Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Finishing supplies : Finishes and solvents : Seagrave Nitrocellulose Spraying Lacquers : Seagrave Nitrocellulose Spraying Lacquer

Seagrave Nitrocellulose Spraying Lacquer


Read 27 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Legendary McFadden lacquer formula lives on, now under the Seagrave name. A long-time favorite of guitarmakers for durable traditional finishes with beautiful gloss.

See details below

Email a friend
Seagrave Nitrocellulose Spraying Lacquer
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
2200 1 quart
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$32.16
4 or more $28.94  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step



Respirator Mask



ColorTone Liquid Stains



Seagrave Vinyl Sealer



Seagrave Nitrocellulose Lacquer Thinner



Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
Respirator Mask
ColorTone Liquid Stains
Seagrave Vinyl Sealer
Seagrave Nitrocellulose Lacquer Thinner



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
Seagrave Lacquer can be sprayed with or without thinning, for fast build-up in multiple coats. It sprays well with most guns, and can be polished and buffed after as little as seven days curing time.

This professional lacquer is compatible with our ColorTone stains, pigments and grain filler.

It's formulated for spraying on wood sealed with Seagrave Vinyl Sealer, or on unfinished wood. If thinning is desired, add Seagrave Thinner.

One can goes a long way!
One quart will finish:
1 acoustic guitar body and neck
2 complete mandolins
2-3 solid guitar or bass bodies
3-5 electric guitar or bass necks
4 ukuleles
2-3 dulcimers
2-3 banjo rims and necks

Keep in mind there are many application variables: your spray gun adjustments, PSI used, and the number and thickness of your finish coats.

Lacquer products are flammable! They cannot be shipped outside the USA, nor shipped by air within the USA. Nitrocellulose lacquer products should not be used with acrylic lacquers.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Seagrave Nitrocellulose Spraying Lacquer
Seagrave Nitrocellulose Spraying Lacquer
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 27 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3 >
5 11-20-2013
Great Product

My all-time favorite nitro finish. Works great with my HVLP system. Can be used at full strength right out of the can. Sinks nicely and can go through final sanding 2 wks after the final coat even though I prefer to wait 1 month. Highly recommended.

Laplante Guitars  Kingston, ON, Canada Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 9-03-2013
Really good stuff

High quality. Just like the stuff on old Gibsons, Epiphones, Guilds, etc., from the 50's. Cures very hard.

Blackplates  Aberdeen Md. Read my reviews (14)
5 7-17-2013
Great

I am not a painter when it comes to this kind of stuff. It seems a little thin to me and will definitely run if you get too close with your sprayer and/or try to put too much on the first time. I struggled with it but it is surely a hard durable finish and can be polished to perfection.

preetcher  Beaufort, NC Read my reviews (48)
5 4-03-2013
good for a first timer

Used this with the black stain mixed in to finish my tele build. It polished up great with the compound stewmac sells. Going to buy it for next build.

Brazos Pirate  TX Read my reviews (10)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-21-2013
Nice

Nice product and great finished

Carlos GirĂ³n  Ny Read my reviews (28)
Customer supplied image for review
5 9-19-2012
Spray Nitro

great stuff, expensive , but it works great, east to apply, dries quickly and seems pretty hard. I used this on a solid body bass and it sounds great. I give it 2 big snaps up

J Rodgers  Mission Viejo, CA
Customer supplied image for review
5 7-26-2012
Great Lacquer

I am a first time builder with minimal woodworking experience. I bought most of my supplies from StewMac including this lacquer. I sprayed it with a $50 gun and a small compressor. I thinned it 75/25 (lacquer/thinner) and it went on really nice! No runs, drips or sags. I still had to wet-sand but that is expected with any spraying. I followed StewMac's instructions and ended up with a really great finish! My guitar looks better than all my factory models! Such a deep, classy finish.

JRobins  Vancouver, BC
Customer supplied image for review
5 7-18-2012
Good Stuff

I tried to get some quality lacquer locally but the best I could find was Deft. A serious mistake. Restripped the guitar and bought this product. More money yes, but it sprayed on nice and laid down well. Sprayed about 16 coats thinning about 20%. After letting sit for 8 days I wet sanded lightly with 600 then 1200 and buffed. Wha la! A nice hard deep finish.

Pauly  Indiana
5 4-04-2012
Seagrave Nitrocellulose Spraying Lacquer

Awesome stuff. very easy to use and looks great after buffing.

Bryce Didericksen  kansas city, MO Read my reviews (24)
4 1-17-2012
nitro finish

this is a good product if you want a light finish or for repair work.but the cheaper behlen nitro works as good and is thicker for building up a good base on new guitar builds.the only reason i didnt give this a five star rating was its price.

lefty's rule  duluth mn Read my reviews (32)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 38 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce