is an excellent value for the money! I'll be buying the 8" one before I glue the FB on my next uke

Beth Mayer  Tucson, AZ Read my reviews (9)
5 9-18-2012
My favourite tool for frets and fingerboards.

My go-to tool for frets and fingerboards, allows me to follow the string-lie. The weight behind the tool helps it do most of the work itself, without you having to put your back into it.

Greg Robinson - Guitar & Amplifier Technician  Melbourne, Australia Read my reviews (54)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  5 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 4 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce