Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tuners : Mandolin tuners : Golden Age Restoration Tuners for A-style Mandolin

Golden Age Restoration Tuners

for A-style Mandolin

Read 27 Reviews   |   Write a Review

The early 1900s look is reborn! Long-awaited replacements for the A-style tuners used by Gibson and other makers from the 1910s until 1925.

See details below

Email a friend
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for A-style Mandolin
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
2505 Relic nickel, cream knobs Yes
$60.40
3 or more $54.36  

2505-N Bright nickel, cream knobs Yes
$46.60
3 or more $41.94  

2506 Relic nickel, ivoroid knobs Yes
$84.70
3 or more $76.23  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Peghole Reamers



Golden Age A-style Mandolin Tuners



Golden Age Mandolin Tailpiece



Tuner Bushing Press



Peghole Reamers
Golden Age A-style Mandolin Tuners
Golden Age Mandolin Tailpiece
Tuner Bushing Press



Details
 Pictures
Specs
The "worm gear under string post" configuration and wider vintage post spacing is ideal for restoring older mandolins and improving their tuning, and for making modern replica instruments more authentic. Our relic nickel finish version has the right look to complement vintage hardware.

"People who build replica instruments or who do restoration or repair work are just going to love these."
—Frank Ford, vintage instrument repair expert

Special note about string spacing! These tuners feature historically-correct (1910s-1925) .931" string post spacing. This is wider than standard .906" (29/32") spacing. Please measure your mandolin's string post spacing before you order.

Steel baseplates feature the original early 1900s shape, incised "tread stripes," and vintage-style square riveted worm supports. Each set includes 4-left / 4-right tuners with 1920s-style mounting screws and press-fit peghead bushings.

Gear ratio 15:1
Bushing diameter .283" (7.19mm)
String post diameter 0.236" (6mm)
String post spacing Early 1920s .931" (23.65mm)

These replica tuners have special spacing for vintage Gibson and other makes before World War II. Please be aware that our standard spacing drill jig will not align accurate holes for these tuners.

To be sure these tuners fit your instrument, compare your existing machines and peghole dimensions to our listed specs to help determine the best replacement.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for A-style Mandolin
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for A-style Mandolin
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 27 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 >
5 3-07-2011
Love these tuners

These tuners have changed my mandolin playing life. My beloved old Gibson A2 is still a boomer but now it tunes easily and surprise to me stays in tune much better. Very clean retrofit. Old tuners out and after a little fussing around the new tuners drop in. You must use the old original bushings as the new bushings will not drop into the headstock holes and the screw holes all line up. Also the Golden Age tuners are quite handsome. Why didn't I hear of these 20 years ago or has it been 30...Charlie

Charlie from Portland  Portland
5 3-05-2011
Good job, now finish what you started.

I put a set of these tuners on an old Oscar Schmidt Stella I had. What a great product! It is so nice not having to keep retuning that thing every 5 minutes. Now I play it more than ever. The Tuners were a perfect fit, look beautiful, and work great. StewMac needs to finish what they started and manufacture these tuners with relic brass plating and black knobs. I am patiently waiting...

nabob100robert  New Orleans, Louisiana
5 2-13-2011
Gibson A tuners

These looked good out of the box. Not unlike the old the old Waverly tuners that came off. Unlike the old Waverly tuners I can now get the Gibson in tune & keep it in tune. Wish I had these years ago!

John Thomson  Scotland
5 2-12-2011
Installation of Restoration Tuners on my 1922 Gibson A style

I'm not a luthier and this is the first time that I've tried any serious (or what I regard as serious) repair of one of my instruments. I figured that if I ran into trouble I could take the tuners to a professional. However, I had no trouble doing the installation myself. As noted in some of the other reviews the bushings that came with the tuners were too large to fit into the existing holes, but the spindles fit through the old bushings and still turn very easily. The appearance is great and the performance of the gears is very satisfactory.

Old City Picker  St Augustine, FL
5 1-15-2011
Yay, finally my mandolin sounds good!

I have an old crappy Kay mandolin from the 50's. I think it sounds cool and I love it. But the tuners were so bad. I purchased all kinds of tuners and none of them fit. I got these in the mail, drilled the holes a little bigger, and installed the tuners in probably 30 minutes. They are really great I love them. Thanks for making these tuners!

Taylor  Dallas, TX
5 1-04-2011
just right

Like the other reviewers, I'm very happy Stew-Mac put these out. Work great on my '22 A4 and am currently modifying a set for a '15 F2. Thanks guys.

Jacob Hawkins  Columbus, OH Read my reviews (5)
5 12-26-2010
They've been needed for a long time

I've been fixing up old mandolins for a while now, these are the only "new", "off the shelf" tuners I have found that will replace pre 1925 tuners. The lower gearing is a bonus. Well done.

Geoff Bobbitt  Australia
4 11-25-2010
big improvement

Had stopped playing my Gibson A2 (1918)because the original tuners were worn out. New tuners work well and apparently went on the instrument with no trouble. Metal work actually duller than old tuners but cream pegs are nice. Worth it!

don baldwin  springfield oregon
4 10-20-2010
What took so long?

I got these for my snakehead, and they're a prefect fit. They look right, and don't load extra weight to the peg head. A flat-head, black screw for the drive cog would have made these perfect. I needed these twenty years ago. Why did it take until now to get a worm-under-gear configured replacement? My next wish is for the F-style tuners like this. I wouldn't use anything else if these were available.

f5mando  USA Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
1 9-28-2010
Very disappointing

I waited a long time for these tuners to come out. Unfortunately the tuner bushings are to big and don't fit the teens Gibson A models they were supposedly designed for. My A4 is pristine and I refuse to ream out the peg head holes which would mean that the original Handel tuners could never be reinstalled. Stew Mac - what were you thinking?

Rob  Vermont
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 87 of our latest catalog.


Golden Age® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce