Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Saws : Gauged Saws

Gauged Saws


Read 60 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Quickly rough-in new slots with these low-profile saws, and save your nut files to refine the depth and width.

See details below

Email a friend
Gauged Saws
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3600 All 5 saws SAVE $5.00 Yes
$39.90

3594 0.030" (0.76mm) Yes
$8.98

3599 0.025" (0.64mm) Yes
$8.98

3598 0.020" (0.51mm) Yes
$8.98

3597 0.015" (0.38mm) Yes
$8.98

3596 0.010" (0.25mm) Yes
$8.98


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Nut Slotting Gauge



Essential Nut Making Tool Kit



Bleached White Bone Nuts



String Spacing Rule



Mitchell Abrasive Cord



Nut Slotting Gauge
Essential Nut Making Tool Kit
Bleached White Bone Nuts
String Spacing Rule
Mitchell Abrasive Cord



Details
 Pictures
Articles
Handy for trimming nuts, saddles, bridge blanks, violin pegs and other small parts, too.

Each saw has a 5" x 7/16" (127mm x 11.11mm) steel blade with 22 teeth per inch, and a comfortable turned wooden handle.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Gauged Saws
Gauged Saws
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 60 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  6 >
5 7-31-2012
Sharp!

Great little saw, sharp as and so easy to use.

Dingobass  Perth, Australia Read my reviews (76)
5 6-16-2012
I like these the best out of all the nut files I have used.

easy to use, no chipping, smooth cut, smaller size gets larger when moving from side to side and rolling the file. Perfect upgrade from the small skinny files.

ADDIE  Calif Read my reviews (4)
5 6-07-2012
great saw, bought 2 of the .010" width

sharp, good grip,clan cutting. I use .010 to cut slots just above depth, then switch to gauged files to finish each nut slot. with forward cut you can also clean up routed bouts easily.

thrash50  Read my reviews (5)
5 5-31-2012
Great for cutting nut slots

I use this for cutting nut slots and am very happy with how it works.

Adams Guitars  Wisconsin Read my reviews (20)
5 4-29-2012
A good help making my bone nut

I've made a copy of a Esquire guitar, the 1st electric guitar made by Leo Fender, I have made the nut whit a camel bone, the first string was too high but I haven't a gauged saws set in my garage. I bought the 0,010" to cut the nut in the 1st, 2nd and 3rd strings, the result its perfect

color tone polishing are great!  Sevilla, Spain Read my reviews (6)
5 4-28-2012
No.10 gauged sew

Very sharp,great for starting nut slots.Every tool I get from Stew Mac is fantastic.

J. Wiseman  USA Read my reviews (8)
5 3-10-2012
Sharp and Accurate

I purchased this 0∙010” (0∙25mm) saw to cut the initial starting slots in bone and tusk nuts prior to using fret files, these files are very accurate and sharp and are ideal to cut slots in nuts also cutting down nuts to fit various guitar widths, an excellent saw and very good value for money.

M Dawes  South Shields, England Read my reviews (13)
4 3-05-2012
Gauged Saws

Nice tool, it can be seen good finish and nice.

Rogério Rocha Matos  Brazil,São Paulo Read my reviews (20)
5 1-22-2012
perfect tools

does a perfect detailed job. Hope it stays as sharp as it is now for a while.

Triskel Workshop  Antwerp, Belgium Read my reviews (17)
5 12-28-2011
super sharp and percise

I use the 0.010 one all the time for nut work. Because it's so sharp and clean I used my first one for other jobs as well - not a good idea. The plade isn't just supersharp, it's also very delicate and looses a tooth easily, so treat it accordingly!

MoorMusic  Switzerland Read my reviews (44)
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  6 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 16 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce