Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Finishing supplies : Finishes and solvents : Seagrave Nitrocellulose Spraying Lacquers : Seagrave Nitrocellulose Spraying Lacquer

Seagrave Nitrocellulose Spraying Lacquer


Read 27 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Legendary McFadden lacquer formula lives on, now under the Seagrave name. A long-time favorite of guitarmakers for durable traditional finishes with beautiful gloss.

See details below

Email a friend
Seagrave Nitrocellulose Spraying Lacquer
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
2200 1 quart
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$32.16
4 or more $28.94  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step



Respirator Mask



ColorTone Liquid Stains



Seagrave Vinyl Sealer



Seagrave Nitrocellulose Lacquer Thinner



Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
Respirator Mask
ColorTone Liquid Stains
Seagrave Vinyl Sealer
Seagrave Nitrocellulose Lacquer Thinner



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
Seagrave Lacquer can be sprayed with or without thinning, for fast build-up in multiple coats. It sprays well with most guns, and can be polished and buffed after as little as seven days curing time.

This professional lacquer is compatible with our ColorTone stains, pigments and grain filler.

It's formulated for spraying on wood sealed with Seagrave Vinyl Sealer, or on unfinished wood. If thinning is desired, add Seagrave Thinner.

One can goes a long way!
One quart will finish:
1 acoustic guitar body and neck
2 complete mandolins
2-3 solid guitar or bass bodies
3-5 electric guitar or bass necks
4 ukuleles
2-3 dulcimers
2-3 banjo rims and necks

Keep in mind there are many application variables: your spray gun adjustments, PSI used, and the number and thickness of your finish coats.

Lacquer products are flammable! They cannot be shipped outside the USA, nor shipped by air within the USA. Nitrocellulose lacquer products should not be used with acrylic lacquers.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Seagrave Nitrocellulose Spraying Lacquer
Seagrave Nitrocellulose Spraying Lacquer
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 27 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 >
5 1-06-2012
Excellent lacquer.

I'm no veteran luthier, but this is some great stuff. Easy to color, thin/mix. Sprays flawlessly.

CWaggs  Illinois Read my reviews (44)
Customer supplied image for review
5 11-07-2011
2200 Seagrave Lacquer

As we all know.. great stuff !! How about putting it in Gallon cans and bring the price down to earth !!! I used to get it from Mcfadden for a fraction of what you charge.

Keith Hollenbach  Sunbury Pa Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
5 8-20-2011
Formulation

I was glad when Seagrave took over the production of the McFadden Nitro. Although the formula is the same, it seems to spray and flow better. Especially when Used, unthinned, for a tight fill on open grained wood.

Peter (Poynter Guitars)  Grants Pass,Oregon
5 8-10-2011
Nice Product

This lacquer lays down great and is easily worked. I would suggest Stew-Mac sell it in larger volume units such as one-gallon or larger containers.

The Mustang Kid  Oklahoma City, OK Read my reviews (2)
5 8-08-2011
Best lacquer

I have refinished a couple of tops now with this lacquer and it is hands down the best! Applies evenly, wet sands and buffs out like a dream. Since I don't have a buffer I do all my finishing by hand and this lacquer gives wonderful results. So long as StewMac carries it I won't use anything else.

Rick J  Powhatan, VA Read my reviews (9)
5 8-03-2011
Great lacquer!

This is a great product. I have heard some say that it is not as good as the previous Mcfadden brand but I have had better results with this one. Easy to work with, I highly recommend this product.

Sergey Astakhov  California
Customer supplied image for review
5 7-08-2011
I don't know who to believe: redux

I wrote my original review on Seagrave when I first got it and now that I have used the stuff for a while I wish I could take back my pitiful 3 star rating and give this stuff a 5!!! This is great lacquer... I mean great!

Even though I have not been able to see the stuff age, it appears to be top notch and will probably age very gracefully. It applies smooth and consistent at 50/50, dries/shrinks fast as expected and sands and buff like a dream.

Billy Stephens  Fountain Valley, CA. Read my reviews (16)
Customer supplied image for review
5 6-20-2011
Top notch stuff

I recently finished a custom thinline tele for myself. I used the Seagraves for the first time. I was totally impressed with the fact that I was able to wet sand and buff with only a weeks dry time. It has GREAT buffing qualities. I don't think I'll use anything else from now on when I want a superior high gloss finish.

Chris Thomas  Elizabeth, PA Read my reviews (20)
Customer supplied image for review
5 5-21-2011
Naha guitars

This is a great product. Buffs to a high gloss. The picture of my guitar is proof enough

Naha Guitars  Cumming, Ga Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 4-27-2011
Simply the Best

This lacquer sprays on well and buffs to a beautifully deep finish. Far better than any rattle can lacquer. The only non-positive thing I could say is that I didn't get the advertised usage out of the quart. This could be because I tend to like deep finishes.

Brandon S.  Philadelphia, PA Read my reviews (6)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 38 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce