Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Glues, adhesives : Binding glue : Weld-On Cement

Weld-On Cement


Read 45 Reviews   |   Write a Review

For use with all our plastic binding products. Fast-drying, high-strength clear acrylic cement that bonds plastics to porous surfaces.

See details below

Email a friend
Weld-On Cement
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1975 Weld-On Cement
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$6.90
3 or more $5.99  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

White Plastic Binding



Binding Tape



Black Plastic Binding



Scraper Blades



White Plastic Binding
Binding Tape
Black Plastic Binding
Scraper Blades



Details
 Pictures
Articles
Clamps or binding tapes can be released from the glued bindings in an hour or less, and the bindings can be scraped flush after about 12-hours. 1.5-ounce tube.

Weld-On Cement is best for plastic bindings, or for plastic and wood bindings used together. It sets extremely quickly, so practice on scrap to get a feel for it, and don't try to glue long sections at once. It's thin enough to be worked into crevices. Clean up residue with acetone.

Contains methylene chloride, methyl ethyl ketone and acrylic resin.

California Residents: Click here for Proposition 65 information
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Weld-On Cement
Weld-On Cement
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 45 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  5 >
5 12-04-2011
Weldon

This works great for both wood and plastic binding. Just wear gloves and use in a ventilated area.

Eric E  Manchester, CT USA Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 9-29-2011
Great Goo!

I wont use anything else for my guitar bindings, it's easy to work with and bonds quickly.

JVan  Granger,IN Read my reviews (17)
Customer supplied image for review
2 8-26-2011
Harumph

I did a little test with this glue, with acrylic binding bought from Stewmac, and I have to say, it did not impress me. I feel that a CA glue has been stronger in my binding tests. I didn't really melt the material in the way it's been described too, and I gobbed it on. I feel like I'll probably do some more tests, but my first impression of the product was not too good.

Ben Littrell  New Haven, CT Read my reviews (2)
5 8-24-2011
Stuff really works

I use to use acetone for binding lamination and Weld-On for gluing the binding to the guitar body. When I used two separate binding materials once the acetone did not adhere and separated so I tried Weld-On and regardless of binding plastic I had solid adhesion and it did not separate when heated to shape the binding to body shape. Also if necessary, this glue will release easily from body binding adhesion for adjustment with acetone. In addition this glue has a very thin fluidity and flows into desired areas with ease. Love this product.

Custom B  Minneapolis, Minnesota
Customer supplied image for review
4 7-23-2011
Good glue, lousy tube

This stuff really works well. But, the tube needs some rethinking. Too much glue comes out making it very hard to limit the amount that bleeds over onto other surfaces. A plastic adapter like you find with model cement would be a great addition to an otherwise fine product.

Mel  San Antonio, Texas Read my reviews (3)
4 6-18-2011
Binding cement

I used to use 'Weld-On' but because you cannot freight 'Weld-On' cement to Australia, I spent some time trying to find an equivalent here. I know that some luthiers in Oz are still experiencing difficulty getting good cement. I think I have the answer.

There is a product that has been sold here for years called 'Tarzan's Grip' it is acetone based and I have had great success with it. I make archtop guitars inspired by Bob Benedetto. Of course most, if not, all my specialized tools I bought from StewMac over the years. Thanks for your valuable info. I enclose my second archtop pic. cheers Rick Coburn.

Rick Coburn  Australia
Customer supplied image for review
5 6-17-2011
It works great but you need to work quick.

Used this for my first attempt at binding. Easy to work with but felt like I had to work really fast as the change from liquid to gum was quick. Fine line between using enough to coat all surfaces and having too much to try and wipe off, maybe I will use a different application method opposed to using straight from the tube.

agnusguitars  champaign, il Read my reviews (28)
Customer supplied image for review
5 4-18-2011
cool stuff

i just did my first binding job and as far as i can tell this stuff rocks. gave me no problems whatsoever

Bryce Didericksen  kansas city, MO Read my reviews (24)
5 4-07-2011
Easy to use, even for a beginner.

I am just entering the world of guitar making, and needed to place some synthetic abalone binding. This stuff worked really well for a first-timer using binding. It was viscous enough that it didn't run all over the place, but was still easy to apply. I would place a small amount of cement in a disposable plastic tray, and used a brush to apply it uniformly to about 3-4" of the binding channel at a time. The results were pretty darn good. The photo shows the binding with unfinished top wood.

ParkOLewis  Denver, CO Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-29-2011
Perfect combination

I purchased Weld-On Cement from Stew-Mac after failing to find it in stores and found it easy and fast to work with when combined with Stew-Mac binding.

LarryR  Huntley, IL Read my reviews (3)
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  5 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 37 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce