Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Fretting : Fret Press Caul

Fret Press Caul


Read 73 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Use your drill press! Our self-leveling steel fretting caul has a 3/8" shank to fit your shop arbor press or your drill press.

See details below

Email a friend
Fret Press Caul
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4365 Caul with 5 brass inserts Yes
$53.67

4366 Caul only Yes
$39.42


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Fret Press Inserts



StewMac Wide Fretwire



Dan Erlewines Fretting Series



Fret Arbor Press System



Jaws



Fret Press Inserts
StewMac Wide Fretwire
Dan Erlewine's Fretting Series
Fret Arbor Press System
Jaws



Details
 Pictures
Includes five grooved/radiused brass inserts (6", 7-1/4", 9-1/2", 12" and 16").

Additional radii are available: Fret Press Inserts

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fret Press Caul
Fret Press Caul
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 73 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  8 >
5 6-04-2013
I love it!

Fretting is so much easier with the caul. Get them in, get it done, move on. Leave the hammers to the carpenters.

Scott C  Atlanta GA Read my reviews (10)
5 5-29-2013
Good investment

After years of smacking frets in with a hammer this is one of the best tools I've bought, and no mre pounding on beautiful instruments.

RLowVaughn  Boise, Id. Read my reviews (19)
Customer supplied image for review
5 5-21-2013
Quiet, Good and Consistent !!!!!

easy fit on any Drill Press also you can adapt it to almost any Arbor Press. Thank You StewMac!!!!!!!!!!

Salazar Guitar Garage  Hermosillo Sonora Mexico Read my reviews (6)
5 5-17-2013
Works great.

Works great with just a simple drill press. Frets must be radiused correctly for best results.

Shannon Greenlaw  Halifax CANADA Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
5 4-21-2013
Very quiet and consistent

If you can, try to press the frets. Not only will your customers be happier (and this would mean more customers), but it's also a lot quieter to press frets than hammer them. I have received many noise complaints from neighbors by hammering frets because especially on larger, difficult to hammer frets the operation was very noisy. The only downfall to this is that you can't really do this with acoustic guitars over the soundboard, and it's also harder on set neck guitars such as most Gibson guitars. You can probably angle the caul in your drill press to reach it, assuming your drill press is large enough. If you live overseas get this one, and modify a stock arbor press you get from your country to fit this... otherwise use your drill press. The Stewmac arbor press system may cost too much to ship overseas, this adapter is much lighter.

Tai Fu  Taiwan Read my reviews (20)
5 4-04-2013
Very usefull !

I fix it in my drill, and frets are enjoy to down in the slot precisely. Nice tool!!!

ATELIER D WURTZ  france Read my reviews (2)
5 3-25-2013
Fret caul

Works brilliantly in my drill press.

fullwedge  Cornwall on Hudson, NY Read my reviews (21)
5 3-17-2013
Mão na roda

Uma ótima ferrenta. Facilita muito minhas reformas.

Kleber Villa  Brotas - SP - Brasil
5 2-24-2013
Works good

I needed the 7.5" radius for an old Tele that I was doing a partial refret on but I bought the whole set assuming I'd need the other radiuses eventually. Sure enough, a week later a repair project came in with a 9.5" radius. This is a great set, easy to use with my bench drill press as an arbor.

Tom Sawyer (really!)  Vernon, CT Read my reviews (9)
5 12-05-2012
Simple, Effective...RESULTS!

I'm always looking for ways to minimize clutter and maximize space. I thought about getting the whole arbor press rig, but when I realized this set would work with my drill press, it was a no-brainer! I get fast and consistent fret setting, which compounds itself in less time and effort on leveling AND crowning.

LWood  Millbury, MA Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  8 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 10 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce