Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Electronics, pickups : Supplies: Shielding : Self-adhesive Shielding Kit

Self-adhesive Shielding Kit


Read 41 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Get rid of electrical noise! These conductive shielding materials reduce noise, hum and radio interference when connected to electrical ground.

See details below

Email a friend
Self-adhesive Shielding Kit
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3789 Standard kit Yes
$14.98

3790 Large kit Yes
$21.95


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Conductive Copper Tape



Conductive Shielding Paint



How to Wire a Gibson Guitar DVD



How to Wire a Fender Guitar DVD



Heat Shrink Tubing



Conductive Copper Tape
Conductive Shielding Paint
How to Wire a Gibson® Guitar DVD
How to Wire a Fender Guitar DVD
Heat Shrink Tubing



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
Use the self-adhesive copper foil to line control cavities or shield pickup coils. (Instructions included.)

#3789 Standard kit shields most guitars, including traditional Strat® and Tele®.
Includes:
Self-adhesive copper foil in three sizes:
         1-1/8" x 13-1/2"
         1/2" x 19-1/2"
         5" x 7" (two sheets)
20" of 2-conductor shielded wire
5" of single-conductor insulated wire
Solder
Instructions

#3790 Large kit has enough foil for Strats made since the '90s.
Includes:
Self-adhesive copper foil in three sizes:
         1-1/8" x 13-1/2" (2 sheets)
         1/2" x 19-1/2"
         and four sheets of 5" x 7" (4 sheets)
20" of 2-conductor shielded wire
5" of single-conductor insulated wire
Solder
Instructions

Self-adhesive copper foil is conductive on both sides.

Additional rolls of Conductive Copper Tape can be purchased separately.

Single-coil buzzkill: the why and how of electric guitar shielding.
Single-coil buzzkill: the why and how of electric guitar shielding.
Single-coil buzzkill: the why and how of electric guitar shielding. Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman talks about the causes of buzzes and electrical noise, and how to beat them.
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Self-adhesive Shielding Kit
Self-adhesive Shielding Kit
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 41 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5 >
5 11-09-2011
shielding kit

I purchased the large kit for a strat and found it easy to use and had enough material left to almost finish a telecaster. The large sheets are extremely usefull to cover the base area of rear or top control routes without the need to keep overlapping strips. The only way this kit would be better would be to sell it pre-cut to fit but I imagine the variables would make it next to impossible.Great kit and great price--
Love your products Stew Mac thanks for making life easy

Ken M  New Westminster B.C. Canada Read my reviews (2)
2 9-28-2011
Slight Misrepresentation

I purchased the shielding kit thinking it would shield my tele like the tutorial represented. The kit does NOT have enough material to cover the pickguard like it's demonstrated in the tutorial.

The instructions tell you it's OK to just cover the cavity area. In the end, I barely had enough material to fully shield the guitar. Oh yeah, I was disappointed.

stevejabs  chicago
Customer supplied image for review
4 8-22-2011
Good project

My home studio is at times so inundated with interference that I'd given up using single coils at home. This kit was a good project, about 4 hours altogether. It made an appreciable difference in noise from my Strat. The noise is definitely not gone, but it's now an acceptable level. I had to use every scrap of the foil -- if you have a bridge humbucker rout you might consider the Large Kit.

dC  San Francisco, CA Read my reviews (2)
4 4-23-2011
nice set.

pretty complete kit. could use a bit more wire, but still a good value.

Robb  Ambridge, PA, USA Read my reviews (8)
5 4-13-2011
No more noise!

I've always been a huge fan of the P90 pickup, but a problem with single coils obviously is that they're quite noisy.. No more. Easy to install, sticks perfectly, everything's simply awesome.

MortenHolm  Lillehammer, Norway Read my reviews (4)
4 3-29-2011
noise killer

I installed a set of kinman pickups in my American Special Telecaster. while putting the picups in, I broke the ground connection at the bottom of the control cavity. Not thinking much of it, I screwed the connection back in, and was greeted with an intermittent popping noise during use. Installing the self adhesive copper was easy and quick, and it completely cured my problem. The guitar sounds great!

telewrestlermark  oswego,USA
5 2-28-2011
Great kit for the price

This kit has everything you need to perform a good shielding job on any guitar. Good selection of foil sizes,extra wire and solder. The copper foil is hard to work with if your not a hands on person.

If you do not have a lot of time and patience , I recommend you spend the extra money for the paint instead. Shielding with foil is a tedious job that takes time to get it done correctly, but if you have the skills and the time this is kit will handle any sheilding job you have. You can almost do 2 guitars with it if you are very concise with your cuts and do not waste allot of material. Most 1st time people who try this I recommend getting the large kit instead of the small kit, because you will mess up some stuff and need the extra amount of foil.

Dane  Dublin, GA
4 2-21-2011
good diy kit

kit was easy to use and direction where easy to understand. kit did what it was suppose to

yankee  easton,p.a.
4 2-09-2011
Nice kit

Good quality foil. Works very well because the adhesive appears to be conductive as well. This really cut down the number of places I had to solder foil together. A bit skimpy though, I barely had enough with the small kit to shield a tele with pickguard. Got it done though :)

SeanP  Chicago IL Read my reviews (3)
5 10-23-2010
This Kit help to eliminate 'buzz'

I had try it on my DIY guitar, all with StewMAc parts (body, neck, p.u.- ALL ) and I wasn't thinking it will be so useful.
Today the guitar is more quite and the noise is very attenuated.
Excellent Kit

Thank You StewMAc

Antonello  Trieste ITALY Read my reviews (5)
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 50 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce