Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Electronics, pickups : Supplies: Shielding : Self-adhesive Shielding Kit

Self-adhesive Shielding Kit


Read 41 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Get rid of electrical noise! These conductive shielding materials reduce noise, hum and radio interference when connected to electrical ground.

See details below

Email a friend
Self-adhesive Shielding Kit
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3789 Standard kit Yes
$14.98

3790 Large kit Yes
$21.95


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Conductive Copper Tape



Conductive Shielding Paint



How to Wire a Gibson Guitar DVD



How to Wire a Fender Guitar DVD



Heat Shrink Tubing



Conductive Copper Tape
Conductive Shielding Paint
How to Wire a Gibson® Guitar DVD
How to Wire a Fender Guitar DVD
Heat Shrink Tubing



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
Use the self-adhesive copper foil to line control cavities or shield pickup coils. (Instructions included.)

#3789 Standard kit shields most guitars, including traditional Strat® and Tele®.
Includes:
Self-adhesive copper foil in three sizes:
         1-1/8" x 13-1/2"
         1/2" x 19-1/2"
         5" x 7" (two sheets)
20" of 2-conductor shielded wire
5" of single-conductor insulated wire
Solder
Instructions

#3790 Large kit has enough foil for Strats made since the '90s.
Includes:
Self-adhesive copper foil in three sizes:
         1-1/8" x 13-1/2" (2 sheets)
         1/2" x 19-1/2"
         and four sheets of 5" x 7" (4 sheets)
20" of 2-conductor shielded wire
5" of single-conductor insulated wire
Solder
Instructions

Self-adhesive copper foil is conductive on both sides.

Additional rolls of Conductive Copper Tape can be purchased separately.

Single-coil buzzkill: the why and how of electric guitar shielding.
Single-coil buzzkill: the why and how of electric guitar shielding.
Single-coil buzzkill: the why and how of electric guitar shielding. Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman talks about the causes of buzzes and electrical noise, and how to beat them.
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Self-adhesive Shielding Kit
Self-adhesive Shielding Kit
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 41 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  5 >
5 9-03-2012
This works!

Got the large kit for my Strat... works as advertised and the instructions are excellent. Had a bit left over but wouldn't want to try the small kit. The foil adheres very well but is forgiving enough I didn't waste any. And my Strat is quiet when I want it to be...not even any touch-the-string pops

kavemann  Vero Beach, FL Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 6-14-2012
Highly recommended

I recommend this kit to anyone who can solder, has patience, and is prepared to do a bit of research. My custom strat was picking up electrical interference but once the pickguard and cavities were shielded plus removing ground loops all is quiet. (get the large kit)

Goanna  Sydney, Australia
Customer supplied image for review
5 5-16-2012
By bye buzz

It works. No more buzz in the Jazz!

Dingobass  Perth, Australia Read my reviews (76)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-11-2012
does exactly what it says

I bought this kit knowing that it would take a little time and energy on my part to get it right. I took a mid-90's Tex-Mex Tele and was able to get almost all of the shielding noise taken care of. I use some pretty high gain pedals, mainly from Keeley, and the added gain was causing allot of extra noise on stage. Almost completely gone. Watched the video, watched a friend do his bass, and then took it on step by step. If I can do it, anyone can. Thanks

mikec nyc  NYC, NY
5 3-07-2012
Awesome product

This is the second kit I have purchased to "hum-proof" one of my guitars. The copper foil is easy to apply. I used it for the pickguard and the tremolo cover on the back of my Squire Strat. Although the product information shows using the foil to line the pickup cavity as well, I chose to use shielding paint (also from Stew-Mac) for all interior surfaces. It took a little sandpaper to rough up the glossy surfaces before painting. This process totally eliminated the single coil hum in all but the MOST demanding situations.

MarkintheGardens  Florida Read my reviews (2)
5 3-02-2012
copper foil tape the best ever made

i've used this product many time and it's the best you can get it just does the trick and it works copper on both sides

gutone  canton,ms usa Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-02-2012
Self-adhesive shielding kit

Installed this with enclosed instructions on my noisy, static-ridden Squire strat and the static is gone! Also, used the copper tape around pick up windings and it does change the tone but I like what I hear.

Queen Street Music School  Cambridge, Ontario
5 2-24-2012
Shielding Kit

Great Product. Very easy to use and apply. The instructions were clear and easy to follow. The entire process took about 2 hours for my strat. The large kit had plenty of foil. Have enough left over to use on other projects.

SHM  Fairfax VA
4 2-06-2012
Why did I wait so long?

No need to put up with hum and spinning yourself around trying to find that one quiet spot on stage.
This kit completely eliminated the hum on my Strat. Take your time and remember to overlap the cavity just a bit so when you close up the guitar pick guard will be grounded to the body.

To be more than safe I opted for the large kit so I could do the full underside of the pick guard as well as all cavities in the body.

If you got hum - get the kit!

R.I.P. SRV

Randy-Lytle.Tex  New ORleans, LA
Customer supplied image for review
5 12-10-2011
Fully shield your intrument!

This shielding tape is just like OEM shielding that usually comes applied to pickguards aleady. But, some guards only shield the switch & pot area - this is not enough for proper shielding. Low-level high impedance signals which emits from our passive pickups are highly prone to be virtual antennas. It is of great importance to protect the signal before it hits the amplifier's input gain stages (and effects units also for the same reasons) becuase then the slightest noises are also amplified along your guitar signal. The dreaded humm get proportionally worse the higher the gain goes and gets re-amplified. Dreaded background humm can easily turn into foreground buzz as well.

For proper shielding you must enclose the entire signal creation area creating a virtual "box" meaning you need to shield the pickup cavity area too. After leaving this area you should then use shielded cable to your guitar's jack. Then your signal is further shield via a good cable. Does it make sense to use good (and expensive) shielded cable runs but NOT have your signal protected at it's source?!?

Just a little time, expense, & thought here goes a long long way for professional and much happier long-term "quiet" results.

jojokeo  Huntington Beach CA Read my reviews (11)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  5 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 50 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce