Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Truss rods : Adjustable truss rods : 4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod

4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod


Read 93 Reviews   |   Write a Review

A smaller 4mm (5/32") Allen nut for most instruments. Smooth two-way action corrects upbow and backbow, giving complete control over the neck.

See details below

Email a friend
4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
2550 12-1/4" overall length Yes
$15.79
6 or more $13.64  
12 or more $12.38  

2551 14-1/4" overall length Yes
$15.99
6 or more $13.91  
12 or more $12.67  

2552 18" overall length Yes
$16.99
6 or more $14.84  
12 or more $13.60  

2553 24" overall length Yes
$20.99
6 or more $18.96  
12 or more $17.74  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Allen Truss Rod Wrenches



Router Bit for Hot Rod Truss Rods



Carbon Fiber Neck Rods



Slotted Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod



Hex Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod



Allen Truss Rod Wrenches
Router Bit for Hot Rod Truss Rods
Carbon Fiber Neck Rods
Slotted Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
Hex Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod



Details
 Pictures
Specs
Instructions
Easy to install. The Hot Rod® fits in a straight channel. For proper operation, this truss rod must be installed so that the active rod (the rod with the adjustment nut) is below the passive rod. A wooden filler stick is not required.

Smooth 2-way action with superior strength for stubborn necks.
Our Hot Rod neck adjustment system features twin rods in threaded brass collars. The stainless steel active rod turns for smooth neck alignment, with 2-way action to correct upbow and backbow.

The Hot Rod requires an access cavity for the adjustment nut, and a straight 7/32"-wide x 7/16"-deep slot (measured from the bottom of the fretboard) for installation.

Pick the Hot Rod Truss Rod size you'll need:
(overall length includes the nut)

Instrument
Resonator guitar
Acoustic guitar with 12th fret at the body
Acoustic guitar with 14th fret at the body
Electric guitar
Banjo
Bass
Size
12-1/4"
12-1/4"
14-1/4"
18"
18"
24"

We've designed the Router Bit for Hot Rod Truss Rods especially for routing your neck to fit our truss rods.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 93 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  10 >
5 1-27-2013
Dual Action- Gotta love it

Easy to install and peace of mind

Adrian Stuckey  Gold Coast Australia Read my reviews (29)
4 12-29-2012
Very nice truss rod

Double action rods was always my favorite. My suggestion is that the brass collars should be replaced with a stronger material. Time will show it's strength.

sofislele  Athens, Greece Read my reviews (8)
5 12-29-2012
Great

Used to make them myself, they went too big, the neck became too fat. Much better to buy them here. Easy to install and use.

Gsguitars  Norway
5 11-29-2012
Powerful rod

I have found if I bed both brass ends with epoxy, the rods work/sound better.

Colt W. Knight  South Charleston, WV 25309 Read my reviews (43)
4 10-24-2012
Total adjustability

I've been using this rod in all my guitars and they've worked great. I even was able to pull a neck back into position that had spent days floating around in it's case two years ago in the flood that hit the Nashville lockup where lots of touring musicians stored their instruments. I do think owners need to be advised not to try and straighten a neck just by turning the nut. Clamps are your best bet and just use the neck rod to hold things in position once you've got things where you want them. I'm afraid an uninformed owner might strip threads otherwise.

Will Hirsch  Arcata, CA Read my reviews (3)
5 10-04-2012
Great choice

i am working to build a 7 strings LesPaul shaped guitar,For the Truss rod,I stopped my choice on 4mm which corresponded to my expectations, the build quality is excellent and the rod is adjusted to perfection, thanks StewMac.Mark Davis

Mark Davis  Canada Read my reviews (4)
3 9-29-2012
True to its own design.

This is not my first choice for truss rods. It's very deep, taking away more wood than neccessary, and the use of soft brass makes me nervous. Also because of the round top profile there is very little metal in contact with the fretboard. Still, it is a good execution of a design that does make a lot of sense.

Pharnton Smith  Douglas, WY Read my reviews (2)
5 9-13-2012
truss rod

well built and works fine

bluesplayerx  ca Read my reviews (9)
5 9-09-2012
Hot rod

Had never used this type before, was impressed with how well it works.

Dean W Richardson  Kirkland, Washington Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
5 8-17-2012
very nice truss rod

I bought this double action truss rod for my first guitar build. I was very scared of installing a truss rod in general because of the whole cutting a deep slot in the neck and sanding through idea. It just terrified me. I wanted to make sure the rod could help adjust for a bow in either direction an i had never built a guitar. I was extremely pleased as well as surprised with the quality of the rod, and the ease in which it went in. I bought the special router bit made for the install and it went perfectly. Thank you stewmac!

mike ryman  erwin tn Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  10 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 72 of our latest catalog.


Hot Rod® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce