Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Electronics, pickups : Components: Switches and knobs : Rotary Switches

Rotary Switches


Read 18 Reviews   |   Write a Review

5 and 6-position rotary switches for custom wiring, PRS guitars and Varitone circuits.

See details below

Email a friend
Rotary Switches
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3512 5-position, 4-pole Yes
$10.48
6 or more $8.91  

3511 6-position, 2-pole Yes
$10.48
6 or more $8.91  

3516 6-position, 4-pole Yes
$10.48
6 or more $8.91  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Self-adhesive Shielding Kit



Conductive Shielding Paint



Conductive Copper Tape



Chickenhead Knob



Vintage Push-back Wire - 50 feet



Self-adhesive Shielding Kit
Conductive Shielding Paint
Conductive Copper Tape
Chickenhead Knob
Vintage Push-back Wire - 50 feet



Details
 Pictures
Instructions

5-position:
4-pole switch for Paul Reed Smith® guitars, or other custom wiring and pickup combinations.

Item# 3512
Configuration 5-position, 4-pole
Typical use Pickup selector and
custom wiring
Cavity depth   
required
1-5/16" (33.34mm)
   

6-position:
2-pole and 4-pole versions for custom wiring and pickup combinations, such as the Varitone notch filter circuit in Gibson ES-345 and Lucille guitars.

Item# 3511
Configuration 6-position, 2-pole
Typical use Varitone
Cavity depth   
required
7/8" (22.23mm)
Item# 3516
Configuration 6-position, 4-pole
Typical use Pickup selector,
Varitone, and
custom wiring
Cavity depth   
required
1-5/16" (33.34mm)
   

Each rotary switch includes a flat washer, lock washer and two mounting nuts. The coarse-knurled split shaft has M9 x .75 thread; the threaded portion is 3/8" tall (10mm). 3/8"-diameter (10mm) mounting hole is required.

#0526 Chickenhead Knob is available separately to fit these switches.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Rotary Switches
Rotary Switches
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 18 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 18 < 1  2
5 9-25-2011
Single-ganged switch fits in thin guitars like the SG.

I was hoping to use the 6-pos 4-pole switch for pickup control (neck, bridge, parallel, series, out-of-phase parallel, out-of-phase series), but the double-ganged switches do not fit in my SG. I had to make do with the 3511, 6-pos, 2-pole, with a separate out-of-phase toggle switch, which works just fine.

The quality of these switches is great and contact noise is non-existant (unless you're playing while you switch, in which case you hear a "click"). .

fret_man  Bartlett, IL Read my reviews (5)
5 9-12-2011
Very quiet

I used a 3511 to build a varitone circuit which made me realize all caps sound the same when the tone pot is at 10, but that is a different story. The switch worked just fine. very quiet, I did not feel resistors were needed from each pin to ground to help eliminate switch clicking.

David S  Seattle, WA Read my reviews (18)
Customer supplied image for review
5 8-10-2011
Great 3-humbucker switch!

Used the 5-way, 4-pole on a triple humbucker, double-cutaway custom guitar build, and it's working very well. Kudos to Stewmac for carrying these switches!

Hostager Luthier  Eau Claire, WI Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
5 7-11-2011
5 position rotary

Installation of the device was not nerve-wracking at all, but you must have a little patience. The simplified schematic made it very easy to wire the two humbuckers, and when I plugged in the guitar I was ecstatic that all positions worked as they should. I am truly happy with this rotary switch which I installed in a PRS copy guitar with Al Dimeola signature pickups.

guitar novice  Detroit, MI Read my reviews (4)
4 4-11-2011
Great mod project

I bought this switch to add a coil tap option to my Firebird and clean up its looks by removing the three-way switch. The 3512 switch is a bit taller than the control cavity so I needed to add a ~.080" spacer between the body and the rear cover plate for clearance. The new positions sound great and I am happy with the modification. My order arrived right on time and it was a fun project. Thank you Stew-Mac!

dmh39  Salisbury, Massachusetts USA
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-02-2011
Very Versatile, Very Reliable

I used a 4P6T in my Les Paul to control 3 Coil Tapped Humbuckers. I've been beating on it for several years now, and it's still giving me 100% all the time.

67 Fastback  Norwich,CT Read my reviews (2)
5 1-24-2011
No risk, no reward

These will keep me coming back because they're rugged and versatile. I have a 5-way, a 6-way, and recently got another 4P6T for a friends guitar. They're tricky to install and make your control cavity look like spaghetti, but they've officially made me dislike the traditional 3-way toggle switch. I won't play without a rotary (unless it's a Strat-style).

Archangel Lutherie  Huntertown, IN Read my reviews (2)
5 11-10-2010
Installing three 6-position, 4 pole Rotary Switches

I installed a Seymour Duncan P-Rail pick-up in the middle position of a Strat and wired it to a 6-position Rotary Switch. The neck and bridge P-ups are wired to another 6-position Rotary switch and the output leads of those two switches are wired to yet another 6-position Rotary switch. This enables every combination possible (though some are redundant /useless).

The switches work great and the wiring was fun to do. Not hard at all like some reviews I read before diving in. If you can work a soldering iron, there should be no problem. One thing to point out is that I did this for recording sounds; to avoid filtering or EQing. In my case, with three switches, it takes a bit of time to dial in the sounds; Too much fiddling. But most folks wont use three in a scheme so it would be fine for live use.

boolaboolaman  New Orleans
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 11 – 18 < 1  2 /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 51 of our latest catalog.


Paul Reed Smith® and PRS® are trademarks of Paul Reed Smith Guitars.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce