Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Straightedges : Fret Rocker

Fret Rocker


Read 118 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Pinpoint those pesky high frets, and check the final height after you've redressed or replaced them, reach for the Fret Rocker!

See details below

Email a friend
Fret Rocker

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3770 Fret Rocker Yes
$24.45


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

String Action Gauge



String Spacing Rule



Dan Erlewines Nut Making Step-By-Step



Essential Fretting Kit



String Action Gauge
String Spacing Rule
Dan Erlewine's Nut Making Step-By-Step
Essential Fretting Kit



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Our 4-in-1 mini straightedge spans three frets and "rocks" to indicate uneven fret heights. Precision-machined for accuracy to .0015" per foot, the 4", 3", 2" and 1-5/16" edges make it versatile for any fretted instrument, from basses to guitars to mandolins.

The Fret Rocker is made of 1/8" nickel-plated steel with a satin finish, for durability in professional use. It's an indispensable diagnostic tool, before and after partial refretting and recrowning jobs. It lets you do more accurate fret work for better playability.

Essential for fretting
The Fret Rocker is one of seven tools included in our Essential Fretting Tool Kit, a compilation of tools you'll need for the fundamentals of fret work. Kit also includes our book, Fretwork Step By Step by Erick Coleman with Dan Erlewine.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fret Rocker
Fret Rocker
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 118 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 101 – 110 < 1  ...  10  11  12 >
5 1-28-2011
excellent

I've used this for guitars, basses, mandolins and a dulcimer. Well designed, simple, and very useful

otterly2k  philadelphia, pa Read my reviews (3)
5 1-24-2011
fret rocker "rocks"

this thing is great! i put off buying the fret rocker for over a year. Now I can't fret without one.

Carmen Pacella  Costa Mesa, CA Read my reviews (3)
5 1-20-2011
fret rocker

great tool to have around if you work on your own guitar

jeffcshop  fulton Read my reviews (2)
5 1-18-2011
Great tool

I love that tool, it's accurate, versatile and useful not only for frets, but for any situation where checking straightness of a small area of your design is needed.

Fabien  Canada Read my reviews (5)
5 12-26-2010
fastest way to target the real culprit if you have fret buzz

One of the hardest jobs a luthier faces after all the neck building, fretting, leveling, and setting is finished is the "final tweak". One renegade fret can end up being a game of tag as one fret clears and another becomes a new culprit. This really simple tool makes the whole process more direct and straight forward with a level of precision you have to respect. I checked instruments I had believed to be "perfect" and found that I could measurably reduce my string heights when I'd finished.

Paul Hartmann  Hyde Park, NY Read my reviews (4)
5 12-09-2010
Great for more than just frets

This is a great tool for spot checking frets, but I have a lot of other uses for it as well, whenever I need a small straight edge. One of my favorite uses it to keep it in my pocket while hunting for antique tools at flea markets, to quickly check chisel backs and plane soles without packing a full straightedge. I use it so often I'm tempted to buy a second one.

Ryan Rua  USA Read my reviews (5)
5 11-30-2010
Excellent Tool

Like other reviewers don't know how I was doing it before but this is obviously a better method. Easily locates high frets. I use this as I seat the frets and then do a leveling with a 24 inch aluminum sanding bar then as I polish I use it again to check the frets as I go through. A little pricey but I don't see having to ever buy another one... They seem very sturdy.

acousticplayer  Denver, CO Read my reviews (7)
Customer supplied image for review
5 11-26-2010
5+

Really nice tool. Operative search problem frets. I like it

Shade  Moscow. Ru Read my reviews (3)
5 11-03-2010
Fret Rocker

This is the easiest way to locate a high fret. When you place it across 3 frets the high fret will show up instantly.

CadillacBass  Freehold, NJ Read my reviews (3)
3 10-30-2010
Very useful tool

The fret rocker is a small and useful tool. I see myself using it all the time, and mostly not as a fret tool. As it is made from hard metal, I use it as a leveler, right angle, glue scraper and more. Why not the five star rating: It is a little bit pricey, And has poor magnetic properties:

I tried to use the rocker as a baseplate with rare earth magnets, for bridge repair, but looks like the metal alloy used in the rocker is not that attracted to magnets like plain steel.

Marcio Costa  Brasil Read my reviews (37)
Displaying 101 – 110 < 1  ...  10  11  12 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 12 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce