Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Finishing supplies : Colors, tints, and stains : Black Fingerboard Stain

Black Fingerboard Stain


Read 49 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Ebony in a bottle!
Makes streaked ebony fingerboards and bridges uniformly black.

See details below

Email a friend
Black Fingerboard Stain
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4236 Black Fingerboard Stain
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$7.10


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Glue Brush



Behlen Naphtha Solvent



ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil



Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step



Glue Brush
Behlen Naphtha Solvent
ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step



Details
 Pictures
The days of harvesting uniformly black ebony wood are rapidly fading—in fact, most ebony today is streaked with brown and gray. Fiebing’s black stain is a long-time guitar factory favorite for making ebony uniformly black (“ebonizes” other woods, too). LeatherColor™ is the new environmentally-friendlier formula. Wipe on, and wipe off the excess as needed.

Use it to darken new or old ebony fingerboards, bridges, tailpieces and peghead veneers on guitars, violins, mandolins and banjos. Unlike other black stains, Fiebings won't leave a bluish tint.
4-ounce bottle.

Tip: Clean the wood with naphtha and sand to 600-grit before staining. Mask off neck bindings, the nut, and any other areas you don't want to stain. Apply with a clean cloth or a brush, and be sure to wear protective gloves.

For ebony streaks, use black fingerboard stain
How Gibson and PRS get such good-looking ebony fingerboards
For ebony streaks, use black fingerboard stain Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman shows why black fingerboard stain is a standard item in any guitarmaker’s shop, including the big name builders.
Read more...

Subscribe now
California Residents: Click here for Proposition 65 information
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Black Fingerboard Stain
Black Fingerboard Stain
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 49 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  5 >
5 7-03-2012
Fingerboard Stain

Darkening my ebony fretboard couldn't have been easier. This stuff turned the ebony as black as night and its very uniform in color. Excellent buy.

Jake DeWitt  Amherst, OH Read my reviews (2)
3 6-23-2012
Black isn't 'black'

Good product, and easy to work with, but we wish it were more of a true 'black'; it often comes out looking rather purple, much like a Sharpie. Multiple applications don't really make a difference.

Acoustic Corner  Black Mountain NC Read my reviews (2)
5 6-13-2012
Careful with those fingers!

If you get this on your skin, don't even bother trying to wash it off. It'll "grow" off eventually. As far as fingerboards go, this stuff works perfectly. I'm a white guitar fan, so ebony looks so much better than rosewood on "tuxedo" guitars. I did all of my guitars and they look fantastic. As others have mentioned, it's not going to give the smooth glassy feel of real ebony, but it certainly captures the beautiful look.

Todd T.  Omaha, NE Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 4-28-2012
Made my cheap Epiphone Les Paul look higher quality.

I applied this to my Epiphone Les Paul's finger board. It looks like a different guitar, the rosewood board was streaky and very light colored, now it looks like a very expensive guitars fret board. love it

Clinton mills  Louisa, kentucky Read my reviews (13)
Customer supplied image for review
5 4-23-2012
Makes a worn out board look new

Got this to primarily hide multiple chip repairs on an ebony fret board on my Tricone. Did a great job, board is very uniform looking, has a nice sheen. Very easy to use. It can creep under masking tape if you're not careful, so bindings may need a little scraping. One jar should have me set for life, a little bit goes a long way.

Danny Clayburn  Albuquerque, NM Read my reviews (15)
Customer supplied image for review
5 4-02-2012
Ebonize your fret board - works great!!

I was doing a custom build on a Les Paul and wanted the fret board to be as black as the guitar. A lot of guys are intimidated by doing this. Tape off any areas you don't want the black dye to get on. Paper painting tape works for me. I use one rag to wipe and one to wipe off. Wear gloves, this stuff is hard to get off your skin. Use an eraser to get it off your markers. My LP looks like it came from the Gibson custom shop. I LOVE THE RESULTS!!!

BillyHell  Nashville - Music City - Nashvegas Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-21-2012
Use Sparingly

Use a cotton swab. In error, I used a small sponge brush. This stuff will find its way under painters masking tape. And if your neck has aged cracks in the finish along the binding, it will seep in. So, use sparingly to avoid staining areas you can't fix without refinishing.

jlokay  Montclair NJ USA Read my reviews (3)
5 2-19-2012
Must have for any shop!

You will use this stain for countless touchups. Don't forget the rubber gloves!

The Guitar Doctor  Reading, PA. Read my reviews (3)
5 1-14-2012
Fiebings Black Dye

Impressive. Great coverage.Just enough with one coat to darken striped ebony without covering the character of the wood. I used a
Qtip to apply. A light sanding on the
cream binding took off the excess on the edges.

Glen Grant  Meridian, Idaho Read my reviews (3)
5 12-19-2011
Amazing product

Just wanted to add a picture of my 1963 Silvertone. This product helped bring this amazing guitar back to life.

Dennis Phillips  Clifton, Texas USA Read my reviews (7)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  5 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 39 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce